Skip to main content

[Error] KB 58630 cable modem / internet lost

Thread needs solution
Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21997

KB document: 58630: Acronis True Image 2017: Internet Connection Lost At Acronis True Image Startup is in error with regard to the port numbers given in the manual configuration description when compared to the ports blocked by the batch command file for Windows Firewall.

In the KB document it states:

Settings for the above listed applications:

Action: Block
Direction: Outbound
Protocol: UDP
Remote port: 5553  << this is in error and should be 5353 >>
Remote port: 1900

Looking at the Windows Firewall configuration after running the batch command file shows the correct blocked ports as 5353 and 1900.  See attached screen shot.

 

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Moderator
Posts: 155
Comments: 5590

#1

Hi Steve,

Thank you, we've corrected the port + added information, that the issue has been fixed in the Update 1 that is already available. 

Thank you!

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21997

#2

Thank you Ekaterina, have tested on one of my system after removing the extra firewall rules and installing the 5554 update and all looks fine so far!

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

#3

Hi Steve,

Could you please help in following problem?

Every time I start a backup task on any PC in the network, Internet connection is lost on all PCs during the whole Backup-time.

Scanning and printing also will be stopped.

 

Thank you

 

 

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21997

#4

Abraham, what version / build of ATI are you using on your computers?  I have not seen any other reports of this type of error since my updates to this topic back in 2016?  The issue referenced was fixed in ATI 2017 build 5554 which was the 2nd update released.  The final update build for ATI 2017 was #8058 which is the one you should be using if on ATI 2017.

More information will be needed if you have the final build for 2017.

What are you backing up and where is your Destination for the backup files?

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

#5

Thank you Steve for your quick response.

We are using Acronis true image version 2018, Build 15470

OS - Windows 10 64 bit on HP All in one PC.

Backing up Pdf,word and excel files.

Destination of Back up is Local NAS.

 

Thanks

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21997

#6

Abraham, thanks for confirming you are using ATI 2018 with the final build 15470.

Next question: how are you connecting to your local NAS?

To qualify the question, the default method for network connections is by using SMB, which with Windows 10 on all recent update builds should be SMB 2.0 or higher.  Microsoft has deprecated SMB 1.0 because of the security risks associated with using it, so it shouldn't be used unless you have a very old NAS that only supports that version!

The alternative connection method is using FTP.

I have never heard of any ATI Backup to a NAS causing all internet activity for other PC's on the same network to be stopped (other than the referenced KB document for this topic), and have never experienced any such issues on my own network and NAS backups. 

I am still using a mix of ATI 2018, 2019, 2020 (& 2021 Beta) with backups to my Synology NAS from 7 computers on my local network and would get very loud complaints if the internet was lost every time a backup runs to the NAS!

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

#7

Steve,

In our systems SMB 1.0 is running now.

But my problems seems solved after Switching off Acronis Active Protection in all systems which are enabled hourly back up.

If SMB 2.0 will make the network traffic smooth, I will make all the systems updated.

 

Thank you for your support

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21997