Skip to main content

app hangs at calculating time remaining

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

i tried vss doctor and all was well.

this cures itself most times when i reboot but not always. ive also tried killing all 8 or so acronis things from task manager to try to cure it without a reboot.

and sometimes when it does run. it will just stop and hang. a 2 hour backup will take 4, you can see the historical data showing the time to backup. this just started recently and ive been backing up exclusively on wifi since i updated my internal modem. but it was fine for a while after the new modem. also my other downloads never have the issue so i dont know how it coudl be the modem

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#1

Ted, difficult to suggest what might be causing this issue?

Does your backup task hang 'forever' in this situation, or is it just much slower than expected?

Does the backup complete eventually if left long enough?

Does this issue apply to all of your backup tasks, or is it specific to one or more tasks?
If the latter, what is different about the tasks affected versus others not affected?

The obvious suggestion would be to try doing a Repair Install of ATI as per the following reference documents:

KB 60915: Acronis True Image: repairing program settings

KB 60195: Acronis True Image: repair, update and clean installations on Windows

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#2

no the backup will never complete. and ive done the download of the exe and repaired at least 3 times so far. i remember it worked one time for sure but i forget the outcome of the other 2 times. it seems rebooting the machine cures it for whatever reason.

 

i wil have to keep notes about what backups it affects but my belief is its all. some are full and some are incremental so ill def have to keep track.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#3

I'm getting the same thing.  The app hung about half-way into a full backup.  I relaunched
and now it hangs at "Calculating time remaining...".

Of course this left a partial full backup file, but I would thing that it would be able to figure
out what to do (and be able to either restart or continue).

I'm downloading 2019 now, configure the backup the same way (full then 6 differentials)
and see if it can figure out what to do.

I uninstalled 2018, rebooted, installed 2019, rebooted, then configured the differential
backup in the same manner as before (in which the second full backup hung).

This time the 2019 version generated the second full backup.  I will let it generate the
next (6) differentials and the next full backup to see how things go.

Forum Star
Posts: 131
Comments: 2953

#4

We really need to know why the backups are aborting. The next thing to do would be to check out the log files - to that you will need to download the MVP Log Viewer - click on MVP User Tools and Tutorials under useful links on right hand side of this www page. Post the log file either in your message or as an attachment.

Give the things that have already been tried it is possible that there is a problem with either the source or target drive - either file system related or physical problem.

There could be an issue with communicating with the target drive - either power or signal. Is the target drive internal or external? If external try different USB port and/or different USB cable. If internal check the both the SATA and power cables are firmly seated. Another possibility is that one or both of them is failing.

Ian

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#5

modem is this

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E85QIFI/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

storage is this with 2 WD drives

https://www.netgear.com/business/products/storage/readynas/RN422.aspx

all on cyberpower UPS.

i did run a quick scan on the laptop drive but i know you can do a deeper one so will have to do that someday. nas and modem all bought this year as well as the hard drives in the NAS. also if the drives were failing why would rebooting the machine fix the issue? id think it would be constant. i only sleep the computer and voluntarily reboot it once a week but just sleeping shouldnt matter as far as the backups running once it awakes i hope

ill have to get logs next time it hangs. 

i could hook up ethernet to rule out the new modem i guess. would be an easy test with no effort

Forum Star
Posts: 131
Comments: 2953

#6

The additional information you have provided could help is solving the problem.

First, the computer is connected to the network via WIFI (the PCIE card supports ac WIFI), and second that you are backing up to a NAS. There is no statement that the WIFI card is supported by Windows 10 (if you are using Windows 10). May be worthwhile doing an internet search to see if there is a more recent driver for the Intel WIFI chip.

I regularly back up my Dell notebook to my NAS and it uses WIFI. 

Another thing to do is to check your Routers QOS (quality of service) settings for WIFI; the settings may be causing time-out or some such - although that should ultimately result in the backup aborting rather than just hanging.

Also make sure that the connection is using ac rather than n; you should be able to configure it so the PC only connects to ac WIFI.

We really need to know what is happening, so please check out the Acronis logs as suggested in my first post.

Ian

PS Another possibility is that Acronis is unable to connect to the NAS because the IP address of the NAS has changed. Check the settings for the backup task to confirm the current IP address of the NAS is being used.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#7

so for weeks all had been well. no issues. then over the weekend i manually installed a bunch of windows updates. unsure if thats related but today i had this issue when i woke up the machine.

 

9/2/2019 8:00:06 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
9/2/2019 8:00:06 AM: Operation canada trip started by schedule.
9/2/2019 8:00:07 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
9/2/2019 8:00:07 AM: Operation: Backup
9/2/2019 8:00:07 AM: Priority changed to Low.
9/2/2019 8:00:07 AM: Error 0xb007f: The initial full backup version is not accessible at the moment.
9/2/2019 8:00:08 AM: Error 0xb03e9: Cannot open the backup.
9/2/2019 8:00:08 AM: Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.

Start: 9/2/2019 8:00:06 AM
Stop: 9/2/2019 8:00:08 AM
Total Time: 00:00:02

 

but then this:

 

9/2/2019 8:01:15 AM: Writing incremental version to file: canada trip_inc_b18_s5_v1.tib
9/2/2019 8:01:15 AM: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/canada/canada trip_inc_b18_s5_v1.tib

Start: 9/2/2019 8:00:40 AM
Stop: 9/2/2019 8:01:15 AM
Total Time: 00:00:35

 

but that backup shows calculating time remaining and  will not let the next backup start. so ill have to reboot or manually kill all the acronis processes. my guess is maybe the initial error was upon waking up the machine it didnt connect to my NAS right away. which is fine. but then why would it hang once successfully finishing. also is annoying that hitting the stop button never works.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#8

8/27/2019 5:57:22 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
8/27/2019 5:57:22 AM: Operation canada trip started by schedule.
8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Operation: Backup
8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Priority changed to Low.
8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Error 0xb007f: The initial full backup version is not accessible at the moment.
8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Error 0xb03e9: Cannot open the backup.
8/27/2019 5:57:25 AM: Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.

 

 

i noticed only errors past few weeks are 1st thing in the morning with the canada backup so maybe ill try to change the time of it.or maybe its because when i open the machine there's an issue. i'm also running vss doctor now since i found the file and its been running about half hour. unsure how long normally takes

 

edit: tried to change date and time for canada backup and it said about failed credentials and led me to this page

 

https://kb.acronis.com/content/57042  but the thing is activated and ok

 

and found another error:

8/8/2019 7:48:04 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
8/8/2019 7:48:04 PM: Operation C drive started by schedule.
8/8/2019 7:48:05 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
8/8/2019 7:48:05 PM: Operation: Backup
8/8/2019 7:48:05 PM: Priority changed to Low.
8/8/2019 7:48:07 PM: Error 0xb007f: The initial full backup version is not accessible at the moment.
8/8/2019 7:48:07 PM: Error 0xb03e9: Cannot open the backup.
8/8/2019 7:48:21 PM: Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.
 

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#9

Ted, the key line in your log messages for me is:

8/27/2019 5:57:24 AM: Error 0xb007f: The initial full backup version is not accessible at the moment.

This is suggesting that ATI cannot access or has no connection to the location where your backup files are held.

If this is a timing issue waiting for a connection to be established etc, then have a play with the Options > Advanced > Error handling settings for the task, i.e. increase either the number of retries or the time between retries or a combination of both etc.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#10

i will change every backup to wait 5 min. also of note vss doctor ran 2 hours and stuck on step 5. i rebooted and vss DR completed in mere seconds and everything is ok

 

but now i have an issue where i cannot get to any backup data and it says access denied and takes me to this article

 

https://kb.acronis.com/content/27586

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#11

Ted, KB 27586 dates back to ATI 2012 and was fixed in a later build of that version, so should not be relevant here!

I would suggest considering doing a power down of your computer and NAS then restart again so that all open connections etc are cleared.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#12

well whoever made this program links 2012 to the 2018 help diagnostic button lol. bad testing there

everything has been restarted. no go... still access denied when i go to options. it lets me in then if i hit ignore but it wont save changes.says failed to check credentials when i try to save it

i hit the acronis exe and did repair. rebooted, no go

HOWEVER..i made 2 new backup sets during august and i CAN go in to  those options without an access denied message.  however any backups created before august give me access denied.

also now a backup started and hangs at calcuating time remaining. i have no idea why the darn stop button never works either. id start over again if it would work

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#13

Ted, if this issue only occurs on selected backups from the NAS but not from others on the same NAS, then this is beginning to look very much like a permissions issue on the NAS side?  Have there been any password or account changes on the NAS recently, or other changes to the storage folders on the NAS?

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#14

no nothing change on nas since the day i got it.  wouldnt even know how to change thigns on the nas. maybe if i just do every backup again starting today wiht new settings and point to the old folders

 

i was able to make a new canada pic backup and delete the old one. if i could delete the old one wouldnt that negate any kind of permission issues?

ill just create all new backups for each of my purposes and voila. hope it solves it

 

edit: how can it be a permission issue? i can manually start a backup even of things that i have access denied on when i try to change settings. its like the settings cannot be changed, but the backup can be started and done just fine.

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#15

Ted, this issue certainly is strange and perplexing!

If it is not related to permissions on the NAS side, then getting 'access denied' when trying to change backup task settings would suggest a permissions issue affecting the underlying script .tib.tis file on your computer, which is something I have not encountered before!

The script .tib.tis files are stored in C:\ProgramData\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Scripts folder so perhaps time to check the ownership of some of these XML files, i.e. one with the access issue, and one without?

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#16

i looked at that directory and i have no way of telling what files go with what backup. . all but 2 of them have todays date on. i'm in the slow process of creating totally new backups and then running them and then deleting the old ones but that will take a few days

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#17

Open the files using Notepad and look at the XML text which will show your backup task name near the top of the file.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#18

after 3 solid weeks i wanted to report back that i cleaned up some old specific backups that i deemed no longer necessary and recreated just 3 new ones to do all i wanted. since then had no issues so i'm assuming was something in one of the old files

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#19

Ted, good to hear that all is looking good.  Thanks for the feedback.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#20

so its back to not working after i wake up from hibernate. sigh.  there's only 2 differntials a day so not like i'm taxing the system. its stuck on 35 mb calculating time remaining

 

when running vss doctor it gets stuck on 5 of 10 vss writer status

 

log is here and acts like it started and stopped which is weird

 

10/19/2019 9:57:16 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 9:57:16 AM: Operation C image started by schedule.
10/19/2019 9:57:19 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 9:57:19 AM: Operation: Backup
10/19/2019 9:57:19 AM: Create Backup Archive Password Protected From: Disk 1 To file: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/C image/C image.tib Compression: Normal
10/19/2019 9:57:21 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 9:57:22 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 9:57:23 AM: Writing differential version to file: C image_diff_b6_s7_v1.tib
10/19/2019 9:57:23 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.

Start: 10/19/2019 9:57:16 AM
Stop: 10/19/2019 9:57:23 AM
Total Time: 00:00:07

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#21

Ted, the log just shows that the backup task has started but has no entries to show that it hit any errors or had finished etc but only covers a period of 7 seconds per the Start > Stop time stamps.

How long have you let it sit after the task has started to backup data?

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#22

at least half hour until i noticed it wasnt doing anything. i got i a habit of checking because of my history. also its impossible to stop. i just get a screen where it all blurs and sits there. in task manager i canceled every acronis thing and restarted and that doesnt work. i must reboot.

 

also how can there be start and stop stamps since nothing was even done? how could it really 'stop'

so i rebooted and manually ran my C drive and got this log

 

10/19/2019 11:26:58 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 11:26:58 AM: Operation C image started by schedule.
10/19/2019 11:27:00 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 11:27:00 AM: Operation: Backup
10/19/2019 11:27:01 AM: Create Backup Archive Password Protected From: Disk 1 To file: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/C image/C image.tib Compression: Normal
10/19/2019 11:27:03 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 11:27:03 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 11:27:03 AM: Writing differential version to file: C image_diff_b6_s7_v1-3.tib
10/19/2019 11:27:04 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 11:35:32 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 11:35:49 AM: Pending operation 173 started: 'Creating partition image'.
10/19/2019 11:35:50 AM: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/C image/C image_diff_b6_s7_v1-3.tib
10/19/2019 11:35:50 AM: Operation has succeeded.

Start: 10/19/2019 11:26:58 AM
Stop: 10/19/2019 11:35:50 AM
Total Time: 00:08:52

 

then i wanted to run another manually and its been sitting 20 min and i have this log that says it took 1 second. but again why does it stay stop when its frozen on calculating time remaining

 

10/19/2019 12:30:46 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 12:30:46 PM: Operation all E except tivo started manually.
10/19/2019 12:30:47 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 12:30:47 PM: Operation: Backup
10/19/2019 12:30:47 PM: Priority changed to Low.

Start: 10/19/2019 12:30:46 PM
Stop: 10/19/2019 12:30:47 PM
Total Time: 00:00:01

 

 

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#23

Ted, the start and stop times are generated by the MVP Log Viewer tool and are not from the original log data - these are calculated from the timestamps in the log data, so only show the time range that the entries cover.

Next question here:  the log shows C image_diff_b6_s7_v1-3.tib was created, but how many differential images are you creating before starting a new full backup.

Note: the v1-3 part of the file name indicates that this particular backup file (C image_diff_b6_s7_v1.tib) was already present on your NAS destination location, along with an existing duplicate (C image_diff_b6_s7_v1-2.tib) file which is why these extra numbers have been used (1-3, 1-2).  This is probably caused by the task being interrupted / cancelled when you considered it to be hanging.

I would suggest leaving the task running for longer than the 20 minutes you mention above unless you have a pressing urgent reason to restart the computer etc.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#24

the thing is 2 backup were done sunday and then it didnt take place until thursday and its supposed to do it every nite. so every nite the laptop is on at least 3 solid hours and it missed monday tuesday wednesday because i did forget to check it. i do the incremental/diff ones every nite. i run 6 then do a full on weekends when it has time to run all day.

 

theres nothing in the log for those days that were missed either. no error. nothing. so it didnt even try then fail. all backups are set to run if they are missed and i have a 5 min delay from the time the machine goes back on.

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#25

Ted, going back to basics for a moment, what is the build # of your ATI 2018 application (as shown on the Account page in the app)?

The build should be #15470 which is the final one released for this version.

If you have #15470, then the next step would be to try the steps shown in KB 60915: Acronis True Image: repairing program settings - perhaps starting with Method 3 and doing a repair install first.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#26

i did a repair. it took a while. does that mean it was actually fixing something or just that its a normal procedure regardless

i rebooted and started my one big backup that normally takes 5 hours or so. i started it before bed adn when i woke up it was stuck on 3 min remaining. then i found this in the log. why would it say backup successfully created when it wasnt. thing is the acronis program doestn even show a failure or attempt. but the log obviously shows something.

 

10/19/2019 10:03:01 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 10:03:01 PM: Operation tivo shows started manually.
10/19/2019 10:03:03 PM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/19/2019 10:03:03 PM: Operation: Backup
10/19/2019 10:03:03 PM: Priority changed to Low.
10/19/2019 10:03:21 PM: Create Backup Archive Password Protected From: E:\tivo shows\
To file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib Compression: Normal Exclude: System files
10/19/2019 10:03:24 PM: Writing full version to file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib
10/20/2019 12:00:34 AM: Error 0x40003: Error occurred while writing the file.
10/20/2019 12:01:04 AM: Error 0x40003: Reattempting the operation. Error: Error occurred while writing the file..
10/20/2019 12:01:06 AM: Writing full version to file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v2.tib
10/20/2019 3:40:18 AM: Deleting backup file with path nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b11_s1_v2.tib.
10/20/2019 3:40:23 AM: Deleting backup file with path nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b11_s1_v1.tib.
10/20/2019 3:40:44 AM: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib
nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v2.tib
 

also my NAS clearly shows 2 new files created overnight but they arent even close to the size they should be.

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#27

Ted, if the log states, as it does, that:

10/20/2019 3:40:44 AM: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib

Then the ATI GUI will not show an error as it was successful per the log entry.

The earlier entries in the log shows the reason why there is a v2 file here:

10/19/2019 10:03:24 PM: Writing full version to file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib
10/20/2019 12:00:34 AM: Error 0x40003: Error occurred while writing the file.
10/20/2019 12:01:04 AM: Error 0x40003: Reattempting the operation. Error: Error occurred while writing the file..
10/20/2019 12:01:06 AM: Writing full version to file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v2.tib

When ATI encounters any errors, it doesn't delete the file being created immediately, but instead creates a new file and increments the v number.

In terms of the size of the backup image - sorry but I have no idea of the size of your source data here or how compressable that data is, or what the size of your previous backups of the same data have been etc?

Please can you answer my earlier question about what build version you have here?

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#28

i have the current build of the program and the other backup wasnt successful despite that log, the activity screen shows the last successful backup was oct 13. thats whats perplexing. and i never compress anything. i have tons of space.

again i let the program run all day  for the 600 gig backup and its just sitting there at 3 minutes left for a long time. i do believe its close because the backup file is 595 gigs.

here's the current log which cannot be correct as the program still says 3 minutes remaining. i assume that means its not finished? plus the 2 other backups missed are in the queue and wont start. i can only think to delete and recreate the tivo backup and let it run all nite and hope it works.

if the backup truly was done at 156 today, it 324 now and stuck at 3 minutes remaining. would i be normal to run that long after it was finished? what is it doing for over 1.5 hours if it was finished at 156. very strange

ill let it run a few more hours but i think it should be 'done' when its allegedly done. this is very frustration for a paid program.

 

10/20/2019 7:55:45 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/20/2019 7:55:45 AM: Operation tivo shows started by schedule.
10/20/2019 7:55:46 AM: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
10/20/2019 7:55:46 AM: Operation: Backup
10/20/2019 7:55:46 AM: Priority changed to Low.
10/20/2019 7:55:46 AM: Error 0x1e50023: The specified file does not exist: \\READYNAS\acronisbackups\tivo drive\tivo shows_full_b11_s1_v1.tib.
10/20/2019 7:56:02 AM: Create Backup Archive Password Protected From: E:\tivo shows\
To file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1.tib Compression: Normal Exclude: System files
10/20/2019 7:56:08 AM: Writing full version to file: tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1-2.tib
10/20/2019 1:56:47 PM: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/acronisbackups/tivo drive/tivo shows_full_b12_s1_v1-2.tib

Start: 10/20/2019 7:55:45 AM
Stop: 10/20/2019 1:56:47 PM
Total Time: 06:01:02

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#29

Ted, do you have any other options configured for this task such as doing a validation after the backup?

Are you seeing any evidence of continuing network activity during this '3 minutes remaining' period to suggest that data is being exchanged with your NAS for this task?

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#30

i never validate because it would take forever

attached is the network activity but its virtually zero

if i choose to hit stop i know it never will. whats the normal time to stop something?

Attachment Size
517571-173835.JPG 32.3 KB
Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#31

Ted, ok understand about validation!

Hitting Stop on the Acronis backup task should complete in a matter of minutes but that really depends on what is preventing the task from completing normally in the first place and whether that same factor will also prevent the stop request from being actioned.

The next suggestions I can offer would be:

Test doing a backup of the same source data to an external backup drive if you have one of sufficient size to allow this given you say the source is 600GB in size.  This will show if ATI is capable of completing such a backup successfully and normally.

If such a local backup shows similar issues then it may suggest that either a new backup task is needed or else to do a clean install of ATI 2018 and try a new task then.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#32

i created a new task. now its stuck at 13 min left but the log shows completed at 1am. ill leave it on all day while at work but its holding up my other backups. only resort is reinstalling from scratch at this point. i just dont get why it works fine for weeks then stops. what changes?

is there some definite way to find out what causes this to hang/ i see on the internet many with this problem so it cannot just be my setup

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18029

#33

Ted, what is the destination for your new task?  Is this the same as the original task or to a different location?

As suggested previously, a new task (same source data) to a different destination would help show if this issue is related to the current destination or not?

I am not aware of any other definite way of identifing this type of hang issue unless you open a Support ticket with Acronis and collect the diagnostic traces that they will require.

See KB 45992: Acronis Software: Troubleshooting Application Lockups - for more details of what the support tech will ask for.

Forum Member
Posts: 3
Comments: 24

#34

well after deleting the task.making up a new one and trying over the course of 2 nites. i finally got the 600 gig one to backup. so i thikn its safe to say if it does it once it should always do it..

ill be back in a few weeks when it stops working :)