Skip to main content

Acro systematically creates folders that I don't use anymore

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Hello,
at each backup, Acronis Tue Image 2019 automatically and systematically creates folders that I don't use anymore (old backups that I deleted to do them on another disk). The folders remain empty, but it is unpleasant and useless. How can I stop this creation that starts again each time I delete them.
Thanks for your help.
Sybelle (Portugal)

0 Users found this helpful
Acronis Support
Posts: 0
Comments: 238

Dear Sybelle,
Thank you for reaching out. Most likely there are remains of the old backup destination.
We would recommend to check out this article: Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office, Acronis True Image: repairing program settings | Knowledge Base
Please let us know whether it is helpful or not.

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28221

Hello,
at each backup, Acronis Tue Image 2019 automatically and systematically creates folders that I don't use anymore (old backups that I deleted to do them on another disk). The folders remain empty, but it is unpleasant and useless. How can I stop this creation that starts again each time I delete them.

Sybelle, welcome to these public User Forums.

This type of problem is caused by deleting unwanted backup archive files (.tib or .tibx) outside of the tools provided by Acronis, i.e. using Explorer instead of the Clean up versions or Automatic cleanup tools.

When files are deleted via Explorer, then it leaves behind information that Acronis has stored in its internal database that 'remembers' those old file storage locations, and thus they are recreated when the associated tasks are run.

You can do any of the following to try to remedy this problem!

Run a Validation for each backup task producing the empty old folders.  When validation pops up an error message for 'missing' versions / files, take the Ignore option if shown, else take the Cancel option.  Keep answering the popup errors as more are shown!

Make a note of the problem task settings & options, then remove the task from the Acronis GUI by using the Delete option.  Note: only remove the settings!  Not everything including the files!
When the task is removed from the GUI, it should also cleanup the information held in the database for stored locations.  Next, use the option to 'Add existing backup' which is hidden under the caret 'v' to the right of the normal + Add backup option in the GUI.  Choose the most recent backup file from the new location you are using to store the files.  This will add back a task with the same name as the file in the GUI.  The added back task will need to be reconfigured before it can be run (hence noting the settings & options to start).

The third option uses the KB document referenced by Daria above in her post to you.  Follow the steps in that KB document to force the internal database to be rebuilt, which will cause the database to be completely emptied of all your backup task information for all tasks.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Thanks. It's done and it's good.

Syb'