Skip to main content

True Image 2015 License Transfer

Thread solved
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

I had a computer that has True Image 2015 on it have a motherboard failure. I have another computer that I want to transfer the license to but as I follow the transfer wizard I get an error message after inputting my login credentials. The error says "Failed to connect to the Acronis server. Check your internet"  My internet is fine and my firewall is not blocking the connection. I tried transferring  the license directly from my account on the web but I get an "Error 500" after inputting my credentials. Was anyone else had this issue and been able to make the transfer work?

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Moderator
Posts: 242
Comments: 7045

Hello Douglas,

welcome to Acronis forums! Please try setting up the firewall exclusions per the article https://kb.acronis.com/content/45522 and let me know if that helps.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Hello Ekaterina,

Added the exception as described to my firewall but it did not fix the issue. I then actually shut off my firewall at both my local machine and my router but neither one helped. I still cannot transfer my license. What other options should I try?

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

I still need a solution to this issue or someone at Acronis that can help.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Douglas, I have just tried to install ATI 2015 on one of my test VM's and am also not able to sign in to my Acronis account when trying to move a license from an old machine!

The error is shown as 'The certification server is unavailable. Check your Internet'

My internet is working just fine as I just downloaded the ATI 2015 installer from Acronis in order to do the test!

In my opinion this is definitely an Acronis issue that only they can resolve by sorting out their certification server.

Ekaterina, please can you escalate this issue!

Douglas, you can also open a support case directly with Acronis Support using the Non-technical support option for Activation / Licensing issues.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

I have already opened a ticket in the section you noted but have not gotten any response since I input the ticket yesterday. Hopefully I will soon. I assume you also put in a ticket and will let me know if they respond to you. Stay in touch.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 23

I have similar problems. Have a 3 PC TrueImage 2016 license.
Want to move one of them to a new PC (old PC not available more).
But can't do that as login fails (while setting up SSL) on all my computers.
Acronis refuses to help with both the login and licence move because the product is "expired".
But the login has never worked - and there are no other ways to move licenses.
What crappy support. So much for a lifetime license.

Anyone have any ideas?

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Lars-Erik, please raise this issue directly with Arpita Ghosh <Arpita.Ghosh@acronis.com> who is the Acronis Senior Product Manager for True Image / Cyber Protect Home Office.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Douglas Diehl wrote:

I have already opened a ticket in the section you noted but have not gotten any response since I input the ticket yesterday. Hopefully I will soon. I assume you also put in a ticket and will let me know if they respond to you. Stay in touch.

Douglas, I am still waiting on my ticket number / response but I have also raised this issue by email with Arpita Ghosh to raise the focus with multiple users being impacted!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Steve Smith wrote:
Douglas, I am still waiting on my ticket number / response but I have also raised this issue by email with Arpita Ghosh to raise the focus with multiple users being impacted!

I also sent an email to Arpita Ghosh when I saw your suggestion. I guess we will see if she responds. 

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Case number & reply received this morning as below:

Thank you for contacting Acronis Customer Central. My name is Ankit Manwatkar.

As I understand, you are unable to transfer the Acronis True Image 2015 license. 

I would like to inform you that, the Acronis True Image 2015 is marked as an obsolete version and we no longer provide technical assistance for the Acronis True Image 2015 version.

The case number for your future reference is 05640892.

I have replied:

Hello Ankit,

This support case is not seeking any technical assistance with an obsolete Acronis product!

It has been raised because the Acronis certification server that is required to move a valid Acronis license for ATI 2015 is not available meaning that users with such valid licenses cannot sign in to their Acronis accounts nor manage their licensed products.

This is seeking support for licensing and activation issues that are completely out of control of the end user as they derive from Acronis background servers.

I raised this case as an Acronis MVP seeking to help other users reporting the same issue in the Acronis Forums, and I have also contacted the Acronis Product Manager, Arpita Ghosh (copied) for this issue because it is causing further bad publicity for Acronis by denying users the ability to do the above.

Third party sellers are still selling these older Acronis products and now they cannot be activated due to an Acronis certification server issue.  This needs to be resolved as a matter of urgency and if you cannot action this yourself, then I expect this issue to be escalated to your higher support or management.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Further exchange of emails with Acronis for my support ticket.

Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your email.

I completely understand your concern however, we would not be able to assist you with this issue. This is a technical issue as you are getting error message. 

I will now mark this case as closed and please know we would be happy to do whatever we can do to create your success. If we get an opportunity to assist you in the future, we will do our best to ensure your experience is pleasant with Acronis.

My reply, copied to Acronis contacts:

Hello Ankit,

Sorry but it is very obvious that you do not completely understand my concern over the removal of the Acronis certification server that now prevents valid license holders from managing their licenses or  activating these when they wish to move them to another system in accordance with the published KB documents issued by Acronis.

KB 48380: Acronis True Image 2015: "You've exceeded the maximum number of activations for this serial number"

KB 56553: Acronis True Image 2016: "You've exceeded the maximum number of activations for this serial number"

The error message that you refer to is only given when the user tries to sign in to their Acronis Account from within the ATI GUI in order to action the above KB instructions.  User are not seeking any technical support with these older product versions, just wanting to use them for the purpose they were purchased for.

This response refusing to acknowledge that this issue comes from changes made by Acronis speaks volumes of a lack of honesty and integrity on the part of Acronis!

If Acronis no longer wish to allow users with perpetual licenses to still manage / use / activate these then they should publish this fact in an open and transparent way, not refuse to explain that this is now the new policy that Acronis have adopted and that 'perpetual' no longer means anything meaningful.

As an Acronis MVP I have to say that I am more than disappointed with the way Acronis has handled this change and I shall be advising any affected users that I deal with to seriously consider looking at other solutions if they do not wish to move away from using perpetual licensed products.

This case may have been marked as closed but as far as myself and other users are concerned it is yet another reason to look to such as Macrium Reflect and similar competitive backup solutions who do still offer perpetual licenses and respect their users.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

A further, more positive response received today from the Acronis Lead Program Manager.

Thank you for highlighting the issue.
We urgently investigated the problem with our team.

Reason of the issue:

Acronis updated cloud servers to authenticate users using only newer and more secure connection methods and reject connections that use older less secure methods.
We value all customers, including customers of older versions of the product.
That's why we rebuilt all versions of the product since Acronis True Image 2017 at the beginning of the year to support this important change.
Details about this change can be found here: https://kb.acronis.com/content/69830

Taking into account the use of old versions of the product and the technical limitations of our internal infrastructure, we have decided not to upgrade a product version older than Acronis True Image 2017.

The login operation is not required for older versions of Acronis True Image, and the perpetual license can be successfully used without logging in. That is why most of our customers do not have any issue with license activation.

But, you are right, authorization is required to transfer a customer license to another computer.

How to transfer the license?

If you are using the program older than Acronis True Image 2017, you should use the offline activation flow to move your license.

Steps are as follows:

  1. Turn off the Internet connection on the computer and go to the "Account" tab.
    Click “Activate offline” button.
    image 938
  2. The program will generate an installation code. It uniquely identifies the computer where Acronis True Image is installed and what license key was specified.
    Save your installation code to a file by clicking the “Save to file” button.
  3. Turn on the internet connection and navigate to http://www.acronis.com/activation/.
    Enter the installation code generated in the previous step.
  4. Select “Move license” and follow the instructions on the screen. image 939

On behalf of the Acronis team, I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the handling of your support ticket.

We will prepare the necessary documentation to handle this and similar cases in the future.

It would be great if Douglas & Lars-Erik could try the above approach to see if this will resolve the issue for you?  I have tried this with my VMware test Win 10 VM but regardless of disabling all internet access and even removing the virtual network adapter, I never get to see the option to 'Activate offline', and do not have a spare physical machine that I can try this on!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

This method worked for me and my license has been transferred to my replacement computer. I find it disappointing that it took this much correspondence with Acronis to finally get this answered. As far as I am concerned, this is a solution that works. I will mark it as a solution unless anyone has an issue with this.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Douglas Diehl wrote:

This method worked for me and my license has been transferred to my replacement computer. To get this to work though, I had to uninstall the software and then use my CD to reinstall it with my ethernet cable disconnected. Since it could not get to the internet to check my license, the off-line activation button appeared. At that point, I used the procedure for off line activation using another computer and it worked. I was able to remove the license from the broken computer and then use the new code to activate the "off line" computer. I then plugged in my network cable and everything was fine.

This procedure was suggested to me a few days ago but I could not get it to work because the "activate off-line" button never showed. Reinstalling the software without network connection is what was the key for me as I note above.

Hopefully this will work for you guys as well if you still have your original CD.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Douglas, thanks for your further feedback with the method that worked for you.  I suspect that I might need to adopt the same approach with my VM system just to complete the testing from my part.  I have an outstanding question with Acronis asking if there is another way of triggering the 'Activate offline' process for when that option is not shown?  The button is calling code to generate the required code, so my thinking is that this should be possible (if Acronis will divulge the correct method to do so!).

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28771

Just for completeness and to close out this discussion. 

The following process can be used to trigger the Activate Offline option to be shown.

  1. Disconnect the computer from the network / internet.
  2. Launch the ATI GUI and open the Account panel.
  3. Click on the option to Resolve the activation issue.
  4. Select that ATI has been installed on a new computer.
  5. Select to Enter a new serial number
  6. Enter the serial number and click on the Activate button.
  7. When the Activation complete panel is shown, click on 'Back to True Image'
  8. The Account panel should now show the Activate offline option as the previous activation has failed due to a connection error (no internet).
  9. Click on Activate offline and either copy of Installation code shown or save it to file.
  10. On another compute go to https://www.acronis.com/activation/
  11. Enter or paste the Installation code from step 9 then click on Get Activation code
  12. Select to Move license from another computer and Continue.
  13. Sign in to your Acronis Account
  14. Select the computer to move the license from and click on Move License
  15. Copy the Activation code or save it to a file.
  16. Return to the first computer and enter the Activation code then click on Activate.
  17. The Account panel should now show ATI is activated.

See the attached zip file with screen shots of the above steps.

Attachment Size
611999-356960.zip 806.33 KB
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Thanks Steve for taking the time to make a step by step procedure to make the transfer. I am sure it will help others who have (or will have) this issue.