Skip to main content

Cleanup doesn't do the job

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

I have a folder with about 600GB. I've decided to ask backup to skip some of the its sub folders and so backup folder should be no more than 400GB. I've manually tried clean-up these folders from all versions but with no success. thay still appear and folders size stays the same. what do i do?

In the picture, 2009-2013 where skipped but yet appear.

(skipped = unchecked from client-side acronis app)

Attachment Size
Annotation 2019-05-20 103028.jpg 33.71 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 80
Comments: 17190

#1

Welcome to these public User Forums.

What actual product are you using here and what type of backup are you creating / where are you creating it?

Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

#2

Hi Steve, Thanks for your reply!

I have the last version of acronis 2019. updating when ever there is an update.

i'm not near my home machine right now so i can't see which version installed.

I'm backuping an intenal ssd drive. Nothing really special, normal configuration.

Copied from details:

Installed agents:  True Image Agent for Windows

Operating system: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

RAM: 12.0 GB

Legend
Posts: 80
Comments: 17190

#3

Thank you for the confirmation of using ATI 2019 - the next question is about the destination for your backup of the internal SSD drive - is this to the Acronis Cloud service?

With any drive backups, any changes to the source data for the task will only ever be reflected in new backups created after the change - there are no changes made to already existing backup files regardless of the destination being used!

Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

#4

Yes, destination is Acronis cloud service.

I'm not sure i understand the second part you wrote.

If i want destination to ignore years 2009-2013 (see screenshot),

the only thing i can do is create a new backup without it...?

I can not uncheck it and ask for cleanup of older backup versions?

Legend
Posts: 80
Comments: 17190

#5

Sorry but there are no options in the Acronis Cloud Dashboard to allow deleting individual folders or files that are shown there - you are only able to Download or else share a link to these items.

The cleanup of items stored in the Cloud is controlled via the Advanced Options settings for your backup task in the ATI GUI on your computer where the task runs.

Cleanup will run automatically after the criteria specified has been passed, i.e. you have more than 20 recent file versions or file versions are older than 6 Months per the settings shown in my screen image from one of my Cloud backup tasks.

Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

#6

Versions is less relevant to me,

So one last version is fine for my needs. 

No option to delete from both dashboards?  

Client dashboard & Web Dashboard?

Cloud mostly keeps pics&photos of my family.

From time to time, i delete items, those which are

double or fuzzy, It saves space and keeps the junk out.

How would you manage this kind of data? 

Legend
Posts: 80
Comments: 17190

#7

A lot here depends on the size of your data and the amount of Cloud storage space you have access to with your account?

You can obviously reduce both the number of versions to be stored, and the age of versions if space is becoming an issue, and then let the automatic cloud cleanup function do housekeeping for you as those criteria are met.

Personally, I keep my backups in at least 3 different places, i.e. on a local backup drive (for fastest access when needed), on a NAS drive on my home network (for longer term storage), and in the Acronis Cloud (for disaster recovery in the event of such as a house fire etc).

I also replicate (synchronise) other files & folders to have copies on more than one computer plus also use other cloud services (Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, Google Drive) so that the data can be recovered from a variety of locations.  My Synology NAS also has a Synology Drive cloud feature that I use on my computer and mobile phone devices for some data.

Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

#8

Wow, You are all well checked for 'rainy days'.

I do have a problem with my data size & Cloud storage size.

Of what i've tried till now and If i understand it right,

Automatic cloud cleanup function will never delete folders and files i have unchecked.

in order to save some space i have to delete my current backup and start it all over.

Sounds so strange :-|

 

Legend
Posts: 80
Comments: 17190

#9

It would be worth opening a Support Ticket direct with Acronis given that you have a Cloud subscription, and discuss your requirements with them to see if they can offer other suggestions on how to achieve the results you are wanting here.

On backup strategy, take a read of The Ultimate Guide to Computer Backup - Acronis

Forum Hero
Posts: 67
Comments: 8000

#10

If you're OK with losing some of your historical backup retention, try changing so it is set to only retain 1 "recent file versions" and "delete file versions that are older than 1 Day".  If the file version is older than 1 day and the folder is being skipped, hopefully that will groom it out.  If not, then yeah, looks like once it's backed up to the cloud, a copy of it will always remain in that backup.

If the folder remains, make sure to try and navigate it after the cleanup to see if there are any files actually still in it or not.

Then, be sure to go back and change the retention time frames again so you have more than just 1 days of backups.

When I do local backups (non-cloud), each backup in the chain (incremental or differential) will restore or show what is actually on the system at the time of backup - whether that is added data or removed data.  The files might still exist in the chain (for instance in the original full) and then be removed and reflected as removed in the next incremental.  depending on the date selected for recovery, determines if those files will be recovered or not.  However, if they were ever backed up in that chain, then they still live there and can be recovered until the entire chain is completely deleted too.

Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 8

#11

Thanks Steve, i would open a ticket, because no other options seems in reach. 

Hi Bobbo, Thanks for joining. I've tried "delete file versions that are older than 1 Day" with no success. Unchecked files are reachable and downloadable.