Skip to main content

Acronis True Image 2018 Update 5 is available!

Forum Moderator
Posts: 110
Comments: 4322

Hello Everyone,

this is to inform you about Acronis True Image 2018 Update 5 release.

- Build number for PC: 15470

- Build number for Mac: 15410

What's new

  • Bug fixes and other improvements

Full release notes can be found here: EN DE JP RU CN

 

0 Users found this helpful
Don
Beginner
Posts: 7
Comments: 8

  Hi, Just upgraded to build 15470 and wanted to verify the following:

1.  Do I need to create a "new" bootable DVD, &

2.  Are my current backups "usable" with the new build number.  i.e. I backup using a "full" backup and then do 3 differentials before creating a "new" full backup to start the process over. I've currently done the "1st" differential and my next backup will be the "2nd" differential in the process.

3.  Are all the "known" issues stated in the release notes still "known" issues or did they get fixed in this new build ?

  Thanks in advance, Don

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 62
Comments: 7462

1. No, you don't need too

2. Yes, they're still usable. It should continue as scheduled.

3. Not sure on that one. I read it that those bugs still exist though.

Forum Moderator
Posts: 110
Comments: 4322

Bobbo_3C0X1 wrote:

those bugs still exist though.

Yes, Bobbo is right, Known issues lists existing problems in the current build 

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Hi,

Update failed.

Could you helps me ?

 

Error message :

 

Product:Acronis True Image 2018

Build:15470

Date:07/févr./2019Time:10:48:38

More info:Acronis Knowledge BaseError details:Installation has failed. Erreur irrécupérable lors de l’installation.

 

Regards,

Gilles

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

same problem here, update failed, after that Acronis was not usable anymore. I deinstalled Acronis and installed it freshly then. This should't be necessary with a professional software... :-(

I hope I got the newest version installed now, don't know how to get info about the installed version.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Look on the Account page which shows the version & build details.

Forum Star
Posts: 115
Comments: 2539

I notice the link for ATI 2018 on the downloads page is downloading ATI 2019 not ATI 2018. While most users can download via their account those with a subscription cannot; they may have reasons for running ATI 2018 rather than 2019 on the particular system.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Ian, if ATI 2018 is upgraded via the Account page in the ATI GUI, then that just updates to the latest build for that version, even if running a Subscription license.  If the automatic check for updates is enabled then this is what will be offered.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

Unable to update Acronis 2018. Update failed error box with no error numbers. Is there a direct download link to download the update installer?

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Zachk, welcome to these public User Forums.

You should be able to download the latest build version of ATI 2018 from your Acronis Account where you will also see a checksum value you can check to confirm the download was successful.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

Downloaded file. Ran as Admin. Even tried to use Admin account to run installer. Same error:

Product: Acronis True Image 2018
Build: 15470
Date: 02/08/2019
Time: 7:32:36 AM
More info: Acronis Knowledge Base
   
Error details: The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with this package. The error code is 2902.
Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Zachk, did you follow the steps shown in KB 62142: How to turn off "Controlled folder access" option on Windows 10 - which has the following statement regarding the error code 2902 you are reporting here.

In some cases "Controlled folder access" option may conflict with Acronis software, for instance, it can cause errors 2902, "There was an error creating a temporary file that is needed to complete this installation" when trying to install Acronis True Image.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

Ok good option, but since I tend to err on the side of caution... do we know where the files are unpacked to and the file name that needs access so I can just add an exception? I tried to add the installer exe file to the exceptions but that's not enough to avoid an error. Dropping all protection for the install of one product seems extreme to me. Thanks for any input.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Zachk, you would not be dropping all protection by temporarily turning off the new 'Controlled folder access' feature of Windows Defender.  If security is a concern, then disconnect from your internet connection / disable your network adapter for the period the feature is turned off, assuming you are installing from the downloaded full ATI 2018 installer program.

Details of all the temporary files are not published by Acronis.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 4

I appreciate your time. Not worth the risk. Moving on to a new product. Thanks again.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Understand but any product creating temporary files during installation can encounter the same issue!

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Update failed on 2 of my PCs.  Even with antivirus turned off.

I have used this software for many years - it used to be 100% reliable, but something has gone badly wrong over the last few years.

 

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 25

Just updated it on my desktop PC and on my laptop.

Both running Win10 Pro 1809. Avast antivirus running.

No problems whatsoever.

Cheers

Gerry

Forum Hero
Posts: 62
Comments: 7462

Thanks for the input Gerry. That's how it goes for most people!

Unfortunately, there are always a handful of install issues for one reason or another, but usually due to something AV related, OS health (or lack of) or a bad upgrade from an older version where a good uninstall and cleanup never happened and the remnants finally caught up. The kicker for many is that they had 2015 or older and never fully uninstalled before upgrading to 2016 or newer. Overall, the install and upgrades work just fine for most.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 2

I'm running 2018 Build 10640 on a Win 10 build 1803 soon to be 1809 machine. Is there a benefit to upgrading?

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Jim, if you are still using build 10640 then you are a number of builds down level and thus at risk of encountering a range of code issues that the Acronis developers have already fixed in the subsequent builds:  10640, 11530, 12510, 15470.

Personally, I would strongly recommend upgrading to the latest build 15470, just the same as recommending upgrading any critical software products when fixes are made available.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 2

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 5

I've never been able to do an update.  It always fails, regardless if I upgrade thru the software, or the separate downloaded file:

 

Product: Acronis True Image 2018
Build: 15470
Date: 4/18/2019
Time: 3:01:49 PM
More info: Acronis Knowledge Base
   
Error details: The system cannot open the device or file specified.

I have the "Perpetual" license - yet it's tagged as "Product is not supported", so I can't even open a case.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Jason, welcome to these public User Forums.

A 'Perpetual' license in essence just means that you can continue using the software for as long as it will work with the version of Windows where it is installed, as opposed to a 'Subscription' license which only works for a fixed term of 1 or 2 years, and then stops working (except for recovery) after that term, unless the Subscription is renewed.

Support for Acronis Products is different to the type of license held.  Only the current ATI 2019 is supported and this will become unsupported around 1 month after the next (ATI 2020) product becomes generally available to everyone!  This is a whole lot better than the previous support situation where only 30-days support from date of purchase was given!  Users can now get upto 1 year of support for the current version of ATI.

For your specific issue with installing / upgrading, then I would suggest doing a clean install of the latest ATI 2018 build #15470.

First, use the new Settings page option to Save your backup task configuration settings to a zip file.

Next, uninstall ATI 2018 normally via the Windows Control Panel.

Now download / run the Acronis Cleanup Tool (link below) as Administrator to remove all residue of Acronis True Image / Disk Director products, followed by doing a Windows restart.

Then install the latest ATI 2018 using an Administrator account and import your backup settings from the zip file created earlier.

If you still encounter any issues with doing the above, then please see KB 46710: Acronis True Image: Installation Fails in Windows

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 5

Complete bust.  Followed all the uninstall instructions, followed the Acronis scrubber instructions, followed the Windows Defender disabling, and exactly the same error message:
 

Attachment Size
496145-166582.jpg 114.62 KB
Forum Hero
Posts: 62
Comments: 7462

Jason, clear out %temp% and tried again. This has worked for a few people.

Make sure to right click and "run as administrator" even if logged in with an admin account too.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 5

My Temp is a RamDisk, so it self-clears when I reboot.

And I always Run as Admin, regardless of the program.

AcronisTrueImage2018_10640.exe works just fine - it's just something goofy with every update since.

Legend
Posts: 73
Comments: 16380

Jason, another option here would be to take a 30-day trial copy of ATI 2019 and install that, then if you still see an issue, you will have that same 30-days period to get free support to get those issues resolved by opening a support case direct with Acronis.

Forum Hero
Posts: 62
Comments: 7462

Make a backup first though. You can't revert back without uninstalling and reconfiguring, or restoring a backup. 

Frequent Poster
Posts: 73
Comments: 474

Jason, have you thought about temporarily setting your Temp folders off the RamDisk to see if that changes anything?

I'm not aware of why it would, but it is nice to eliminate unusual configurations. Sometimes, things in TEMP need to survive a bit longer than the volatile memory.

Forum Hero
Posts: 62
Comments: 7462

Good thought Bruno. In my experience, the upgrade kills file explorer temporarily too so that may be an issue with the ramdisk if it clears it out in the same process.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 5

I've noticed the File Explorer kill, but I wouldn't have thought that would effect Temp (since it's still local, and the files on the RamDisk aren't effected during the process...  But I tried the suggestion of moving Temp elsewhere - and the problem is now fixed!  Not sure it's entirely logical - but the issue is resolved!

Thanks for following up with it!  I uninstalled the working version yesterday (the one that was working previously), and that one wouldn't re-install either - so I was ready to give up on the whole thing.  This is a much better solution!

Frequent Poster
Posts: 73
Comments: 474

Glad to hear it worked, Jason. And also, it killed any thoughts I may have had of putting TEMP on a Ram Disk.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 5

Don't let this one circumstance dissuade you, the RamDisk (I've been using one for literally more than 20 years) has been absolutely amazing in performance and stability.  Yes, there have been occasional oddities (this is just the second instance of "ummm, nope - can't do that!") in all my time using it - and the side-benefit of using it as a virtual DVD paired with a PCIe SSD...  Have you ever seen a game install at 800-1000Mb/s? ;)

That said, I am running a Xeon w/ 48Gb, so I've taken a proactvive approach to preventing issues.  Next system will be a Dual Xeon 2695v3 w/ 48 or 64Gb.  Very much looking forward to that upgrade...  Not that there's anything wrong with this one - specs the same as an i3770k...  But I guess I can be a bit of a nerd.