Skip to main content

New to recover Windows - Disc and partitions or Clone Disk?

Thread solved
Regular Poster
Comments: 272

I always do File and folder backups of my private data so when it comes to making a copy of Windows and being able to restore it i am an absolute beginner and need some directions.

Scenario:
Today i have a perfectly functional version of Windows 10. For some testing purposes i would like to do regarding a Support ticket i would like to do a clean install of Windows 10. So for this i want a way to take a backup of my existing Windows 10 installation so i can recover it when the testing is done. I will recover to the same computer and the same disk.

Question:
Is it enough to do a "Disks and partitions" backup of my system drive (existing Windows installation) and selecting all partitions or must i go to Tools > Clone Disk and clone the system disk?

If a "Disks and partitions" backup is the way to go, can restore this directly from the user interface of TI2021 in the clean installation of Windows 10 or must i create boot media and restore using that method?

Greatful for help and tips! :)

-- Image from Disc and partitions backup --

Attachment Size
backup.PNG 7.69 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Comments: 25746

Roger, you definitely need to create a Disks & Partitions backup of your OS disk drive if you want to be able to recover Windows 10 at a later time.

It is recommended to do any OS type recovery after booting from Acronis Rescue Media and this should be booted in UEFI BIOS boot mode to match your EFI boot OS as per the image above.

You should create and test booting from the rescue media to ensure you understand the process and can see the required disk drives for the recovery operation, including the backup storage drive.

See KB 65508: Acronis True Image 2021: how to create bootable media and KB 59877: Acronis True Image: how to distinguish between UEFI and Legacy BIOS boot modes of Acronis Bootable Media