Skip to main content

Cannot recover individual files ATI 2020 for Mac

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hi.  I am running Mac OS Catalina 10.15.4, and Acronis True Image 24.6.25760.  I cannot restore individual files from my external USB backup drive.

I have tied to restore individual files in various folder on my Mac from my external USB Acronis backups drive.  I open the GUI and elect the "Recovery Tab", then a file, then "Recover".  In every case I get the message: 

"Recovery from /Volumes/[External Drive Name]/[BackupName].tibx failed.  View log for details: /Library/Logs/Acronis/ti_Demon/. The specified file does not exist."  Copy of the log file follows after this note.

A full backup takes about 3.5 hours to complete, so I would think that all files are being backed up.

If I go to the "Recovery" drop down menu (top right of Mac screen) and select "Recover Files from Existing Backup..." all folders are visible and all files, but all files are greyed out and cannot be selected by that method.  Screenshot attached.

If I check the Activity log (via the GUI tab "Activity") it shows "successfully recovered..." but Files recovered = 0.  Screenshot attached.

Copy of log file:

2020-04-11T12:18:56:012+08:00 4717669824 I00000000: -----
2020-04-11T12:18:56:012+08:00 4717669824 I00000000: ATI Demon started. Version: 24.6.1.25760.
2020-04-11T12:18:56:015+08:00 4717669824 I013C0006: 7DC763A6-1484-4B74-A3F0-0569736980F0
2020-04-11T12:18:56:020+08:00 4717669824 I00640002: Operation Acronis Backups 2020.tibx started manually.
2020-04-11T12:18:56:021+08:00 4717669824 I00640000: Operation description: Acronis Backups 2020.tibx.
2020-04-11T12:18:56:269+08:00 4717669824 I013C0000: Operation: Recovery
2020-04-11T12:18:56:269+08:00 4717669824 I0064000B: Priority changed to Low.
2020-04-11T12:18:56:294+08:00 4717669824 E00000000: Error 0x40011: The specified file does not exist.
| line: 0x22b5b1228334580d
| file: /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/archive/impl/operations/archive3/restore_operation.cpp:374
| function: PrepareFileParams
| line: 0x22b5b1228334580d, /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/archive/impl/operations/archive3/restore_operation.cpp:374, PrepareFileParams
| $module: ti_demon_macia64_25760
2020-04-11T12:18:56:294+08:00 4717669824 E00040011: Error 0x40011: The specified file does not exist.
| trace level: error
| line: 0x22b5b1228334580d
| file: /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/archive/impl/operations/archive3/restore_operation.cpp:374
| function: PrepareFileParams
| line: 0x22b5b1228334580d, /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/archive/impl/operations/archive3/restore_operation.cpp:374, PrepareFileParams
| $module: ti_demon_macia64_25760
2020-04-11T12:18:57:070+08:00 4717669824 E013C0005: Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.
| trace level: error
| line: 0x9f2c53c72e8bced8
| file: /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/demon/main.cpp:738
| function: main
| line: 0x9f2c53c72e8bced8, /private/bs_hudson/workspace/master/125/product/products/imager/demon/main.cpp:738, main
| $module: ti_demon_macia64_25760

 

Can anyone assist?

 

 

1 Users found this helpful
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

#1

I have exactly the same problem!

Forum Moderator
Posts: 147
Comments: 5449

#2

Hello Everyone,

first of all, please make sure you've followed instructions from https://www.acronis.com/support/documentation/ATIMAC2020/index.html#28337.html on how to create a recovery task. I'd also suggest reinstalling the software, if you haven't already tried this. Should the issue persist, please follow the steps from Troubleshooting Issues with Corrupt Backups article. 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

#3

I believe the problem is that you must select a "Recover to" location.  However, the text in step 5 of the Recovering Your Files instruction, which states:

"[Optional step] By default, the selected files or folders will be recovered to the original location. To recover to a custom location, click Change and browse to the location that you want to use for the recovery."

Once you click on "Change" and select a restore location all works well.

Perhaps Acronis should modify the wording of Step 5, or modify ATI to comport with the instruction as written.

Forum Moderator
Posts: 147
Comments: 5449

#4

Russell, thank you for sharing an update on the issue! I'll pass this scenario to our product team for review. It'd look to me that Recovery to original location shouldn't require any additional inputs from the user, maybe we need to re-check this scenario.