Skip to main content

Free MustangPE & Free Plugins For True Image Home 2011-2013 & Disk Director 11 Home

Thread needs solution
Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

I've updated my website at www.mechrest.com/plugins/index.html to include FREE plugins for True Image Home 2011 and Disk Director 11 Home. These plugins used in conjuntion with MustangPEBuilder 2.0 will produce a customizable WinPE 3.0 with a full GUI desktop. These two latest plugins are free because they use the BartPE and WinPE files supplied by Acronis with the respective products. The products, with appropriate Add_Ons, must be installed on the system used to build. No Acronis Files are distributed with the plugins.

As you can see, this is my first post in this forum. You may have seen other posts here by a user named mustang. Unfortunately, the forum has allowed two users to have the same nickname. I appologize to the other mustang for the confusion.

EDITED 11/24/2012:

MustangPEBuilder 2.0 is now free. There are free plugins for True Image Home 2010-2014 and Disk Director Home 11.0.

Attachment Size
mustangpe_desktop.jpg 289.55 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#1

Very timely, Paul. I was just in the process of puzzling out a WinPE build to include TI 2011 and DD 11, so this might just be the ticket.

And welcome to the new forum - we've missed your contributions here.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#2

Edit:
This thread has many many postings where Mustang has helped users with their individual issues.
I would encourage each person interested in using Mustang's product to read each and every posting as each has something to add to the mix of information.

Here are two extracts of particular information which I thought to be of an immediate need to know for anyone visiting this thread and interested.

posting #66
http://forum.acronis.com/forum/17630?page=1#comment-117670
MustangPEBuilder 2.0 is now available for free. It is provided in two versions. The first is for use with Microsoft's Automated Installation Kit (WAIK). The second is for use with Microsoft's Assessment and Deployment Kit (ADK). See my website at www.mechrest.com/plugins/index.html . The MustangPEBuilder 2.0 plugins for True Image Home 2010 through 2013 and Disk Director 11.0 remain free.

You can build a WinPE 2.0 or 3.0 recovery CD with Acronis products and added drivers using the WAIK version. You can build a WinPE 4.0 recovery CD with Acronis products and added drivers using the ADK version.

posting 106
http://forum.acronis.com/forum/17630?page=2#comment-123584
A new version of MustangPEBuilder ADK has been uploaded. A new feature has been added. It will now create a USB flash drive in addition to creating an ISO file. This feature is only available with the ADK version and not the WAIK version. You just need to click the Advanced Options button and select a drive letter for your USB flash drive from the drop down list. When you run MustangPEBuilder you will see a message box pop up if you have selected a USB drive letter. This message box warns you that the USB drive at the drive letter you have selected will be formatted. If you don't want it formatted, just click the No button to skip creating a USB flash drive.

An thanks again to Paul for his Mustang's PEBuilder.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1132

#3

Welcome back. Any chance of having a plugin for TI 2010?

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#4

Paul,

A warm welcome from me too.

Since you're using the BartPE and WinPE files, will this now build correctly on a x64 system?

If the TI Plus Pack is installed, are the BartPE files still used or does it always use the WinPE files? There may not even be a difference.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#5

Mark,

Thanks for the kind words.

Grover,

Good idea on the avitar, it's done.

Thomas,

I have a plugin for TI 2010 that worked up until build 7046 when Acronis made a major change. I'll consider a free plugin to support build 7046.

Paul,

I'll have to see if I can make it work on a 64 bit system. I just stated this yesterday. It would need to be built using a 32 bit WAIK as Acronis apps. are all 32 bit and won't run in a 64 bit WinPE.

I think the Plus Pack WinPE files are the same. It should be easy use them just by switching the path to the files in TIHome2011.ini. I've also included the source code so the plugins can be modified to suite your taste.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#6

Paul,

I don't see why it wouldn't work (or couldn't work) on a x64 system. There's no problem with creating x86 WinPE builds on x64 (I've done that many times). It would just be a matter of if your builder required something specific to an x86 installation. The x86 WAIK files would be used, in any case. I'll have to give it a try.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#7

Paul:

A few questions further about MustangPEBuilder2:

1. I'd like to do a build with the 3.0 WAIK for Windows 7 because of better and more recent driver support - will this WAIK version work with MustangPEBuilder2?
2. I'm running Windows 7 x64 and can run MustangPEBuilder2 in a 32-bit WinXP VM that has TI 2011 and DD 11 installed. This will work, won't it?
3. I tried experimenting with the Acronis PlusPack files. Double-clicking on their A43.exe file runs A43 just fine in a WinXP VM, and the file manager supports mapping of network drives. Will this function when running A43 in WinPE? Is networking supported in the final build of MustangPE?

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#8

Mark,

I just did a quick build (didn't test it much yet) with WinPE 3 on Windows 7 x64. I included both TI 2011 PP and DD 11. The build went just fine. I did need to edit the plugin INI files to set the correct paths since it's ...(x86).

The Map Network Drive option doesn't work directly from A43. However, you can still access the network in TI by entering the UNC path or you can map a drive at the command prompt. TI seems fussy about accessing the mapped drive, though.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#9

Mustang/Paul,

Just an FYI. There was a new build released Dec 27 (7154) for the prior version 2010.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#10

Paul,

Thanks for testing on a 64 bit system. That saves me some time.

Mark,

1. WAIK 3.0 on Windows 7 does work.

2. It will work just fine on your VM.

3. Networking is supported in MustangPE. I ran a test (see attached screen shoots) and it worked. I used the Map Network Drive entry in the MustangPE menu. It opens a command window with the necessary instuctions. Paul is right, TI needs to see the user name and password for the already mapped network drive.  You do this by selecting the mapped drive for your destination and clicking the Authentication Settings button at the top of the page in TI. After entering the user name and password you hit the Test ... Button to see if it worked. Then hit the OK button and continue normally.

Grover,

Thanks for the info. I'll get the new build before I start a test. 

Attachment Size
52945-93337.jpg 298.77 KB
52945-93340.jpg 285.6 KB
Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#11

Mustang:

One remaining area of confusion - to use WAIK 3.0 do you need to run MustangPEBuilder2 in a VM that is using Win 7 as a guest OS? If you have instead a VM with XP as the guest OS, do you need to use WAIK 2.1 instead?

Was your affirmative reply in 1. and 2. above referring to building MustangPE with WAIK 3.0 in a Win 7 VM? Or was it referring to using WAIK 3.0 with a WinXP VM?

Thanks for the networking info. I've been spoiled by having for the last few years a good build of VistaPE with TI 10 and DD 10 that includes Firefox, wired and wireless networking support, and Windows Explorer as the graphical shell. It's worked so well that I've been reluctant to move on, but now I'm looking forward to having a good Win7PE build to use with the newer Acronis programs. I'll place an order for MustangPEBuilder in a few minutes.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1132

#12

Thomas, I have a plugin for TI 2010 that worked up until build 7046 when Acronis made a major change. I'll consider a free plugin to support build 7046.

Thanks Mustang. Its great to have back participating in the forums.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#13

Mark,

As for as I understand, WAIK 3.0 is compatible with prior versions of Windows back to XP/SP2. I hope my memory is correct on this. You can confirm this on the WAIK download page. MustangPE should work with all of your configurations using WAIK 3.0.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#14

Mark,

WAIK 3 is fine on XP, Vista, and Windows 7. Tested many, many times. I've even used it on an unsupported version and it worked, though I wasn't using all of the WinPE tools. When building, you just need the builder and a couple of the tools (which worked fine).

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#15

Paul:

The WAIK 3.0 download page doesn't list XP as a supported OS. Guess I'll have to build a Win 7 VM. I'll do the 32-bit WAIK 3.0 and use 32-bit Win 7 as the guest OS. I'll give it a go on my XP VM based on MudCrab's comments.

Attachment Size
52957-93343.png 70.82 KB
Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#16

Mark,

It doesn't list it, but it works just fine. At least, I never had any problems with it. I used XP SP3.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#17

Thanks Paul and Paul. I'll let you know how it worked out.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#18

Paul (Mustang) and Paul (MudCrab):

This is a follow-up comment to let you know how things worked out. I have had mixed results; the MustangPE2 build has two problems - one serious and one minor.

First, the details:

1. Using Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 is the host OS and Windows XP SP3 is the guest OS
2. The XP VM has TI 2011 build 6597, TI Plus Pack build 6597, and DD 11 build 2121 installed and working.
3. WAIK 3.0 and its dependencies are installed and working.

Using the above, built a minimal MustangPE2 installation and included only A43, DD 11, and TI 2011 programs in the build. The basic PE build works fine on the surface but a major issue appears when trying to access mapped network shares from TI:

As you can see in the above picture, after successfully mapping a network share and being able to access it from the command prompt and from A43, the share appears as disconnected and inaccessible to TI. In reply #10, Mustang mentions clicking on the Authentication Settings button in TI. While I can see this button when running the Windows version of TI, I don't see it when running the WinPE recovery version. At the same time that TI claims that the network share is disconnected, it is fully functional in A43 or from a command prompt.

The second issue is minor. When starting A43 I get the following popup error message:

After dismissing the first, another appears. After dismissing the second, A43 runs normally. Do you see this in your build also?

Here are some experimental results from trying to fix this issue:

1. If A43.exe version 2.52 from the MustangPE2 build package is started in WinXP it starts and runs without the error messages.
2. When running MustangPE2, if you browse to X:\Program Files\Acronis\A43.exe and start their A43.exe (version 2.53), it starts with the same error messages.
3. Replacing the files A43.exe, A43.dat, and A43help.txt with the latest version 3.30 files downloaded from http://alterion.us/a43/ results in the same errors, so the errors are probably due to the PE environment itself. Running any version of a43.exe in WinXP or Win 7 works correctly.
4. Rebuilding MustangPE2 using WAIK 2.1 instead of WAIK 3.0 results in the error message changing to "The ordinal 249 could not be located..." instead of "The ordinal 171 could not be located..."

It's also interesting to note that a build of MustangPE2 created with WAIK 2.1 results in a final ISO that is 25% larger and takes twice as long to start up as a build created with WAIK 3.0

I've tested the experimental builds (PE 2.1 and PE 3.0) on Virtual PC and on my laptop, and both exhibit the above two issues.

I couldn't resist playing around a little with the desktop wallpaper. Cars are nice, but we're into horses here. The screen shot below shows part of our farm:

Attachment Size
53074-93355.png 164.75 KB
53074-93358.png 338.86 KB
53074-93361.png 1.29 MB
Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#19

Mark,

I haven't tried it in VPC/WVPC, but I'm not getting any errors starting A43 from my build in Workstation. Also, I usually don't bother with mapping a drive. I just type in the UNC (TI prompts for the name and password). I used the same builds in my test as you did.

I'll probably try a build on XP later and see what happens.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#20

Paul:

Thanks for the suggestion about typing in the UNC - that works. I then proceeded to back up my laptop, which has 30 GB of data on 3 partitions, to a network folder on WHS using TI 2011. It took 7 minutes to complete, so that's pretty decent. Did I mention that I really love the new SSD in the laptop?

I will try another build tomorrow with WAIK 3.0 in a Win 7 x86 VM instead of an XP VM to see if that fixes the A43 issues.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#21

Mustang/MudCrab:

Success this time. I did the build in a Win 7 x86 VM on Virtual PC 2007 using WAIK 3.0 and MustangPE2Builder. The funny issues with A43 are gone, and the networking credentials button in TI 2011 is now present.

For anyone wanting to do a WinPE build of TI 2011 and/or DD 11 I would highly recommend using WAIK 3.0 regardless of the Windows OS that you're running. WAIK 3.0 is based on the Windows 7 recovery ISO which is smaller than the Vista recovery ISO in WAIK 2.1, and it boots about twice as fast as a Vista-based PE build.

This is a screenshot showing the MustangPE desktop with four programs open simultaneously in a machine with only 512 MB of RAM. The desktop is rather cluttered but I wanted to show a portion of each program - the A43 file manager, Opera web browser, True Image 2011, and Disk Director 11:

The final ISO is 275 MB. The ISO can be burned to a CD but instead I have it copied to the boot partition on my laptop where it can be directly booted with Grub4DOS. It takes 58 seconds to start up. A43 file manager opens in 2 seconds, and DD 11, TI 2011, and Opera open in 3 sec. each.

The imaging speed with TI running in Windows PE is blazing fast when the .tib file is streamed across the network to another PC. Creating an image of the laptop, which has 30 GB of used space on several partitions, takes only 7 minutes - that's an imaging rate of 4.3 GB/min across the network.

Although you can create a WinPE build with the Acronis Media Builder, and there are several good tutorials posted on the forum here, I would highly recommend MustangPE. The Acronis builds are pretty bare-bones, but MustangPE lets you work in a more-familiar graphical environment with networking, a web browser, file manager, and the Acronis applications. Great job, Mustang!

Attachment Size
53214-93382.png 333.14 KB
Regular Poster
Posts: 8
Comments: 117

#22

Hi Paul

A welcome from me as well and seasons greetings

Good to see you back although I have to admit I have been away myself for awhile

Ironically I was having trouble with the Acronis WinPE builder and 2011 a couple of days ago (had no problem with the earlier ones) and your plugin is just what I needed. There was some slight problem with VIPRE but once I disabled it for the build it was OK

I added the resulting 2011 ISO to my GrubDos USB stick which has the earlier versions of TI built with your Builder also on it.

Hello and seasons greetings to GroverH, Mudcrab and the other stalwarts.

Keith

Frequent Poster
Posts: 2
Comments: 570

#23

Welcome back, Mustang!
Like the others, I was missing your special insight into various issues and thanks for providing your plug-ins.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#24

Mark,

Glad to hear it all worked out. Thanks for the great recommendation.

I think it's possible your earlier network issue using a mapped drive may be related to accessing a share in the "users" folder. Could you try the same setup using a share in the root folder instead to see if the Authentication Button appears?

Keith & Seek,

Good to hear from you and thanks for your comments.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#25

Paul:

The issue with the mapped drive appearing to be disconnected in the TI GUI also is present when I map \\server\Public, which does not require credentials to access. This is strictly a TI issue. The exact same thing happens with a WinPE build made with the PlusPack and TI 2011. This Acronis WinPE build also includes A43, and the mapped share works fine in A43 but is "disconnected" in the TI GUI.

You can make the authentication button appear by typing "\\server\" into the file name box in the "Browse for Location" dialog in TI, when connected to the network, at which point TI pops up the authentication dialog box and the button appears.

This isn't your issue - it's apparently by design. Bad design, IMHO. The button should always be visible.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#26

Mark,

Thanks for trying. I knew it was an Acronis problem, but was just curious about the user folder. Even when I got TI to backup to a mapped drive, the red X in the TI GUI didn't go away.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#27
thomasjk wrote:

Any chance of having a plugin for TI 2010?

Thomas,
A new free plugin for True Image Home 2010 has been posted to my website. It will only work with builds 7046 & 7154. For builds below 7046, there is an existing plugin that runs the full version of True Image Home 2010.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1132

#28

Great thanks. I appreciate your efforts.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#29

Using XP Pro, sp3
The good news is that I was able to create a 2011 Mustang version using the Vista WAIK as in past instances for 2010 and 2009. I have added SnagIt, IrfanView and NoteTabPro--same as earlier versions.

The bad news is that I uninstalled the Vista WAIK and installed the Win 7 version. When I created the winpe.iso, I looked iniside the Mount folder and there was NO Windows folder and NO Program Data folder. And, of course, the resulting CD failed to boot with the
error Status: 0xc000000f
The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.

If you need an image for your printable CD, here is one option which will fit a CD.

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 60

#30

Hi, I tried to download the True Image 2011 plugin, and it said it couldn't find it. Is the website down?
Also, is the Mustang PEBuilder 2 file "MustangPEBuilder_2_238.zip" the current version?
Thank You,
Paul Adrian.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#31

The links are pulling up okay for me. Have you tried again?

I'm not sure what the latest version is for the builder. I used 238, which was the latest version I have.

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 60

#32

I tried it again, and got the same 404 URL Not Found message. I'm running Firefox 3.6.13... I tried the download with IE-8... and it worked. That has me curious why Firefox won't find it, that's kind of bizarre...

I got it downloaded =)

Thanks! Paul Adrian.

Regular Poster
Posts: 4
Comments: 99

#33
Paul Adrian wrote:

I tried it again, and got the same 404 URL Not Found message. I'm running Firefox 3.6.13... I tried the download with IE-8... and it worked. That has me curious why Firefox won't find it, that's kind of bizarre...

I got it downloaded =)

Thanks! Paul Adrian.

Paul
Same for me, strange

Mustang
Welcome back, and thanks for the latest 2010 plugin

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1132

#34

I get a broken link for the 2010 Free plugin http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/%5C%5Cwww.mechrest.com%5Cplugins%5CMustangPEBuilder%5CDownloads%5CFiles%5CTIHome2010.zip in Firefox 3.6.13 and IE8.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#35

Try this link for the 2010 free plug in.

http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/Downloads/Files/TIHome2010.zip

 http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/Downloads/Files/TIHome2010.zip 

Try this link for the 2011 free plug in.

http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/Downloads/Files/TIHome2011.zip

 http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/Downloads/Files/TIHome2011.zip 

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#36

Grover,

Check your PM's for the link to download the latest version of MustangPEBuilder 2.0. I just tested it with WinXP/SP3 and WAIK 3.0 version 2, it worked fine..

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 60

#37

I have TIH-2011 working with both the Vista and Windows-7 AIK - and it works great. Thank You, Paul (Mustang) - you really did a great job on it!

One thing I did have to change is the location of the BartPE files in the "TIHome2011.ini" file. I had to change:
"C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files"
to:
"C:\Program Files\Acronis\Media Add-ons\BartPE\Files"
for it to work properly, as that is where they are loaded by default.

Thank You!
Paul Adrian.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#38

Just an update to my post #35 & #36.

I was able to create a working 2011 CD with the most recent PE Buoilder 2.0 using the Win7 WAIK 3.

Using the Win7 WAIK 3, my boot time related to PE improved from 4 minutes to 2-3/4 minutes.

Thank you Mustang for providing assistance.
Grover

Paul Adrian,
Somehow, I find that I have the BartPE files in both locations. I am not sure how they got in both except I have done both an install plus a repair. Folder dates does not help.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#39

Grover & Paul Adrian,

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad it worked for both of you.

The BartPE files can end up in different places depending on your install procedures. Installing on top can give different results than a clean install. Acronis can even change the default location from one build number to the next. I've been pulling my hair out for years because of this problem. It is normal to see the BartPE files in two locations. Installing the BartPE & Safe Media Add-On gives you one set of BartPE files. Installing the Plus Pack option gives you another set of BartPE files in a different location. Either set of files can be used to build a WinPE ISO. That's why I specify the file location in an ini file. The user can easily change the location to match their system.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#40

An additional update.

The initial MustangePE iso was created with the RAM option enabled, rather than work from CD. This Mustang iso was created using XP Pro & WAIK 3.

I have Grub4Dos installed on an internal Sata drive. I added the MustangPE 2011 ISO to the Grub4DosMenu.

Once I selected the 2011 entry from the Grub4Dos menu, the Mustang desktop loaded within 60 seconds. After clicking on the desktop shortcut for TI 2011, the TI Backup/Recovery menu loaded within 10 seconds ready for use.

You gotta be pleased with load times like that!
Grover

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 8

#41

Re: Windows 7 64-bit
ATiH 2010 w/Plus Pack, Build 7046
MustangPEBuilder2
Free Plugin for MPEB2/Acronis 2010 Build 7046 (and up)
Windows 7 WAIK

First of all, much gratitude to Mustang (Paul) for building this plugin and then making it available gratis. Very generous.

On two 7 x64 systems I have succeeded in producing an operational WinPE3 CD with A43, Total Commander and ATIH 2010; all function normally. But I would like to have my installed, corresponding Plus Pack incorporated as well — if possible.

On both systems the 'Bootable Rescue Media Builder' does successfuly produce the Plus Pack version on the linux Rescue CD.

On one system I reinstalled Plus Pack and confirmed that its BartPE files are copied to:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files

And this is the location to which I refered the TIHome2010 plugin.

I would grateful for any suggestions but would understand if this issue is a limitation of the plugin — many thanks!

Hans-Peter

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#42

Hans-Peter:

I can verify that MustangPE does produce an operational WinPE3 CD with the PlusPack version of TI 2011, but I don't have TI2010 to test the plugin for that version.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#43

In addition to what Mark has written, here a couple ways you can check.

1. When you click on the Mustang icon to start TrueImage, the picture will display Plus Pack.
2. If your check the help and about, it will list that Plus Pack is installed.
3. If you simulate a restore, when you select the Disks & Partitions option, you will also have an option which reads
____Use Acronis Unversal Restore

If you do not have it installed, read post #39 & #37 above for possible path answers.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#44

Hi Hans-Peter,

Getting the Plus Pack to work in WinPE is very easy. It only requires one entry in the WinPE registry. You need to see "powerpack" with a long number under HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImageHome. The plugin attempts to copy this value from your system registry during the build. Check the WinPE registry under the above key and report back. You should also see a value under "standard".

Is it possible you have a German version of TI 2010 installed? If you do, let me know where the "standard" and "powerpack" entires are shown in your registry.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 5

#45

It doesn't look very 'FREE' to me.

http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/index.html has lots of 'Buy now' buttons but no free downloads.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1132

#46

See post #35 above for the link to the free PLUGINS. Mustang's Pebuilder is not free but the plugins are.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 8

#47

Thanks to Mark and Grover for your replies. Paul has nailed the source of the problem. See below:

Paul — grateful for your response and detailed information. First, my name notwithstanding, the apps are the English versions, with EN in the installation executables.

You have pinpointed the problem: in my system The entries 'powerpack' and 'standard' (with their corresponding huge numbers) are not in HKLM ... \TrueImageHome. Rather, these are under "HKLM ... \TrueImage". No wonder the plugin isn't building a Plus Pack version.

As to the remedy: do you think I can simply add the keys 'powerpack' and 'standard' with their corresponding values to "TrueImageHome"?

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1498

#48

Hans-Peter,

My earlier post was wrong. The numbers should be under HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImage. Sorry for the confusion.

Sometimes the number of leading spaces before the number can cause a problem. I suggest you run regedit in your Windows system and copy the "powerpack" number to a text file. Put that text file in with the other BartPE files. Then build another MustangPE disk. Boot into MustangPE and run regedit. Now copy and paste the "powerpack" number to the PE registry under HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImage. Then see if TI 2010 runs with the Plus Pack option.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 8

#49

Paul: several questions:

1) Just the number for the 'powerpack' key goes into the text file (not 'powerpack' + number)?

2) What should this txt file be named?

3) The now properly named file above is saved to:C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files — yes?

4) To confirm the further steps: build a new CD; run it and open RegEdit > copy the 'powerpack' number from — where?

5) When (4) is copied correctly, still in RegEdit of the CD, paste the number into HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImage - powerpack, yes?

6) Your "Then see if TI 2010 runs with the Plus Pack option" — after building a new a CD?

Sorry to be eating up your time with my uncertainty.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 4263

#50

You can export the TrueImage key to a file, if you want. Just right-click it and select Export. Otherwise, just copy the powerpack data into a text file (you can use Notepad).

After you boot the CD, run regedit, browse to the TrueImage key, create the powerpack value if it doesn't exist (it's a string value), and copy & paste the data from the exported/saved file. Then start TI and see if the PP is working.