Skip to main content

Backup Scheme Settings and Function

Thread solved
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hello,

I am working to setup an Acronis backup scheme for my personal desktop and just want to confirm my understanding of how the options I am interested in function together. I have read through the KB on these items

Incremental Backup

Automatic Cleanup

I am still a little fuzzy on how Incremental Backups function with "Delete version chains older than x days" and the "Do not delete the first version of the backup". I have uploaded a screenshot of the settings and a flowchart to convey my understanding. If anyone could confirm/clarify my perception of this I would appreciate it.

Note: The Backup Scheme setting values are set to simplify/compliment the flowchart. These are not the values I am trying to establish as my backup scheme.

Attachment Size
Backup Scheme Flowchart.pdf 113.89 KB
Backup Scheme Settings.png 26.8 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26751

Cameron, welcome to these public User Forums.

Your chart and understanding is almost correct with one slight correction.

Automatic cleanup does not start the 28 days count until the next Full backup for a new chain has been created successfully, not after the 3rd incremental for the chain has been created.

The alternative cleanup option to 'Store no more than 3 recent version chains' is a lot easier to understand and manage.  It works effectively in the same way but prevents the situation where if your computer was turned off for a couple of weeks while on holiday etc, your older chains wouldn't still be deleted due to the 28 day age criteria.

Automatic cleanup only deletes older chains after creating a new full successfully for the second cleanup scheme, so in the holiday scenario, your older chains would be kept until the number of chains is exceeded.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Thank you for the clarification. I have updated the flowchart to reflect the correct functionality if you could confirm please? I appreciate the scenario you used. I will likely use that setting instead of the "after x days" just in case something like that were to happen.

Question in regards to using the "Store no more than x recent version chains" and "Do not delete the first version of the backup". Will the "1st Version Chain" always be considered a "recent version of the backup" therefore counting as 1 out of the 3 version chains stored? Or would I have the 1st Version Chain, then 3 more Version Chains that would cycle?

Attachment Size
533977-181066.pdf 62.71 KB
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26751

Cameron, your updated chart looks correct as far as my own understanding of how all this works!

Yes, to your further question, if you select to keep the 1st version of the backup, that does count as 1 of the number of chains to be stored before cleanup is applied, so will reduce the number available by 1 in the longer term as that 1st chain becomes out dated.

You may want to consider copying the complete first chain to another location or drive where it can be stored for posterity, and not using the option to keep it so that you always have up to the max number of the most recent chains to fall back on if needed.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Thank you very much! I will likely act on your advice for preserving the initial backup. I appreciate the clarification and info!