Skip to main content

Setting up backup settings

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 2

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct place, but I have a question regarding Acronis True Image backup/restore settings. 

I have three internal hard drives:

*SSD for operating system and program installs

*HDD for all other files, such as documents, videos, pictures, etc.

*HDD backup drive that I have Acronis True Image back the other two drives up to

 

It is to my understanding that since Acronis is installed on my SSD, and backs up everything from my SSD and one of my HDD drives listed above to the third drive listed above, that if I have to reinstall my operating system drive from a backup, the backup (I just have a one time backup of my operating system, not scheduled) will not contain up to date information regarding my HDD backup for the second drive listed above. 

Is there a way that I can have the settings for my backups stored on my HDD backup drive listed above, so that if I chose to do a complete restore of my SSD (which has Acronis TI 2019 installed on it), Acronis will continue where it left off when it comes to backing up my one HDD knowing where the operating system that was being wiped and restored had left off?

 

What I've done in the past has been to erase my backups, and to just start a brand new scheduled backup of my HDD anytime I've re-installed my SSD, but I'd like reinstalling to be as seamless as possible without having to wipe my old HDD files backup and to re-setup a new backup for that drive. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 46
Comments: 15486

John, welcome to these public User Forums.

There is no default method for doing what you are asking here to have the settings for your backups stored on your HDD backup drive and there would be issues in doing this if your backups of your OS drive differ greatly from your backups of the second data HDD drive.

Any time that you recover / restore an OS drive, you reset the status of any Acronis backup tasks back to the state they held at the time that the backup used was created - this information is held in various different places and ways, so although you copy the C:\ProgramData\Acronis folder structure and contents to capture it as it was immediately prior to doing a recovery, the information if copied back after the recovery would be then out of sync with the OS backup task, albeit may be correct for the data HDD backup.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 2

Thank you for the response. I was thinking what your responded with but wasn't sure, and wanted to ask those more familiar with the software. thank you for your response. JOhn