Skip to main content

TIH 2014 recovery failures

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 8

I've been using TIH 2014 on Windows quite happily since it was the current product.  I've restored numerous files from file and folder backups and my son used his copy to migrate from a HDD to an SSD in his old laptop without issue.

He's changed laptops now to an Asus with a hybrid drive, which turns out to be a small M2 SSD with the boot volume on it and a 1TB HDD for data.  Due to a failed install the system was left in an indeterminate state and he tried to restore the system partition to recover.  That failed with the log showing the "Index Corrupted".  Rather annoyingly the previous log entries show that the MBR was recovered [Operation 57], the partition was deleted and recovery started sector by sector [Operations 17, 12 and 12].

That failure left the machine in an unusable state as the boot volume was basically empty.  This error occurred on each backup set that he tried.

The other interesting point is that he recently moved his backup sets from a 2TB external drive to a 4TB external drive.  They were verified as being good after copying.

I understand from other posts here that the recovery media [he used bootable USB] is Linux based, so I wondered if, due to its age, it wasn't able to cope with the hybrid drive concept and crashed out - making the corrupt index a bit of a red herring. 

The other thought I had was that the Linux install wasn't given the LBA support for drives over 2TB in size and so the corrupt index was a reference to the fact that the data returned was not what it expected.  If that is the case, I'm using the same software on a 3TB drive, so will have to solve the same problem.  File and folder restores are done from within Windows, which has LBA support of course.

TIH 2018 uses WinPE for recovery media, and should have LBA and hybrid drive support built in, being that much newer, so is the answer to just upgrade..?

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 46
Comments: 15714

Orinoco, welcome to these User Forums.

Sorry to hear of the problem with Asus laptop and hybrid drive scenario.

One issue here is that ATI 2014 is not officially supported by Acronis for use with Windows 10 as documented in KB 56196: Windows 10 support in Acronis products where it states:

Older versions of Acronis products 
Support of Windows 10 will not be implemented into older versions of Acronis products (e.g. Acronis True Image 2014 or older ....

The other issue may be with support for the M.2 SSD drive in the ATI 2014 Linux Rescue Media as support for these NVMe drives was not added until later versions of ATI unless you were using the Windows PE version of the Rescue Media and injected any required device drivers for such support.

The size of the external drive (2TB versus 4TB) should not be an issue here as far as I am aware.  Such limitations are caused by the underlying partition structure, i.e. MBR has a limit of 2TB but GPT partitions can far exceed this.  See webpage: Understanding the 2 TB Limit in Windows Storage for more information.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 8

Thanks for the welcome Steve.

We've never had any issues with ATI 2014 and Win 10.  The upgrade compatibility checker didn't flag it all that time ago and the migration from HDD to SSD in the earlier laptop worked fine under Win 10.  Lucky us.. :)

I think the sensible answer is to upgrade to 2018 and make use of the WinRE recovery media which will support the newer hardware, and also Win 10.  I'll be taking the simple option for building the recovery media

I looked at the link about 2TB vs 4TB but sadly the detail went over my head.  I'll take your word for the fact it isn't an issue.

We started with the Seagate disk tools, upgraded to 2014 and will now upgrade to 2018.  I'm sure my son would rather I bought 3 standard licences so he doesn't have to install in sequence......

Legend
Posts: 46
Comments: 15714

Please see the following from the ATIH 2018 User Guide installation section:

Upgrading from old versions of Acronis True Image

If your current version of Acronis True Image is Acronis True Image 2016 or Acronis True Image 2017, the new version will simply update it; there is no need to remove the old version and reinstall the software. If your current version is older, we recommend that you remove the current version, first.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 8

In what was a case of famous last words - "We've never had any issues with ATI 2014 and Win 10."

The uninstall of ATI 2014 did not go well.  The uninstaller said "No True Image components found".  Fortunately the clean-up utility did its thing perfectly and I was able to install a new copy of ATI 2018, import my old backups and reset things like the file retention policies etc to how I had them before.

Thanks Steve for the help.

Legend
Posts: 46
Comments: 15714

Glad to hear that the cleanup utility did the job for you and you have ATI 2018 installed OK.