Skip to main content

Acronis True Image on Mac OS Big Sur

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I received the following message when I opened Acronis True Image on my iMac:  “existing software on your system loaded a legacy system extension by Acronis which will be incompatible with a future version of macOS

 

Is this issue being addressed or have I missed an update?

 

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#1

David, welcome to these public User Forums.

What version & build of ATI do you have installed on your iMac - this should be seen on either the Account page or else in the Help information?

Was the current install of ATI an upgrade from an older version or a new clean install?

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

#2

ATI 2020

Version 24.6.25760

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#3

Thanks David, you have the latest version / build for 2020 so there shouldn't be any 'legacy system extension' being loaded unless it has been left over from a previous older version of ATI?

Is there any other information about what that legacy system extension might be?

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#4

Hi Steve,

what David is referring to is, that Apple will drop Legacy Kernel Extensions in Big Sur. That's a fact. When you start True Image 2020 in MacOS 10.25.x Catalina, you receive the warning message pictured below.

So, the concern is: Will True Image 2020 be Big Sur compatible? I didn't see any MacOS 11 or Big Sur compatibility notes in the current 2021 beta release notes as well.

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#5

Marc, thanks for the further information - I can only suggest that this be raised directly with Acronis for this question to get a definitive answer, especially with regards to ATI 2021.  I have only seen the user guide for the Windows 2021 beta version so don't know if there is anything written in the Mac manual that may touch on this in the System Requirements section?

Regular Poster
Posts: 27
Comments: 230

#6

Steve, I can't post here anymore? New Post went to OFF-TOPIC? Can you move it from there to here?

Sorry for stealing the thread.

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#7

Irv, only Ekaterina (forum moderator) can move posts between forums...!