Skip to main content

Wake Timer

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 3

I'm using TI with Windows 7. When I schedule a backup for 2AM, it doesn't start until I wake the computer in the morning. I have the "wake the computer" check box checked. I have confirmed that wake up timers are enabled in power options. After all this, it still doesn't run the backup till I wake it up. Help?
Thanks.
Russ

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 9257

Russ,

I am assuming you are trying to wake the computer from S1 (standby), not from hibernation S3.

First, let's try to wake up your computer with a Windows task scheduler task. Just create one that shows a basic message, schedule it and check the option to wake up the computer.
If that task wakes up the computer, then there is a problem with ATI. If not there is a problem with Windows.
To fix the former case, try uninstalling ATI and reinstall it.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 3

Thanks, yes from standby although in Windows 7, I believe it's actually called "hybrid sleep." Although I am fairly computer proficient and know how to schedule tasks, what's the easiest way to create a task that shows a message as you mention?
Thanks.

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 9257

Search for task scheduler from the start menu in Win7. launch task scheduler.
In the top menu "action", choose create basic task.
Go through the wizard to name your task, schedule it and choose "display a message". Fill both the message title and window.
Once the task is created, right click on click to choose properties and edit the conditions tab to wake up the computer.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 3

Thanks. Before I tried the create message routine as you suggested, I did what another user recommended - I deleted my current backup routine and made a new one. So far, as of day one, it did open at 2AM and run as scheduled. I remember it worked as well when I originally made my backup routine, but then stopped working after I editted the settings to change the run time. Perhaps that's an issue. I'll let you know what happens.
Thanks again,
Russ

Forum Hero
Posts: 87
Comments: 9257

Russ,

Indeed, in general, ATI is fragile when editing backup tasks. Whenever you edit a core backup setting (backup scheme, name, retention rules, or destination) you defintely have to create a new task to avoid issues. I thought you should be fine editing the schedule (which is handled by the ACronis scheduler) and I have never had issues with that. It is possible that the wake up option is still a problem. Let us know.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 3

I've confirmed my finding. Setting a new task with schedule indeed wakes the computer as scheduled, however, if I then change the time for the scheduled backup to occur, it will not wake the computer after that.
Russ

Forum Star
Posts: 49
Comments: 3751

Thanks for testing that. This is frustrating. ATI has had issues with editing tasks going back at least to version 11 (not 2011, but version 11 from several years ago).

Forum Star
Posts: 49
Comments: 3751

edit: double posted somehow

Forum Star
Posts: 8
Comments: 1344

Tuttle,
This is helpful information. I recently installed build #6154 and made a 1 hr change (edit) to a tasks scheduled run time after the task was created. Thusfar, the system will not wake from sleep to run a scheduled task. I'll have to test this.

Thanks

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 6

ATI issues with editing tasks which then will not start as scheduled still applies to ATI 2021. Recreating a task is all very well but that means the backup is recreated from scratch and that can take an inordinate amount of time on a slow internet connection. Consequently it seems to me that I have to now no longer use online backups.

Or - is there a way of updating a task and kick starting it to use the existing backup base?

Forum Moderator
Posts: 186
Comments: 6067

Hello Brian,

you can remove the backup plan from the UI (In the Backup section, click the down arrow icon next to the backup to delete, and then click Delete. Select Delete the backup box only. When you delete a backup box only, the backup files remain in the location and you will be able to add the backup to the list later)  and then re-add it to the list  After that you can re-configure the newly added backup plan and continue backing up to the same archive. 

However, if the issue is reproducible on your system and you have some time for the investigation, I'd strongly recommend opening a support ticket, so that our engineers can find the root cause and fix it.