Skip to main content

TrueImageMonitor.exe = High CPU usage when doing Nothing?

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 17

Background: I recently(3 weeks ago) upgraded from TI2016 to 2020.  After the upgrade I noticed that after I had finished running a backup, True Image 2020 was still using 17-20% of my CPU.  I looked at the Processes in Task Manager and it showed 'Acronis True Image 2020 (32bit) and when I right clicked on it, and went to the Details tab it showed 'TrueImageMonitor.exe as the guilty program eating up my CPU!

I noticed that it did not eat up the CPU at all until after I had opened TI2020 and ran a backup.

A few days after I upgraded, I tried out the 'Active Protection' tool and after a few days decided not to use it.  So, I turned it off and freed the space.  I was wondering if this was somehow still monitoring my system for changes?

The only was to stop it was to End Task on the TrueImageMonitor.exe in the Details tab, or reboot.  When I End Task I also notice the the white icon in the Systray disappears.  So is this just the Status monitoring?  And nothing to do with the Active Protection??

How do I stop this from eating up my cpu after a backup?

 

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 17

#1

I did another test just now.  I End Task on TrueImageMonitor.exe in the Details tab.  Then I ran a small backup.  When it was done, the TrueImageMonitor.exe was not running in the Details Tab and my CPU was not being eaten up by the 'Acronis True Image 2020 (32 bit) process.  Actually, when I click on 'Go to Details it goes to the Details tab and select 'TrueImage.exe'.  Where before, it was going and selecting 'TrueImageMonitor.exe'...

Is there a 64 bit version of true image?  I am running Windows 10  64 bit..

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#2

I have not seen any recent reports of high CPU from TrueImageMonitor.exe and haven't seen any similar issues on any of my own PC's running a mix of versions of ATI from 2018 to 2021 Beta.

Have you set the Advanced option in your backup task to perform Validation after the Backup has completed?

Are you running ATI from an Administrator account?

Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 17

#3

Yes, I have Validation on for a few of my backups.  Not for all.  

And I am logged in on my account in Windows, of which I am the only user, and I am Administrator.

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#4

Thanks for confirming the above. Can you test whether you see the high cpu if you only run a backup without validation?  If it doesn't occur, then it is possible that it is the validation action that gives the high cpu after the backup has successfully created the image file.

Forum Star
Posts: 178
Comments: 3856

#5
Snacko wrote:

Is there a 64 bit version of true image?  I am running Windows 10  64 bit..

Unfortunately there is only a 32 bit version, unlike Cyber Backup 12.5 which has bot 32 bit and 64 bit Windows versions as well as a Linux version. 

Ian

Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 17

#6

Ok, I ran the same backup as before but without Validation.  Both times the CPU did not run high afterwards.  Strange..   So I rebooted and ran the backup again without Validation, and still no CPU issues.

I always put my pc to Sleep rather than Shutting it down.  I started doing this a few months ago.  I reboot it probably 2+ times a week, but put it to sleep 1-2 times a day.

Last night I again put it to Sleep.  When I woke the pc just now the CPU was running at 17% constantly.  (it was not last night!)  After looking at the Task Manager/Processes it was all Aconis True Image 2020 hogging the cpu at 17%.  When I go to Details it selects TrueImageMonitor.exe (not TrueImage.exe like before).  It is always the TrueImageMonitor.exe that eats the cpu.

So, It appears that it happens after going to sleep.  That makes sense..  Yesterday I was running tests, but not putting it to sleep, and I even rebooted.

Legend
Posts: 100
Comments: 21992

#7

Seems strange that you are seeing the high CPU after waking from sleep?  My own laptop with ATI 2020 often goes a week or more inbetween reboots, where I just close the lid to put it to sleep when not using it.  I am not seeing the CPU issue on wake.

KB 46770: Acronis True Image: Troubleshooting Performance Issues may offer some suggestions otherwise you should consider opening a support case direct with Acronis.

Forum Member
Posts: 9
Comments: 17

#8

Ok, thanks for your help!