Skip to main content

Cloning fails with "Cannot find the driver for the following device ID: *ABCD0000"

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Hello, I hope someone here can help with this because the Acronis "support team" is clueless.

I used Acronis 2016 to perform a clone every week of my Toshiba laptop hard drive.  I have a toshiba hard drive of slightly larger capacity in a docking station, and this clone worked perfectly for a couple of years.

I upgraded to 2018, performed the first clone, which worked, but subsequent attempts failed with that message.  I had an online chat with support who suggested I upgrade (for free) to 2019 and see if that fixed it.  It didn't.

The disk is cloned but the failure occurs at what I think is the end of the process and when I look at the disk with the Windows disk management utility, it doesn't have a boot sector.

I wondered then if the docking station had somehow been damaged, so I purchased another and tried again and it worked.  Subsequent attempts with the new docking station failed with that message.

So I purchased a new 1TB portable usb hard drive and attempted a clone to that, which worked.  Subsequent attempts failed with that message.

It appears to me that the first attempt to clone to a "new" device succeeds but all subsequent attempts fail.  I am sure if I purchased another docking station or usb hard drive it would work the first time only.

The Acronis "support team" have no idea and don't seem to be interested in pursuing this problem, after I sent them multiple screen shots and system reports.  If it doesn't get fixed I will uninstall 2019 and reinstall 2016 and ask for a refund of the money I paid to upgrade to a useless product.

My laptop is a bog-standard Toshiba Satellite L850 running Windows 7 Professional version 6.1 service pack 1.  Any help would be much appreciated.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 52
Comments: 8711

Susan,

Does the docking station connect to your computer via USB?

I ask to understand if both the portable hard drive and the docking station share the same USB port.

If you open Windows Device Manager do you see any exclamation marks?  If yes do these show as unknown devices?  If yes, under what device group do you see them?

Legend
Posts: 105
Comments: 24728

Susan, is "Cannot find the driver for the following device ID: *ABCD0000" the actual error message you are being shown, or have you just put *ABCD0000 to illustrate the type of message here?

Next, how are you performing the Clone action?  Is this from within Windows or are you booting from the Acronis Rescue Media to do this?

With ATI 2018 & 2019, Acronis have introduced Active Cloning which now uses the Microsoft VSS service when doing cloning, the same as used to make Backups.  Active Cloning can have an issue if cloning to a drive with an existing Windows OS shown on it.

Have you tried clearing the target drive before performing a new clone to it?

Please download the MVP Log Viewer tool (link below) and use this to review the full log for the clone operation if doing this via the Windows ATI program.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Hello, thanks for your replies.  Yes, the docking station attaches by usb.  There is nothing wrong with it the computer recognises it and the clone commences normally.

Yes, the error message is EXACTLY as I typed it.  Being a software engineer of 45 years, it looks to me like a "template" that the program "fills in", i.e. replaces the abcd0000 with appropriate info, but that hasn't happened.

Yes, the clone is initiated in windows in the Acronis software.  Yes, I know about the "active cloning", the first and only successful clone did it that way.  Subsequent attempts rebooted into DOS in the same manner as the 2016 version did but failed at the end, I think at the point where the boot record is written (that is the last operation in 2016 version).

Yes, I didn't just delete everything, I actually formatted the target drive to remove everything (it took bloody hours) but that made no difference.

Can't use the log viewer because the operation takes place under DOS.

After waiting 7 days for a reply to my last email to the "support team", I de-installed 2019, reinstalled 2016 and performed a successful clone (yes, to the same drive/docking station).  So I have now requested a refund of the upgrade charge for a product that doesn't work.  Also they CLOSED THE TICKET without even telling me, so interested are they in solving this obvious BUG.

Legend
Posts: 105
Comments: 24728

Yes, the clone is initiated in windows in the Acronis software.  Yes, I know about the "active cloning", the first and only successful clone did it that way.  Subsequent attempts rebooted into DOS in the same manner as the 2016 version did but failed at the end, I think at the point where the boot record is written (that is the last operation in 2016 version).

Susan, if Active Clone detects an OS on the target drive, then it reverts to needing to restart the computer.

Yes, I didn't just delete everything, I actually formatted the target drive to remove everything (it took bloody hours) but that made no difference.

There was no need to do a full format, just deleting the volume in Disk Management or else using Diskpart and doing a Clean would suffice, as the first action of a clone is to clear any existing partitions.

Can't use the log viewer because the operation takes place under DOS.

The Log Viewer is not needed in the DOS environment because you still have a menu option for Log in the standalone GUI where you can check the messages from the operation being performed.

So I have now requested a refund of the upgrade charge for a product that doesn't work.  So I have now requested a refund of the upgrade charge for a product that doesn't work.  Also they CLOSED THE TICKET without even telling me, so interested are they in solving this obvious BUG.

 Acronis are normally very good at refunding when asked and this is always given if within 30 days of purchase.  Very difficult for anyone to fix an 'obvious BUG' without having the diagnostic information that allows them to investigate the matter, especially when this is the first report of this particular issue.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Hello, thanks for your reply.

"... you still have a menu option for Log in the standalone GUI where you can check the messages from the operation being performed. "   Sorry, don't understand this phrase.  What is the "standalone GUI"?  Are you saying that the DOS operation creates a log?  If so, why didn't they ask me for it?  And where is it stored, anyway? 

Regardless of whether a full format was required or not, the point is that it made no difference, the cloning still failed.

They DID have all the diagnostic information, I gave them everything they asked for: screen shots, multiple system reports, a full description of the operation.  I had to deal with four different people, none of whom appeared to have read any of the previous correspondence, which went on for weeks.  They kept asking me to do the same things over and over, expecting a different result (a definition of insanity). 

And they said stupid stuff like " it is expected behavior as you were trying to clone the disk connected via Docking station".  The 2016 version is very happy with a docking station and so was 2018/2019 on the FIRST clone operation, so that statement is absolute rubbish.  And nowhere in the FAQs or help databases can I find any statement like that.  In any case, what bloody difference does it make, docking station or no docking station.  I have had 45 years in the IT industry and I know incompetence and cluelessness when I see it.

Then they closed the ticket, without having fixed the problem or telling me they couldn't fix it.  Then today I get an email this morning pointing me to a customer satisfaction survey!!  In my days on the help desk, if I had done that sort of thing I would not have had my job for long.  This problem should have been escalated to another team further up the line, hopefully having among them someone who actually speaks English.  A lot of the communications I received contained much gibberish that was difficult, if not impossible to understand.

I wonder if the management team knows what the support team is doing, somehow I doubt it. 

My upgrade was done on the 8th August and the problem occurred IMMEDIATELY and has been ongoing, so they had better give me a refund, regardless of how long it's been.  Wankers.

 

Legend
Posts: 105
Comments: 24728

What is the "standalone GUI"?  Are you saying that the DOS operation creates a log?  If so, why didn't they ask me for it?  And where is it stored, anyway? 

The standalone GUI is the ATI application launched from the bootable Rescue Media, the log data is volatile, i.e. disappears when the system is rebooted. There is an option to Save the log data if needed.

ARM_Backup022.jpg

They DID have all the diagnostic information, I gave them everything they asked for: screen shots, multiple system reports, a full description of the operation.  I had to deal with four different people, none of whom appeared to have read any of the previous correspondence, which went on for weeks. 

Sorry but this wasn't clear / obvious from your earlier post and we have no access to any internal systems used by Acronis Support as we are just volunteer users.  You can ask for a support case to be escalated to the next level of support if making no progress, or else you could send a private message to Renata Gubaydullina | Product manager, Acronis True Image to ask her to get involved / review the support case.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Hello, thanks for your message. 

I did say in my first post, second-last para that I had provided them with screen shots and system reports.

They have not mentioned "standalone GUI" or "bootable rescue media" in any of our communications.  They have not suggested that these might give them more information.  More evidence that they don't know what they are doing.

Thanks for the information re escalation, I will send a private message as I would not trust the "support team" to escalate this if I asked them to.

Thanks for your comments and help, we may yet get somewhere.  I will let you know if we do.

Kind regards.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

No, on second thoughts I am just going to stay with 2016.  Can't deal with corresponding with these people again.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

*  I had this same problem with Acronis disk clone 2019 and 2020. Now that I have the 2021 edition, the same problem is still there. I still have no idea what device is identified as *ABCD0000.

*  For cloning, I always boot up from the Acronis CD.

*  I do not have a docking station at all.

*  I also use Windows 7.1 x64. 

*  There are many cloning applications on the market from which to choose, so unless Acronis investigates and responds, I may possibly consider switching.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 6

Well, who would believe that three years later this problem still has not been addressed?  Oh wait, yes, I can believe it.  My advice is go back to version 2016, the last version that works.  It does everything else you need but most importantly Clone works perfectly.  Good luck.