Skip to main content

Cant backup to ReadyNas after reverting from Beta to 2019

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

I am getting a message that my file is in use by another program but it is not.  The message is

Please close the application that may currently use the file: \\192.168.30.122\Backups\Backups\MSI\Backup_starting_8-23-20_full_b1_s1_v1.tib

Here is the portion of the log file that shows the error

| error 0xfff0: Access is denied
| line: 0xbd28fdbd64edb8f1
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp:307
| function: Common::Error::AddWindowsError
| line: 0xbd28fdbd64edb8f1, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp:307, Common::Error::AddWindowsError
| code: 0x80070005
| $module: ti_demon_vs_17750
9/3/2020 9:26:21 AM: -04:00 12452 I01E50023: Please close the application that may currently use the file: \\192.168.30.122\Backups\Backups\MSI\Backup_starting_8-23-20_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
To specify another location, click Browse.: ⎂Retry//⎂Cancel//

 

The edit credentials is greyed out so I cant enter them. Ideas?

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#1

Brad, one suggestion would be to Delete the current backup task (selecting to only delete the settings, not everything / settings and files).

Then use the 'Add existing backup' option to open a connection to your NAS and select the backup .tib file, which should also prompt you to enter the credentials needed.

You will still need to click on the Reconfigure button for the added task and configure the different options for schedule, backup scheme etc.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#2

I get this

Failed to add the backup to the backup list. The backup may be locked or corrupted. Also, make sure the folder contains the last volume of the backup, and does not contain a renamed copy of the same backup.

 

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#3

Brad, assuming that you did delete the original task settings from the ATI GUI before trying to use 'Add existing backup' then there is the possibility that the backup file created by the 2021 Beta is not compatible with ATI 2019 even though it is using the older .tib file format?

If you have any older backup files from prior to the Beta, then try adding one of them.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#4

That was an old backup

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#5

Was it a full one?  _full_b???_s1_v1.tib in the name?

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#6

yes, here is the filename:

 

First_Backup_full_b1_s1_v1-2.tib

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#7

Brad, seeing the v1-2.tib ending on the file name suggests that there had been an issue previously that left another file with the same name holding the v1.tib name.  Do you still have that other file First_Backup_full_b1_s1_v1.tib?  And if yes, are the sizes of the files similar to each other?

From the ATI 2019 User Guide:

If you are creating a new backup, and there is already a file with the same name, the program does not delete the old file, but adds to the new file the "-number" suffix, for example, my_documents_inc_b2_s2_v1-2.tib.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#8

No.  This is the only 2019 backup file I have.

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#9

Did you have files using .tib created by 2021?

Did you create the 2021 Rescue Media that you could try using?

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#10

I do but they give the same error message.  I did not create a 2021 Rescue Media because I did that for 2019. 

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#11

Brad, please see the private message I have sent to you.

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#12

Brad wrote: via a PM.

about 7 months my ready nas went south and I had to reformat it and load all my backups except Acronis backups because I could just back it up again. I did retain the first one I am afraid I will not be able to recover any backups except for the very first one I did with 2019.  Is this a bug in 2019? It shouldn't be that hard to backup and I never had this problem before trying the beta. 

Brad, at this point I would suggest trying to make a totally new backup using ATI 2019 and with a unique name (never used before).  If possible, test a new backup to a local external drive then if that is successful, try creating a new backup to your NAS.  This will show if there are issues with ATI 2019 or whether the issues are only related to the NAS or the existing backup stored on that NAS?

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#13

I am sorry for not explaining the problem well enough.  That is what I was trying to do in the first place.  Create a new backup.  I can backup to a local USB drive, just not to my ReadyNAS. I thought somehow there were remnants of 2021 beta that were messing me up.  Anyways I was able to backup to a USB drive but I continue to get the same errors on a brand new backup to the NAS

9/5/2020 9:47:08 AM: -04:00 22692 I00640000: Writing full version to file: backup090520_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
9/5/2020 9:47:08 AM: -04:00 22692 E01E50023: Error 0x1e50023: Please close the application that may currently use the file: \\192.168.30.122\Backups\Backups\MSI\backup090520_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
| trace level: error
| line: 0x4d3f22948e29f19e
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\products\imager\archive\impl\utils.cpp:199
| function: `anonymous-namespace'::GenerateGuiErrorWithPath
| line: 0x4d3f22948e29f19e, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\products\imager\archive\impl\utils.cpp:199, `anonymous-namespace'::GenerateGuiErrorWithPath
| $module: ti_demon_vs_17750
|
| error 0x40014: Access to the file is denied.
| line: 0x1d8eab676a3f6aba
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\products\imager\archive\impl\operations\archive_message_callback.cpp:1169
| function: TrueImage::Archive::ArchiveMsgWriteCallbackProcessor::ProcessWriteCallback
| line: 0x1d8eab676a3f6aba, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\products\imager\archive\impl\operations\archive_message_callback.cpp:1169, TrueImage::Archive::ArchiveMsgWriteCallbackProcessor::ProcessWriteCallback
| Path: nas://192.168.30.122/Backups/Backups/MSI/backup090520_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
| $module: ti_demon_vs_17750
|
| error 0x40014: Access to the file is denied.
| line: 0xf35f747b3b21f903
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\windows\winnt_dir.cpp:506
| function: winnt_dir::OpenFile
| line: 0xf35f747b3b21f903, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\windows\winnt_dir.cpp:506, winnt_dir::OpenFile
| function: CreateFileNoCacheW
| path: \\?\UNC\192.168.30.122\Backups\Backups\MSI\backup090520_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
| $module: ti_demon_vs_17750
|
| error 0xfff0: Access is denied
| line: 0xbd28fdbd64edb8f1
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp:307
| function: Common::Error::AddWindowsError
| line: 0xbd28fdbd64edb8f1, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp:307, Common::Error::AddWindowsError
| code: 0x80070005
| $module: ti_demon_vs_17750.

 

 

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#14

Brad, thanks for clarifying the situation and that local backups to a USB drive are working fine, which really leaves this more as a NAS issue than with Acronis.

I have no experience of using ReadyNAS as my own NAS is a Synology.  Have you checked that the credentials you are using in ATI for the NAS do have read/write access on the NAS side?

For my own NAS backups I have a dedicated user profile created only on the Synology NAS which is used only for my Acronis backups from several different computers across my home network.  That dedicated user does not exist as a Windows profile on any system and has full access to the designated backup folders where my ATI images are stored.  I also never use any mapped drive letters in Windows to any folders on the NAS as consider this a risk that would allow malware to attack the NAS folders & contents.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 15

#15

I had set this up when I started using 2019. I do have a dedicated user and it has all the permissions.  The problem is that Acronis has the credentials grayed out and will not allow me to enter them.  I have verified the credentials are correct using another resource.  If I back up to a higher level dir in the NAS it does let me enter credentials but always fails.  The log file doesn't tell me why it fails. Also I have no mapped drives.

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22450

#16

Brad, the only further suggestion is to try the steps shown in KB 58004: Acronis True Image 2016: Troubleshooting Issues Related to NAS Credentials to remove all existing credentials stored by Acronis in your Windows Registry.