Skip to main content

Free MustangPE & Free Plugins For True Image Home 2011-2013 & Disk Director 11 Home

Thread needs solution
Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#51

Hans-Peter,

I can see you are extremely confused. Just follow these steps:

1. Open regedit in your Windows system.

2. In the left pane highlight HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImage.

3. In the File menu at the top of regedit, click Export.

4. In the dialog box that opens, navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files .

5. Name the file TI.reg and click the Save button. This will save a file called TI.reg in the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files .

6. Now build a new MustangPE CD with the TI 2010 plugin.

7. Boot the CD created in step 6.

8. Click on the regedit icon in the system tray on the left near the start menu.

9. In the left pane of regedit, highlight HKLM.

10. In the regedit menu at the top, click on Import.

11. In the dialog box that opens, navigate to X:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome.

12. Click on the file TI.reg and click on the Open button. This will import the file to the WinPE registry exactly as it was in your Windows system.

13. Close regedit.

14. Start TI 2010 while still in MustangPE and see if the Plus Pack shows.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

#52

Hey Paul,
Nice to see you around! I picked up your MustangPEBuilder back with Acornis 2009 and always good stuff!! I was trying to download both Acronis Disk Director 11 Home Plugin Free and Acronis True Image Home 2011 (With or Without Plus Pack) Plugin Free which ended up with a 404 page note found.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#53

Hi Danny,

Just keep trying. The links are working here.

Mustang

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 60

#54

Hi Danny, try using Internet Explorer - I had the same problem with Firefox, but IE worked okay for some reason.

Good Luck =)
Paul Adrian.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

#55

Mustang, Paul, It does appear to an issue with firefox as I tried IE without an issue.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

#56
GroverH wrote:

Using XP Pro, sp3
When I created the winpe.iso, I looked iniside the Mount folder and there was NO Windows folder and NO Program Data folder. And, of course, the resulting CD failed to boot with the
error Status: 0xc000000f
The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.

I also receive the same error on WAIK/WinPE 3.0 and when I checked the image it appears to have no boot.wim in the sources folder. I only noticed this error when you select the run from ram option. If you select run from cd option then it compiles everything correctly. I am using Win7x64 with ATI 2011+, DD 11 and WAIK/WinPE 3.0. I did install everything on an x86 system and still received the same error when creating a CD using the run from ram option.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

#57
GroverH wrote:

Using XP Pro, sp3
When I created the winpe.iso, I looked iniside the Mount folder and there was NO Windows folder and NO Program Data folder. And, of course, the resulting CD failed to boot with the
error Status: 0xc000000f
The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.

I also receive the same error on WAIK/WinPE 3.0 and when I checked the image it appears to have no boot.wim in the sources folder. I only noticed this error when you select the run from ram option. If you select run from cd option then it compiles everything correctly. I am using Win7x64 with ATI 2011+, DD 11 and WAIK/WinPE 3.0. I did install everything on an x86 system and still received the same error when creating a CD using the run from ram option. I use Undelete Pro which captures all files deleted from the HD that would not normally show up in the recycle bin. When browsing the winpe_x86 work directory I found winpe.wim which was only about 111k. I am by far no expert on this subject at all as an FYI. It appears as if the Mustangbuilder is creating a base winpe 3.0 cd. It's missing the step of copying winpe.wim to sources\boot.wim and adding the acronis files to the disk.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#58

Note posts #38 & 40. I was able to correct my problem (XP Pro of WAIK 3) using the most updated version. I don't know what is the most current for the 64 bit.

Note that Mustang writes in post #5 that the WAIK 3 used for Acronis in Win7 must be the 32 bit version WAIK.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#59

Danny,

Check your private messages for a link to the latest version of MustangPEBuilder. Download it and try again.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

#60
GroverH wrote:

Note posts #38 & 40. I was able to correct my problem (XP Pro of WAIK 3) using the most updated version. I don't know what is the most current for the 64 bit.

Note that Mustang writes in post #5 that the WAIK 3 used for Acronis in Win7 must be the 32 bit version WAIK.

Apparently I wasn't using the latest version of builder. I actually was looking for a version number and so I assumed I must have had the latest version. I did see your answers about using the 32 bit version of WAIK and that's why I had switched the machines. I am not as on the ball with this one as I usually am!

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#61

My Problems and solutions.

After a successful creation of the iso file, I was having troubles making it the CD work properly so I thought I would share my problems and how I successfully resolved my issues. This is XP Pro with 2011 TIH 7046 with PlusPack and Addin installed.

Issues:
1. When I booted the CD, the Acronis logo correctly displayed I had the PLus Pack, yet, when I looked at the help/about section, nothing displayed to indicate plus pack installed.

2. Also help/about showed the wrong build number even though when inside normal Windows or the user created Rescue CD, the correct build number was displayed.

3. Every time I tried to restore one single file, the restore would restore the entire folder of files and sometimes more than one folder. I can assure you, only one file selected to be restored.

How I resolved it.
My install included TrueImage; Addins; PlusPack. Upon examination of files, I found (as prior posts in this thread had noted) that I had BartPE files in 3 different folders and each folder had a different version of files.

I first tried to just match the folders and that was the wrong match. So finally, I deleted all 3 folders of BartPE files and did a repair install of the latest PlusPack. This installed into the normal 2011 ini file
Program Files=C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files
and then I copied the same set into the other two folders which was the mediabuilder and the Bootable componets.

So now, my BartPE was all up to date and the same set in all folders, I then created a new MustangPE CD and all the proper build was displayed and the PlusPack help/about was corrected; and the single files now copied as single files. Problem resolved.

Perhaps some of this does not make any sense but everything I was trying to fix seems to have been fixed.

I used both the first WAIK for XP plus I also used the WAIK for Win7 and problems existed on both and the corrections worked on both. As I had reported earlier, the Win7 WAIK has a much faster loadtime and TIH seems to work the same regardless of which WAIK file was used for creating the Rescue CD.

The Windows install was never an issue as the problems I have written about only occured when I was used the PE CD's created with the last issues of TI.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#62

Grover,

Thanks for posting your experience. This is a great example of the kinds of problems that are created by installing True Image on top of previous installations, even though Acronis tell us that you can. I've been writing WinPE (BartPE, VistaPE & MustangPE) plugins for many years. I have needed to know exactly where Acronis installs the files and what registry enties they make in order for these plugins to work. The problem with installing on top is that Acronis doesn't remove all the previous files. When they change locations of files (as they have consistantly done over the years) you can end up with duplicate files from different builds in different locations. You can also end up with registry entries that tell the program to look in two different locations for the same file. This can cause the program to malfunction. You should always remove all components (main program, Media-AddOns & Plus Pack) and manually check that all the files have been removed. I also remove the Acronis Software entries from the registry. I won't specify them here because you can get in trouble when Disk Director is installed. I also remove Acronis system files that are left behind as sometimes they are not overwritten by a new install and you end up with older versions.

This is such an important issue that I think a new thead should be created to explain the problem and keep track of people's experiences as they happen. This may also be a good topic for your Guides.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#63

Most of the time in the past, I have done a fresh install but did not do so the last build. As I had soo much trouble getting DD11-advanced installed, I did not tempt the uninstall because of DD11-adv was finally working. When the next build is released, maybe I will go back to a fresh install but this time I will know to check the files after the installation to make sure that each of the individiual componets have matching and most current files.

For those individuals that never install the Plus Pack; or never install the Safe version Add-ins option, this type problem has less chance of happening. When I do an uninstall, I always use a couple different registry cleaners so I usually catch most of the duplicate entries. With XP Pro (desktop), this was much easier. When I get to using Windows 7(laptop), this will become more difficult. I have also learned having a duplicate disk makes testing so much easier.

I have ample backup retention so a restore to a prior date is never a problem.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#64

I just visited your website, but found neither DD11 or TI2011 plugins for free. Where did you hide them?

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#65

The free plugins for Acronis programs are on the "Available MustangPEBuilder 2 Plugins" page at www.mechrest.com/plugins/MustangPEBuilder/MustangPEBuilderPlugins.htm .

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#66

MustangPEBuilder 2.0 is now available for free. It is provided in two versions. The first is for use with Microsoft's Automated Installation Kit (WAIK). The second is for use with Microsoft's Assessment and Deployment Kit (ADK). See my website at www.mechrest.com/plugins/index.html . The MustangPEBuilder 2.0 plugins for True Image Home 2010 through 2013 and Disk Director 11.0 remain free.

You can build a WinPE 2.0 or 3.0 recovery CD with Acronis products and added drivers using the WAIK version. You can build a WinPE 4.0 recovery CD with Acronis products and added drivers using the ADK version.

Forum Star
Posts: 46
Comments: 2760

#67

Paul

Thanks for all the hard work you have put into this product. I'm sure many here will use it, I know I will.

James

Forum Star
Posts: 49
Comments: 3750

#68

Fantastic! Thank you for doing this.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#69

Thank you Mustang for your generosity and investment of your personal time so other users could benefit from your expertise. The Mustang zip file includes a Readme files plus additional information inside a Docs folder. For me, here was my implementation:

I took your free download designed for a 32 bit computer and modified the paths as below for my 64 bit laptop. I included USB3 drivers for my USB3 hardware and the final result was a custom Mustang PE disk which will boot into the PE environment and allow me to start Acronis TIH 2013 with USB3 support. Hurray ! Whereas the standard Acronis LINUX Recover CD provides only USB2 support for my mix of hardware.

I had both ADK & WAIK installed on my Win 7 system but I believe I only needed the ADK. Nevertheless, I was successful in creating the TIH2013 Mustang disk with both installed.

The changes made by me were:

The WinPE.zip fle from the plus pack on my 64 but was located at
C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\WinPE.zip
must be unzipped into the path
C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE
The resulting path will be
C:\Program Files (x86)\ Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files\40 or so files.
The original Winpe.zip file must remain intact and in original position as put there by Acronis.

-----------------------------
The Mustang paths changed from 32bit to 64bit paths as 64 bit laptop being used.

Used Notepad to edit the following files.
\PlugIns\/TIHome2013\TIHome2013.ini file
Path changed from Program files to Program Files (x86)

MustangPEBuilder.ini file (
ADK path changed from Program files to Program Files (x86)
AutoIt path changed to
c:\MustangPEBulder_2\PlugIns\AutoIt3

AddPackages.ini file
Path changed from Program Files to Program Files (x86)

If any custom program added by user, the
BSExplorer\bs_desktop.ini file will need shortcuts pointing to the programs added.

AddDrivers.ini file had personal driver additions such as

[Driver Paths]
DRIVER1=C:\MustangPEBuilder_2\Drivers1\Renesas\nusb3xhc.inf
DRIVER2=C:\MustangPEBuilder_2\Drivers1\Renesas\nusb3hub.inf
DRIVER3=C:\MustangPEBuilder_2\Drivers1\Fresno32C\FLxHCIc.inf
DRIVER4=C:\MustangPEBuilder_2\Drivers1\Fresno32H\FLxHCIh.inf

Edited: Corrections
The Mustang program has copied mspack.dll into the WinPE build under X:\Program Files\TrueImageHome

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#70

Hi Grover,

Thanks for your results.

MustangPEBuilder will check to verify the paths when it is run. If the paths are wrong, it will pop up an input box asking the user to enter the correct paths and save them to the correct ini file. The TI plugins will do the same. No need to figure out which ini files need to be modified.

Your comment about where to extract the BartPE files from winpe.zip is correct. It is important to leave winpe.zip where you find it because Acronis will use the file if you have the plus pack and try to use thier WinPE ISO Builser.

Forum Star
Posts: 46
Comments: 2760

#71

Paul,

With the standard procedure to build a WinPE ISO (any version of WinPE and with at least 2012 and 2013, maybe older, too) using the Acronis WinPE builder or any manual method tried to date, a file is missing that is necessary to use the Plus Pack successfully when Universal Restore is needed. The File is "mspack.dll" and is found on installed copies of 2012/2013, but does not get put into the WinPE ISO. I have copied the file to the "mounted" .wim file into the Acronis program folder before dismount and commit and this seems to allow it to be found and work okay when Universal Restore is needed.

James

Forum Hero
Posts: 613
Comments: 8748

#72

I would like to offer my gratitude for your hard work Mustang, thank you very much.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#73

Thanks James.
I'll make the changes to my plugins adding mspack.dll and upload revised versions today.

Forum Star
Posts: 49
Comments: 3750

#74

Paul:

If you're making up new plugins anyway, would it be possible to include oledlg.dll? it's required to allow Western Digital's unlocker program to work to unlock their external drives. Grover and I have been working on a way to allow a bootable WinPE recovery environment to unlock such drives, as it's not possible from the Linux-based media.

In Win7 64-bit the 32-bit version is found at C:\windows\syswow64\oledlg.dll

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#75

James,

Mspack.dll is located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Home in a TI 2013 installation. I don't have TI 2011 or TI 2012 installed anywhere. Could you tell me where the file is located in TI 2011 and TI 2012?

Forum Star
Posts: 46
Comments: 2760

#76

If I remember correctly MsPack.dll is in the same location in 2012. I don't have 2011 installed currently, and can't provide the answer to that question, but I'm sure someone here still has 2011 installed and can find it for you.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#77

I have TI 2011 installed on a PC running Windows 7 64-bit.

Mspack.dll is not present in a TI 2011 install with the PlusPack. The only dll in the similar folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome is the one for Try and Decide, tdrpapi.dll.

There is a drivers pack at C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\UniversalRestore\DriversPack\MSSCSI but it's for a SCSI miniport driver and contains:
vmadd_msvmscsi_sys.cat
msvmscsi.inf
msvmscsi.sys

See reply 80.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#78

I found these inside my backups and plus pack should have been installed.

In 2012-7119 xp pro 32 bit, the file was stored inside my backup at
Program files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Common\mspack.dll

In the 2011 64 bit version of Windows 7, it was located at
Program files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Common\mspack.dll

Forum Hero
Posts: 69
Comments: 6347

#79

I have ATIH 2011 Plus installed (Windows7 Home Premium x64).

C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Common

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#80

It is indeed - I stand corrected. Thanks, Grover and G. Uphoff.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1131

#81

Paul, thanks for making your plugins and PEbuilder available for free. The link for the 2010 plugin seems to be broken.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#82

Thanks for the path to mspack.dll info. I should have all I need.

Thomas,
The link is working here. Make sure you download using Internet Explorer. My ISP seems to have trouble with other browers.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#83

The 2010 download works when using Opera but no download appears when using Firefox 16-17.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#84

New versions of the plugins for TI 2011, TI2012 and TI2013 have been uploaded. They should work on 32 bit and 64 bit systems and place mspack.dll in the WinPE build under X:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome.

Forum Star
Posts: 46
Comments: 2760

#85

I've reported the MSPack.dll problem to Acronis, but have never heard anything about a fix from them. Thanks for making this much easier.

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#86

http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/index.html

Visited the Mustang website above and downloaded both the program and then downloaded the TI 2013 PLUGIN.

Added my my own custom drivers (as per post #69 above and the result was a successful MustangPEBuilder_2 CD with USB3 support.
TrueImage 2013 installed with the included MSPack.dll.

Very neat and very nice.
Thank you Mustang for all that time you spent helping the forum participants.
Grover

Edited: Link corrected.

Forum Star
Posts: 9
Comments: 1131

#87
Mustang wrote:

Thanks for the path to mspack.dll info. I should have all I need.

Thomas,
The link is working here. Make sure you download using Internet Explorer. My ISP seems to have trouble with other browers.

IE worked OK. I thought the days of browser incompatibilities were long gone. Thanks again Paul.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#88

A new version of the TI Home 2013 MustangPEBuilder plugin has been uploaded. It includes 18 more missing dll files. I found them by profiling True Image 2013 using Dependency Walker from with WinPE. I don't have any way to determine if these missing dll's would have caused any problems. Just thought I'd be safe. BTW, I did see the call for MSpack.dll during the profiling.

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 9251

#89

Thank you very much Mustang.

I just created my first MustangPE disk with all your plugins. Thanks for Grover's #69 post I easily updated the paths for my x64 system.

Great stuff!

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#90

tuttle,

I'm very sorry, but somehow I missed your post yesterday. I new version of the TI Home 2013 plugin has been uploaded including oledlg.dll.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#91

Pat L,

When you say you've included all my plugins, did you mean you put all the TI Home plugins in the same WinPE build? It's not a good idea to use more than one TI plugin in the same build. It may work now with versions TI Home 2010, TI Home 2011, TI Home 2012 and TI Home 2013, but sooner or later it will cause a conflict and one or more of the programs will not work properly. I recommend you only include one version of TI and one version of Disk Director. Use separate WinPE disks for each version of TI.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#92

James,

Thanks again for the mspack.dll tip. I just completed  a successful Universal Restore recovery of Windows 8 to different hardware. I used the ADK version of MustangPEBuilder created under Windows 8 with TI Home 2013 to do the restore. 

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 9251

#93

Mustang,

I included TI, Total Commander, Opera, IrfanView, A43. Sorry about the confusion. I understand these are not all "your" plugins per se :-)

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#94

Pat,

Glad to hear it. Good job.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#95

Paul, James, Pat, Grover:

I finally got the time to do a new build using MustangPEBuilder_2_ADK (latest version downloaded today) along with TI 2013 build 5551 w/PlusPack, DD 11 build 2343, A43 v2.52, and Opera v12.12 using Mustang's latest plugins. The build was done using the Windows 8 ADK on a 32-bit Windows 7 VM running in VMWare Player with TI 2013 w/Plus Pack and DD 11 installed. The resultant ISO is 332,322 kB.

Has anyone seen any of the following issues?

1. The desktop wallpaper shows up as MustangPE is booting and then goes to a plain black background after the boot process has completed.

2. Right-clicking on a file in A43 file manager causes a memory exception "The instruction at 0x77b665e0 referenced memory at 0x00000208. The memory could not be read." A43 then exits. This does not happen when right-clicking on a file with an associated application like .txt

3. When running TI the browse lists show the user as "System" (as it should). But clicking on any folder associated with "System" causes the same memory exception (different instruction address but same memory location referenced).

4. After mapping a drive using "net use z: ...." the mapped drive shows up correctly in A43 but does not appear in the TI 2013 browse lists until you start typing the path in the dialog box. TI 2011 did this when it was first released but Acronis fixed it in a later build.

DD11 and Opera appear to be fine. None of these issues appear in my older build of MustangPE that was done using WAIK and PE3.0 with DD 11 and TI 2011. Do any of you see any of these?

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

#96

Item 1 is normal. The problem relates to the old program menu builder. Mustang indicated it may never be corrected. It is only with the ADK version.

I have not had any of the memory issues with the Mustang disk but have had similar issues on my computer associated with both the Windows build and associated with the regular CD but mostly with the Windows build.

I do not have disk director installed but do have plus pack installed. The ADK will not work on xp systems--at least not mine with xp pro. I have not had the memory issues with the WAIK version whether used on Xp or Win 7.

Forum Hero
Posts: 613
Comments: 8748

#97

Mark,

i wonder if Disk Director is a problem as it isn't W8 compatible it might not be WinPE 4 compatible either.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#98

Mark,

1. The wallpaper is an issue with WinPE 4.0 that is used in the ADK. I had a hard time changing the wallpaper because winpe.jpg has a high level of protection and can't be replaced. I finally got the wallpaper changed by editing the winpe registry to use Mustang.bmp instead of winpe.jpg. This is why you see Mustang.bmp during the boot process. However, when the BSExplorer shell is stated the wallpaper disappears. That didn't happen in previous versions of winpe. I can't figure out why this is happening or how to fix it. As a test, I tried using another shell (BBox) and the wallpaper worked fine. We'll just have to live with this for now.

2 - 4. I don't see any of these issues. How are you running MustangPE when they occur? Are you booting a physical computer or a VM? I tested mapping a network drive in both a physical computer and a VM (VirtualBox) and the mapped drive showed properly in TI without typing in the dialog box.

Forum Star
Posts: 19
Comments: 2110

#99

Grover:
Thank you for the comments and suggestions.

Colin:
Ironically DD 11 is one of two applications that appear to run flawlessly in WinPE4.0

Paul:
I'm running MustangPE on a physical computer. I don't have access to a newer VM that will boot WinPE4.0 so I have to test on a physical PC.

I understand about the wallpaper - not an important issue. The memory exceptions I'm seeing with the file manager A43 also occur when running the copy of A43 that's part of TI 2013 and is located at X:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\A43.exe, so it's not related to your A43 plugin.

Just noticed that the browse issue with TI 2013 isn't limited to mapped drives. It also occurs when trying to browse "Computer" - nothing shows up until a drive letter is typed then it starts working.

To rule out bad downloads or glitches I built another MustangPE ISO on my work PC downloading everything fresh and the outcome is exactly the same. It must be some problem that is common to the way I'm doing this on both PCs but so far I don't know what.

Forum Star
Posts: 45
Comments: 1489

#100

Mark,

Here's something to try. In the past I have seem issues like this with TI solved by adding shfolder.dll to the winpe build. Please build again and pause the build and add shfolder.dll to c:\winpe_x86\mount\Windows\System32. I tested adding shfolder.dll here and everything seems to be working normally. If this works for you, I'll put up a new version of the TI2013 plugin that includes the file.