Skip to main content

Restore drives all grey

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Hi, it's me again,

I'm trying to restore a just made tib to my test-SSD but all drives in the recovery window are greyed. So I put in a further 640GB HD and after trying to set up the restore again, again all the drives are greyed. Nothing to select.

I'm really surprised, because I've made already hundreds of restores this way :S

This I would name catastrophe, disaster.

 

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

Please provide more details on exactly what and how you are attempting to do this restore?

Are you using Acronis bootable rescue media for the restore?  If yes, which type of media?

Where are you restoring from / to?

What type of drives are involved?

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Hello Steve, thank you for your reply.

I'm booting 2017 from an ISO-file with e2b, which emulates a CD-drive. This works for me for almost a decade. Today something is different.

Booting this 2017-TI looks fine as ever could be.

Backing up those Sony-bootdisk in the Sony-Laptop, which doesn't boot since yesterday, works as it used to always.

Then comes the restore. Connecting customers backupdisk with the tib to my "pc of victim" (never use your working pc for this) the two drives I've tried to restore to are grey and not clickable.

This is the first time this happened.

There is no CD-Drive in this Sony.

PS.: The failed boot drive is a TI-clone, I've made 1,5 years before.

The restore should go to a crucial MX500 1TB on internal Sata, or in the second try to a 640GB Seagate conventional HD via USB-dock. They are way bigger than the 250 SSD of the Sony.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

I'm booting 2017 from an ISO-file with e2b, which emulates a CD-drive.

Please try creating a standard ATI 2017 rescue media CD without using e2b and see whether this makes any difference?

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

The source does not have a CD-Drive. But I can connect the DVD of the victim-pc.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Now I'm through. I'd wish to have made a large bet on this, 'cause my mercedes is 20 years old. And guess about the reliabilty of e2b, used since half a decade?

It never ever fails.

How can I go on?

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

Have you considered booting from a small USB stick instead of from a CD?  I very rarely use CD / DVD for rescue media these days as all my PC's are able to boot from USB media and do so much faster than from optical, plus with the benefit that USB media is read/write in case I need to save any logs from ATI.

ATI 2017 is capable of directly creating USB boot media and just requires a 2GB memory stick.  It is recommended not to try using USB media larger than 32GB apart from being a waste of all that capacity for files that are normally less than 1GB in size.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Now i give TI 2014 a try, in case of next fail, I'll try clonezilla.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

QuixX wrote:

Now i give TI 2014 a try, in case of next fail, I'll try clonezilla.

One important caveat is that backups created by ATI 2017 are not guaranteed to be readable or recoverable by ATI 2014...!

Clonezilla will require that you create a new backup in order to restore it to another drive unless you already have such a backup.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Hihi, 2014 seems to do this job. I guess those programmers of those newer versions seek for being murdered.

A fail like my accident, when I try to restore a customers image at my working pc, and TI kills the bootdrive. Years ago, when I thought, programmers knew, what is a job.

Costs me three hours of my life, which I can't put on a bill.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Thank you Steve,

my experience with TI already let me draw the backup with the same version, I took for restore. This works, and I still can't imagine, what makes those programmers let the versions 2019 and 2017 fail on a simple job like this.

An other question is, what was the version of TI, which lets you make a tib from a windows backup and the other way round?

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

QuixX wrote:

An other question is, what was the version of TI, which lets you make a tib from a windows backup and the other way round?

ATI2012 & ATI2013 had options for working with .VHD files and converting to/from .TIB.

See Working with vhd files from the ATI2012 user manual.

This was deprecated with ATI2014 and the options were changed in how .VHD files could be used.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Thank you your help.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

The job is done, I recovered by an TI2017 tib, which is 1,5 years old.

Later I copy those newer files to the users place, including some appdatas.

I did boot of course with the great and very useful e2b-stick, Steve, which you should give a serious try too. At last because more clever notebooks, ultrabooks mostly come with no DVD at all.

And as we tested, the reason was the bad improvement given to 2017,2019 TIs. I have no clue, what drives those fools to grey-out the targets. Bad youth, beaten by parents? Sexual abuse in church? Why did they do it to nice computer-helpers like me?

And why doesn't this site fully support my English lexica? If the word has a red line below, on good sites you can have a correct suggestion by right clicking on it. That doesn't work here. That is slightly below optimum.

In German we say, to stay polite, "suboptimal". Correctly translated it says: "beat the shit out of their heads".

 

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26356

QuixX wrote:
 
And why doesn't this site fully support my English lexica? If the word has a red line below, on good sites you can have a correct suggestion by right clicking on it. That doesn't work here. That is slightly below optimum.

Spell checking depends on how each browser handles this!

I use Mozilla Firefox and to use the spell check on the forum pages, I have to hold down a Shift key then right-click on the misspelled word which will then offer alternative spelling options!

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 51

Thank you again.

No I got the next problem by those greyed targets.

This time I took TI2019 and before the second try, I deleted all partitions with gparted.

Now I can restore.

As far as I remember those 2Mio times I made a restore, I was asked, is it ok to delete.

This had saved a lot time in former times. Unfortunately I don't have an address to bill this mistake :S