Skip to main content

Acronis backup error: The last backup has been stopped

Thread solved
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hello all,

 

I first used the TI 2020 in November 2019 and it worked fine. After I performed an update to the latest version, backup failed every single time with the message "The latest backup has been stopped"

What I did: I uninstalled TI completely and reinstalled it. Created backup list (2 partitions on 2 disks as it was previously) from scratch, the same error.

I used MVP log viewer and it says:

---

4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I00000000: -----
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I00000000: ATI Demon started. Version: 24.6.1.25700.
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I00640000: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I00640002: Operation Dynamic Volumes started manually.
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I00640000: Backup reserve copy attributes: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I013C0000: Operation: Backup
4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM: 00 3732 I0064000B: Priority changed to Low.
4/15/2020 11:23:55 AM: 00 3732 E00000000: Can't read slices: Error 0x40011: The specified file does not exist.
4/15/2020 11:24:15 AM: 00 3732 E02160015: Error 0x2160015: A backup error.
4/15/2020 11:24:15 AM: 00 3732 E013C0005: Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.

Start: 4/15/2020 11:23:54 AM
Stop: 4/15/2020 11:24:15 AM
Total Time: 00:00:21

---

I don't know what slice it that one and which file, as I selected full partition to backup, not individual files.

What else can I do? Thank you

 

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28256

Mircea Dragan, welcome to these public User Forums.

As you are doing a Disk backup, the log information in the ti_demon logs is not very useful other than to give a summary of what is happening, not the details.

Disk backups now use the backup_worker logs to hold detailed messages about backup tasks, so this is where you would need to look for more information.

C:\ProgramData\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Logs\backup_worker is where these logs are stored.

The MVP Log Viewer tool was created before this change and doesn't offer an option to show these new logs in an easier to read format.

If you want help reading / understanding the backup_worker logs, then either create a zip file of the C:\ProgramData\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Logs folder & subfolders and post as a file attachment (has to be under 3MB size), or else create an Acronis System Report zip file and share a link to this via Google Drive, OneDrive, etc.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your reply.

I manually removed all log files in that directory and started a new backup attempt. The default name for backing up some partitions is "Dynamic Volumes". I try to attach the log file I get.

 

Attachment Size
535079-181653.log 71.67 KB
Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28256

Thanks for the backup_worker log which shows the reason for the failure as follows:

15/04/2020 03:28:42:946 PM type=commonerror;
value=A backup error.
Commit
Failed to create volume snapshot.
Failed to unlock the volume snapshot.

win_snapshot_core::SnapStart
VSS writer 'SqlServerWriter' with class ID 'A65FAA63-5EA8-4EBC-9DBD-A0C4DB26912A' has failed to process the snapshot.
`anonymous-namespace'::ObtainVSSFailReasonSuberror
Common::Error::AddHResult
PM type=retcode; value=4095

The above shows that you either have an active SQL Server and are trying to include data locked by that server, or else have a VSS issue on your computer.

Please download & run the Acronis VSS Doctor tool (link in my signature) then see what errors this shows.  Take any repair options that the tool offers.

If you are running an SQL server, then you either need to exclude the data for it or else stop the server before running the backup.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Thanks a million Steve! I do have an SQL Server running. Just stopped all SQL related services and was able to do the backup. I wouldn't have thought this is the problem.

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28256

Glad to hear your backup has been successful, thanks for the feedback.

Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 25

I've used Acronis for years with no problem but this backup stopping farce has driven me to load an older version. Has the problem been solved with the 2021 version?

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28256

David, sorry but there are too many reasons why a backup can be stopped, the majority of which are valid.  I have not seen this issue with any of my own ATI 2021 backup tasks except for genuine reasons!

Example of a valid reason from today!


If the backup had not stopped as above, then my laptop would have exhausted its battery and gone into a forced power off or hibernation!

Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 25

It didn't happen with 2020 until the update and doesn't happen with 2019. It's impossible to do unattended backups as it keeps trying again until the destination bursts.  Is 2021 more lenient?

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28256

Without seeing the logs for when the error is reported it is impossible to say whether 2021 would be any different to what you have seen with other versions.