Skip to main content

Error 87

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I am running Acronis Trueimage 2020 on 3 PCs. On one PC I receive the following Error message: LoadLibrary failed with error 87: The parameter is incorrect. Acronis Trueimage icons fail to appear in the task bar. Strangely, the backups appear to complete successfully. I am not sure if this strange behaviour started after latest update to TI or to Windows 10 Pro. Anyone else seeing this?

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28191

Emanuel, welcome to these public User Forums.

I do not recall seeing any other users posting about Error 87 issues here in the forums.

Please check that you performed the install or upgrade to ATI 2020 from an Administrator account, as this is required for ATI to have the correct permissions / authority to perform its tasks.

If needed, do a Repair install by re-installing the full ATI 2020 installer (as Administrator) without uninstalling your current application.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Steve Smith wrote:

"I do not recall seeing any other users posting about Error 87 issues here in the forums."

There seems to have been a query in German re the same error message.

"Please check that you performed the install or upgrade to ATI 2020 from an Administrator account, as this is required for ATI to have the correct permissions / authority to perform its tasks."

This was done.

"If needed, do a Repair install by re-installing the full ATI 2020 installer (as Administrator) without uninstalling your current application."

Already did this before original post.

Forum Star
Posts: 181
Comments: 1711

A quick google search seems to indicate that this error is related AMD video drivers. Seems not to be ATI, but can show up when launching certain applications. Fixes are posted so just run a search on " LoadLibrary failed with error 87" and look at what's out there.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I already searched for this error before posting here. From what I could tell no drivers had changed on my PC so I did not see any potential fix for this. As there is no help here I shall search elsewhere.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

I have got the same error on Windows 10 x64 (Build 1909, 18363.418) and I try several AcronisTrue Image 2020 versions (20600, 20770, 21400). The installation has been tested on several computers.

The same error appears everywhere. Once Acronis is uninstalled, the error will no longer be displayed. I pass this information on as user and reseller.
 
Attachment Size
516568-173585.png 42.65 KB
Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28191

Thomas (and Emanuel), I can only recommend that you both open a Support case direct with Acronis for this strange error issue. 

If the error is recreateable by just installing ATI 2020 on your computers, then the developers will probably want you to collect Process Monitor Log data and Process Dumps along with an Acronis System Report (see the documents below).

KB 2295: Collecting Process Monitor Log

KB 27931: Creating Process Dumps with ProcDump

KB 58820: Acronis True Image: Collecting System Report

KB 45992: Acronis Software: Troubleshooting Application Lockups

KB 57216: Acronis True Image: Send Feedback

If you are willing to try to isolate what aspect of ATI is causing this error, then see the following document that can help you do this:

KB 60222: Acronis True Image: partially disabling Acronis software from automatically starting with Windows

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

Hello Steve, thanks for your information. The error is probably caused by an installed service. Responsible are probably "Acronis Scheduler2 Service" or "Acronis Sync Agent Service". So the solution can be found in KB60222.

 

Best regards

 

Thomas

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28191

Thomas, if you are able to demonstrate that having one of the two Acronis services (Scheduler2 or Sync Agent) active is causing the Error 87 issue, then please submit Feedback direct to Acronis with an Acronis System Report plus a link to this forum topic, so that they are made aware of this issue.

The alternative is to open a support case for it.

Forum Hero
Posts: 57
Comments: 9276

Thomas,

Your installed Windows version is a Release Preview version.  Such versions are not supported by the True Image product as issues like yours may present themselves in such Preview versions of the Windows OS.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

Hello Enchantech, the last Preview version is Build 18383.329.

Since October 3, the official version 19H2 Build 18363.356.

My version is now the 18383.418 with the first feature update.

Acronis does not know the current version number of Windows 10 ;)

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 57
Comments: 9276

Thomas,

Your version 18383.418 otherwise known as 1909 is not an official release yet. It is scheduled for official release in late Oct. or early Nov.

Regardless, Acronis products do not support preview versions as they are still considered under development until such time as they are officially released.  So until then your support options from Acronis are non existent when products are installed on none official release versions of Windows.

Whether or not this would make a difference in your issue I have no idea.  Just letting you know that your support with Acronis is not the same as it would be if you were running an officially released version of Windows.

 

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

So all users of Acronis True Image have to wait for the new version 2021 or a new build number of 2020?

What was there first? The hen or the egg? Do I first update my operating system or Acronis?

 

Regular Poster
Posts: 4
Comments: 177

Thomas Fischer wrote:

So all users of Acronis True Image have to wait for the new version 2021 or a new build number of 2020?

 

Tag Thomas, 

Gemäss Infos ist die " Von Microsoft wird die Windows 10 1909.418 als finale Version „angesehen“ und ausgegeben. " und wird am 12. November erwartet https://www.deskmodder.de/blog/2019/10/17/neue-infos-zum-start-der-windows-10-1909-21h1-edge-und-windows-10x/ 

Info von mir; 

Ich habe die Windows 10 1909.418 auch frisch  installiert auf meinem Arbeitssystem  und konnte keine solche   Fehler 87 verzeichnen.  

 

Vorschlag; 

ATI Support Ticket öffnen mit den Systemdaten von deinem Gerät https://kb.acronis.com/content/58820.

Eventuell finden Sie was raus. 

Legend
Posts: 109
Comments: 28191

Thomas, please see KB 60589: Acronis True Image: Windows Insider Program (beta) builds support - for the official Acronis statement on support of beta versions of Windows.

The reality here is that both Acronis and some of the MVP's do run these beta versions but if we hit problems, then there is no redress until Acronis have released a new build that has full support for the new (say 1909 OS build), then if the problems remain unresolved, we can report them normally.

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 7485

Bei mir funktioniert ATI 2020 Build 21400 mit Windows10 Pro x64 Version 1909 Build 18363.446

-----------------------------------------

For me works ATI 2020 Build 21400 with Windows10 Pro x64 Version 1909 Build 18363.446

Attachment Size
517235-173738.GIF 280.31 KB
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

@ Logitech21 und G. Uphoff

Danke für die Rückinformation. Mein System ist nicht "clean and fresh" installiert sondern als Update.

Wo der Fehler da liegt kann ich sicherlich eingrenzen. Vielmehr ging es mir darum Emanuel zu bestätigen, dass auch andere dieses Problem haben. Andererseits bedeutet das auch, dass die Fehlermeldung verschwindet, wenn man ATI 2020 deinstalliert. Das ist aber keine Problemlösung, sondern eher Verdrängung.

Frage. Erstellt ATI 2020 bei Euch neben den *.tib(x) auch *.tib.metadaten?

@G. Uphoff. Der Fehler tritt beim Systemstart auf, nicht während der Sicherung. Darin unterscheiden sich unsere Bilder.

 

@Steve

The latest information from Acronis is that it supports Windows 10 including updates through September. I share your opinion.

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 7485

Hallo Thomas Fischer

Wenn bei den .tib Backups eine Backupname.tib.metadata Datei vorhanden ist, werden die Backup-Einstellungen der betreffenden Backuptasks zurückgesetzt sein. (Ich bin noch selber damit am experimentieren).

Die Endung der .tib Dateien fehlt (z.B inc_b2_s2_v1.tib) und die neuen Dateien verhalten sich wie .tibx Dateien.

https://forum.acronis.com/comment/518010#comment-518010

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

Hallo G. Uphoff,

 

das "schlimme" ist eigentlich das Durcheinander. Wenn man von ATI 2019 das Upgrade gemacht hat, wird weiterhin *.tib verwendet. Bei einer Neuinstallation *.tibx. Zum Glück kann man seine Lizenzen inzwischen selbst neu aktivieren und dementsprechende Installationen vornehmen.