Skip to main content

Acronis error: "Source is not selected. The operation has been terminated." since February update

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey, I'm quite upset with the new update in February for Acronis True Image.

Since I installed the update my backup hasn't worked anymore. 

The error message is "Source is not selected. The operation has been terminated.". 
Even a new backup job didn't run. I can't click the source button. It is like Acronis has lost the connection 
to my local drive. I think it's important to let you know that I use Bitlocker on my source and target drive.

In my desperation I upgraded Acronis True Image 2018 to Version 2019 (Test Licence).  

I hope somebody has a glue how to fix it. I don't want to switch the backup product.

Cheers and thanks!
Matt

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Matt, welcome to these public User Forums.

I am not aware of any reasons why you should not be able to select your Source drive, regardless of having BitLocker enabled provided that encryption is unlocked when the OS is active at the desktop.

The first suggestion is to do a full restart of Windows (using restart, not shutdown then start) then see if the issue is resolved.

If not, then try a Repair Install (by reinstalling the full installer program without uninstalling first).

If still not resolved, then try a Clean install but use the new Settings option in 2018 / 2019 to save your task configuration to a zip file so that you can import these back later.

To do a clean install, first do a normal uninstall of ATI via the Control Panel, then download / run the Acronis Cleanup Tool (link below) using run as Administrator followed by restarting the computer then doing a fresh install.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey Steve, Thanks for your quick responding. 

I did all, but it didn't work: 

"If still not resolved, then try a Clean install but use the new Settings option in 2018 / 2019 to save your task configuration to a zip file so that you can import these back later.

To do a clean install, first do a normal uninstall of ATI via the Control Panel, then download / run the Acronis Cleanup Tool (link below) using run as Administrator followed by restarting the computer then doing a fresh install."

The problem is still the same. I can't change the source and it says, it can't open the target drive because bitlocker. The strange thing is that I can click on the target drive in ATI and choose different folders. That means it is not looked. I tried it with my windows explorer as well and it worked fine. 

The problems definitely started after the update.

Any other advice? 

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Matthias, very strange that this issue is still given.  The only other suggestions I can offer are to either revert back to the previous version of ATI 2018 and ignore the latest build, or else to confirm that the issue is still present with ATI 2019 and open a Support Ticket for this during the 30 days of your trial version license, which will allow you to report that this arose with the latest build of ATI 2018 before trying the 2019 version.

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

Bitlocker can be disabled but "active" - especially on some new OEM computers.  Run these from powershell to check if the status is disabled but active.  Make sure you right-click on powershell and "run as administrator" even if already logged in with an admin account

Get-BitlockerVolume

Disable-Bitlocker - MountPoint "C:"                                 (change "C:" if it is a different drive letter)

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/e36fb646-72c2-4e5c-8de9-5c2cf9814300/bitlocker-turns-on-without-a-notice?forum=win10itprosecurity

https://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/sln299056/automatic-windows-device-encryption-bitlocker-on-dell-systems?lang=en

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey, I tried the previous version of ATI 2018 12510. The error is the same. It seems that the drives are non non bitlocker protected for my windows, but ATI can't write on it. The screenshot shows the status.
I suspended bitlocker for the target and source drive. ATI couldn't start the backup either. The error is now: "

"Can not open a backup on an encrypted volume. Unlock the volume or turn off BitLocker encryption. Try again after that."

Maybe the problem started because of a last Windows 10 update. It's quite frustrating, even more because I have no opportunity to get help from ATI itself. 

Steve and Bobbo thanks very much for your advice!!

Attachment Size
489950-164367.JPG 24.08 KB
Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

Well, something has them encrypted - bitlocker or some type of local system encryption.  It looks like it is likely TPM encryption which is used with the bios and bitlocker together.

https://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/sln302845/how-to-enable-or-disable-bitlocker-with-tpm-in-windows?lang=en

See if you can disable bitlocker in control panel.  If not, try the command above for each parition / drive.  If successful, go into the bios and turn off tpm security after that.

NOTE: if there is a bitlocker key, save it first - just in case!!!!!!!!!

EDIT** I haven't tested with bitlocker in some time.  I wonder if it's not enough to just temporarily disable bitlocker, but would need to fully be turned off to restore to those drives. Backing up seems to be no issue, but there may still be some protection on the drive while it's just suspended.  I don't remember anyone having an issue with recovery so long as Windows was booted up with bitlocker enabled.

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey, I turned off bitlocker. The decryption process took some hours. After that I started the ATI backup and it worked! That means the problem isn’t ATI. I don’t understand what happened to my computer. The backup process worked over one year with encrypted drives. My guess is a windows update caused the problem. I really would like to encrypt my local and external drives again. What is your advice? Should I use a different software for encryption?

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Matthias, I would suggest going through the process of encrypting your drives but doing so one at a time and testing your backup process each time.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey Steve, that’s an idea! I‘ll do it tomorrow. Thanks. :) 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

hey, I encrypted the local system drive today. Then I started ATI to backup this drive. Yes, it didn’t backup. ATI can‘t handle bitlocker drives anymore. At least on my computer. I‘ll decrypt my local drive again and leave it at this state. 

If Micosoft or ATI release a new update I‘ll try the encryption and backup again.

Thanks for your help!

Matt

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Matt, another option to try here would be to take a 30-day Trial of ATI 2019 to see if you still see the same issue with your BitLocker drive, and if so, you could open a Support Case direct with Acronis for this.  I haven't seen any other users reporting this issue so if it is new, would be good to get it reported.

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

I have a feeling that adding and removing bitlocker changes the disk signature. Now that the drive is encrypted again, reselect the source and OS in the backup - even if it appears to be exactly the same. Then run the backup again and see if it still fails or not. Basically, anytime the disk signature changes (any changes to partitions, you have to re-pick the source and/or destination again). This is becoming more frequent after major Windows 10 upgrades since the recovery partition is rebuilt each time. It's likely the same case any time bitlocker is enabled or disabled too. Should be an easy test to try out.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hi Steve and Bobbo,
I tried ATI2019, a new encryption and the problem is stil the same. I don't want to spent more time on the backup.
I wait for a new ATI relase. Maybe it will work then. If this the case I'll post it! 

Thanks for your professional help! You are great guys!

Matt

 

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Matt, thanks for the update / feedback.  Look out for when the next ATI Beta is announced in the forums from June onwards.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 10

I also have the same problem: ATI 2018 or ATI 2019 will no longer backup Bitlocker Encrypted drives.

I have logged a ticket with Support. I hope they can fix the issue.

When creating a new backup job, I am unable to get passed the Backup Source selection screen. This is because Acronis believes, incorrectly, that the BitLocker volume in locked.

 

I also have Acronis Disk Director 12.5 and this shows Partitions and Disks encrypted with Bitlocker show as NOT FORMATTED. Whereas Windows Disk Manager displays them correctly as NTFS BitLocker Encrypted

Acronis Disk Director 12.5:

Windows 10 Disk Manager displays the partitions correctly:

It does seem to be a problem with Acronis products.

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hey Ellis, Thanks for letting us know. Yes, it's the same problem.

Hopefully ATI get it fixed! Would be awesome if you could post the solution, when it's done. :)

Good luck
Matt

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

I can't speak to 2018, but just tested applying bitlocker on my laptop for the first time and Acronis 2019 had no issues with it.  I didn't even need to re-pick the source or destination in my backup script again.  Have you checked with Acronis technical support and opened a case with them?  

Attachment Size
491651-165059.PNG 130.85 KB
491651-165060.PNG 44.98 KB
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 27526

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

Thanks to Steve to cross reference with this new thread too over at  https://forum.acronis.com/comment/492499#comment-492499

I can't backup with WinPE rescue media in 2019 either - just in Windows and the Acronis GUI.  

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 10

I finally got Acronis True Image 2019 (ATI 2019) to backup again.

My issue was that ATI 2019 would no longer backup Bitlocker Encrypted drives. I had previously upgraded from Acronis True Image 2018 to ATI 2019 (I may have even upgraded from 2016-->2018-->2019).

The upgrade from 2018 -> 2019 may have something to do the bitlocker issue.

I fixed it using the following.

1. Export your backup settings using the "Saves settings to file" from ATI 2019 settings menu:

 

2. Uninstall Acronis True Image 2019

3. Reboot

4. Download and run the "Acronis Cleanup Utility". This can be downloaded from https://kb.acronis.com/content/48668

5. Follow the instructions as shown here: https://kb.acronis.com/content/48668

6. Reboot.

7. Install Acronis True Image 2019 (I'm using the latest build 17750 at the time of writing)

8. Reboot

9.Run AT 2019 and import your previous configuration (step 1) using "Import settings from file" from the settings menu

10. Run a backup job

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

Karrimore,

Gladd your sorted!!

I'd recommend a clean install if the GUI in Windows is having issues too. I'm not having a problem backing up a Bitlocker drive in Windows though.

The issue I'm working with technical support on is that the Winpe/WinRE rescue media isn't working correctly on an unlocked bitlocker drive. I can successfully unlock the drive in WinRE with CMD and manage bde. But, I can't run a backup because ATI is still saying the drive needs to be unlocked after that.

Funny thing is, once manage bde is complete, the drive is already unlocked and all contents are fully accessible to CMD, A43 file explorer, etc . Funnier still, is ATI will let me use it as a backup destination then (so it is accessible) but not as a source. So the rescue media functionality is still bugged. 

I just got another tech support response today and built new WinRE and showed them the behavior with pictures and a system report generated in WinRE again so hopefully they can resolve this before the next scheduled update.

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 4

Hi,

If you encounter this issue with ATIH and in parallel you are a user of Kaspersky Antivirus products and you have recently upgraded/uninstalled Kaspersky then this issue might be cause by Kaspersky installer removing volsnap driver from Registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{71a27cdd-812a-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}\UpperFilter

 

(see this link: https://borncity.com/win/2017/04/20/kaspersky-remover-may-trigger-vss-error-0x81000203/)

If volsnap driver (snapshot VSS provider) is missung in this key, ATIH will not be able to create disk images. You will also notice that this is no longer possible to perform Chkdsk witohut reboot.

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 4

Hi,

If you're having this issue, check this multi-value registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\
{71a27cdd-812a-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}\UpperFilters

Check if the key contains these entries:

volsnap

fltsrv

(first is Microsoft snapshot VSS provider, second is Acronis provider driver).

If not, add them to the key as separate lines, not deleting any other values that may be there (such as klbackupdisk)  !

Then reboot.

Everything should be back to normal then.

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8346

Zbigniew Klos wrote:

Hi,

If you're having this issue, check this multi-value registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\
{71a27cdd-812a-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}\UpperFilters

Check if the key contains these entries:

volsnap

fltsrv

(first is Microsoft snapshot VSS provider, second is Acronis provider driver).

If not, add them to the key as separate lines, not deleting any other values that may be there (such as klbackupdisk)  !

Then reboot.

Everything should be back to normal then.

That seems to the fix in the latest version of the Trie Image rescue media now too. I am unable to unlock a botlocker drive with the WinRE rescue media now.

However, the change looks like it may prevent older versions of ADK from booting up at all. Of you have a recent ADK or a recent update of windows 10 for the WinRE, and the latest version of ATI 2020, then unlocking botlocker offline and backing it up seems functional again.

The MVP version will be updated to incorporate this too. Mustang has been testing with Acronis to make sure and will work on getting a signed version out when possible.