Skip to main content

Create backup image for deploying multiple new PCs

Thread needs solution
Kel
Beginner
Comments: 0

Hello,

Sorry I am very new to use Acronis, hope you guys can provide some helps

I have multiple win 10 computers that need to be deployed and they are all same model and specs, I have setup one of the PC with all the software installed. Do I just need to create a backup image, and restore onto the other PCs? or maybe just use the clone disk utility? Is there any tool i have to run after to change the SID or something?

Thanks!

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Comments: 18101

Kel, welcome to these public User Forums.

Acronis True Image (ATI) is primarily a home user product and not intended for deploying multiple PC's in a business scenario.

It can be used to do this but this is a manual process whereas if you use the Acronis Snap Deploy product, this is designed for this type of deployment.

If using ATI then the best method is to create a full disk backup of your source Windows 10 computer and store this on an external backup drive.

Each target Windows 10 computer should have been activated for the same edition of Windows 10 as used on the source system.

You should create the Acronis bootable Rescue Media and test that you can boot both the source and target computers using this, and can see both the internal OS drive and your external backup drive.  Both computers should use the same BIOS mode to boot into Windows, i.e. both UEFI.

The target computer should be booted from the Rescue media, then the backup image from the source computer restored to its internal drive.

Once the restore is complete, then the computer shutdown, the rescue media and backup drive disconnected, then the computer booted into Windows, allowing any differences in hardware components to be identified and dealt with, plus allowing Windows to activate based on the new hardware signature (unless you are using a volume license).