Skip to main content

Acronis True Image 2020 license

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 0

If I rename my W10 PC, do I lose the Acronis True Image 2020 license that I have registered under the old name?

1 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26714

Jose, welcome to these public User Forums.

Your ATI 2020 license is activated based on your PC hardware signature so renaming the PC in Windows 10 won't change anything!

Forum Member
Posts: 15
Comments: 32

I have a PC that's DEAD, how do I transfer that license to new/another PC after installing ATI2020?

 

thanks

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26714

Larry, you just install ATI 2020, enter your serial number and if you see a message that you have exceeded the number of activations for the license, follow the prompts shown to move the license from the dead PC.

See KB 62744: Acronis True Image 2020 (Windows): "You've exceeded the maximum number of activations for this serial number" - for moving your license to the new computer.

Forum Member
Posts: 15
Comments: 32

My account shows as "PERPETUAL" for 5 PC's and only using 4 ATI2020. So I deleted the dead PC, installed on new PC and entered license... and then it asks for old license? Not sure what that is? I do have previous versions 2016, 2018, 2019, besides current 2020 which is installed on total of 3 pc's not including pc that replaces dead pc. I don't get any windows as per KB 62744,

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26714

Larry, if you are being asked for two license serial numbers, then you have an Upgrade version of ATI 2020 that requires the serial from a previous full version of ATI.  Your Account should show which versions are upgrade or full (shown as Standard for perpetual versions).  See attached images from my own account.

Attachment Size
596257-304782.png 30.89 KB
596257-304785.png 31.13 KB
Forum Member
Posts: 15
Comments: 32

Did that today and it worked, but yesterday it didn't. That said I had to move a license from dead PC to new PC and all is working OK now. When I got the "window" stating I have  used all 5 licenses used and saw a old PC was also listed after moving license I would like to free up that but can't figure out how since it's not listed under "All devices". If I message you the 4 active PC's using backup, can you clear out that license so I may use it if needed?

 

thanks for helping

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26714

Larry, Acronis do not offer perpetual users any method to clear unwanted / obsolete PC's holding licenses other than by doing as you have done above, i.e. install on a new PC and move the license to that new PC.

For subscription users, they do offer better methods of managing licenses but that is at an annual cost!!!