Skip to main content

Incremental (non-)files and other Acronis annoyances

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Comments: 24

I have been using Acronis for more than 10 years, recommended it to many people, and installed it on the machines of non-technical friends. Could have sworn by it. Now I regularly swear at it.

It started with the absolutely unnecessary bloatware. My backups are backed-up via 10Gbit Ethernet, and suddenly, the 10Gbit slowed down to 2Gbit when I was lucky, 1Gbit when I was not. I suspected Windows 10 upgrades, but after many test installs and hundreds of iperf3 runs, it turned out that Acronis was the culprit. With all “cyber” stuff turned off, the network is fast again.

ACRONIS, LISTEN UP:  This is backup software, not an ant-virus, or a firewall. Keeping backup-files protected is O.K. and welcome, everything else is not. Anti-virus has become increasingly useless as it is, and Windows Defender does a halfway decent job. If you want a security Swiss Army Knife, get Kaspersky. 

In the olden days, an incremental backup produced a series of small files, which was very welcome in my case. Every evening, the whole backup set gets copied to a Linux server via a Windows share (not via a share on the server, that would be accessible to ransomware …)  and from that, it gets copied to another server across town the next day. The small incremental files make for a fast rsync copy, it ignores identical files.

Suddenly, after an upgrade, the incremental files were gone, and an ever-growing single file was produced. I have a few 9TB drives. Can you imagine how long it takes to copy their backup over the net every night?