Skip to main content

Need to change payment processors - cleverbridge not working

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 3

We are having a very vexing problem with the not-so-aptly named "Clever"bridge payment processor.

We have a long history of using Acronis products in our company. We are having a serious server issue and are trying to purchase backup & restore server windows with universal restore.

I attempted to put the charge through on American express, and No-so-Clever bridge falsely claimed that the credit card charge was not authorized. Untrue. I called AMEX and they say there WAS NO charge attempt. They denied nothing and nothing was requested. So I tried again and not-so-Cleverbridge again falsely claimed that the payment request was denied.

I switched to Visa and again not-so-Cleverbridge falsely claimed the charge had been refused. Called visa, they never saw the charge attempt.

Emailed cleverbridge about this several times with no response overnight.

I tried to use a Paypal link on the purchase page, imagine my dismay when I saw that this, too, was being handled by the jokers at Cleverbridge. Of course, they send some generic "Payment not authorized" response. Don't even give the opportunity to try to pay with paypal, they just reject it.

These guys obviously have no clue as to what represents a genuine charge and what's a fraudulent charge. Really infuriating for a long-time customer of Acronis trying to get access to needed technology on an urgent basis. If this is what can be expected of accessing Acronis technology when in a pinch, we should re-evaluate if Acronis is the best solution.

Why don't you guys drop Cleverbridge as your payment processor, or at least offer another option for times when they prove completely incompetent?

Thanks

J

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Posts: 88
Comments: 4769

#1

Hello J,

Thank you very much for your post and we are very sorry that you have experienced this issue with Cleverbridge.

I would like to recommend you a couple of workarounds until you receive a response from Cleverbridge. You can also contact their support by phone just in case.

You can contact our Sales team from this number +1 877 669-9749 or use our reseller locator from this link.

We would really appreciate if you could keep us posted about this issue and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 3

#2

Thanks for looking into this Anton.

I telephoned the sales number but the person handling that has stepped out for a moment. I dont mind trying again later.

However also can I ask, are any of the options listed (bank transfer, check, etc.) on the webpage a non-cleverbridge method? If so, I'd like to try that. I have had issues with the cleverbridge folks before with other purchases and it's very frustrating trying to work with them. So, at this point I just would prefer a method that doesnt involve them. Their emails say initially "Your order is undergoing manual processing." suggesting there are human beings working there. Then, 15-20 minutes or so later, another email comes saying "The credit card was declined". Even though this was untrue. If human beings are there, able to send these rejection emails, why can't they also respond to emails letting them know their decision to falsely claim that the credit card was declined was in error and helping to sort that out?

Anyway, this product would be useful to us if we can manage to purchase it in a reasonably soon time frame, otherwise it would probably be best for us to just start a new server from scratch or look for a different solution for the current issue we're working with.

Thanks again for looking into this and for the info.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

#3

Hello J,

I apologize for the frustration this situation has caused. Your matter has been escalated for handling to a customer support manager and has been given immediate attention. You will be receiving an email shortly with a further explanation and solution regarding this matter. We have looked into this further and identified the error that has occurred preventing the purchase from being made.

We would be happy to place this order on your behalf once we get your permission to try the charge again. Once you respond to the email that you will receive it will resolve your purchase request.

Please accept our apologies for the difficulty you have encountered in the process.

Best regards,

Joe

Forum Star
Posts: 88
Comments: 4769

#4

Hello J and Joe,

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your assistance Joe.

J, all the payment options listed on our website are Cleverbridge methords.

However, I am very confident that since Joe stepped in this issue will be resolved in a timely manner.

Feel free to get back to us with additional questions.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 3

#5

Thank you Joe. I received your note by email as well. I hope we can get this sorted out. I will reply by email.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 3

#6

Thank you for putting the order through finally.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

#7

You really need to change your payment processor.

Discover credit card is not supported at all.

American Express did not work on two attempts.
No change attempt that I can see at my Amex account.

I was about to give up on the upgrade, but I did try
a seldom used Visa card, and that finally worked.

~ Jeff Byers ~

Forum Star
Posts: 88
Comments: 4769

#8

Hello Jeff,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I am sorry about the issue that you experienced and I am glad to hear that you were able to resolve it. I will forward your comments to our Customer Listening system.

If you need help with our software you can always contact our Support team.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

#9

Now I'm being stuck with cleverbridge too! I made 3 orders and all of them decline by cleverbridge without any detail explain or guide.

I hope another payment method without cleverbridge.

Thanks,
Truong.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

#10

Truong,

I apologize for the difficulty you are having with placing this order. I would be happy to assist you further in helping to understand why this order did not go through. You can feel free to reach out to our support team over the phone or through email. The contact details are contained in the attached url: http://www.cleverbridge.com/?scope=contact&id=5QLGyS2Yfg&progress=Customersupport

If you are not able to receive assistance after visiting our support page please repost and I will personally follow up with you.

Best regards,

Joe

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

#11

Hi Joe,

I placed the order again and it was succeed.
Thanks again for your support.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

#12

Truong,

I am glad to hear that this matter has been resolved. I apologize for any inconvenience in the process and appreciate your business.

Best regards,

Joe

Forum Member
Posts: 2
Comments: 24

#13

Ditto, I had the exact same experience. They never charged my credit card that I attempted to pay with, then when attempting to pay with Paypal it never prompted for my logon information to complete the payment. I also have purchased many Acronis licenses over the years and was not very pleased with this vendors inability to process my payment. I also am not comfortable with giving them my information over the phone which appears to be the only way to resolve the transaction issue with them. I even attempted to purchase a second time using a different payment method on a separate computer to verify their payment system is broken. I'm sure this is costing Acronis a lot of business. For now it means I wont be purchasing a license for my 4th PC and will continue to use an older release on that system. I had hoped to get all my systems on one release and will likely just wait for a sale that matches the promo pricing on Newegg, Amazon or Frys. I don't care to deal with the not so Cleverbridge again.

Forum Member
Posts: 2
Comments: 24

#14

Attempted my order yet again as a last ditch effort to take advantage of the 3 day promo Acronis emailed me and it appears to be suffering the same failure by the payment processor. I also sent a message to Acronis and Cleverbridge last night with no response back. You would think that a service rep could use the information I have provided to manually process the order using one of my supplied payment methods. I do most of my purchases online these days and have not had this problem with any other vendor. Info is 100% correct and complete however the orders are just not processing via Cleverbridge's system.

Forum Member
Posts: 2
Comments: 24

#15

Cleverbridge finally responded back and said that they intentionally blocked the orders as I had a dispute with a different software vendor several years ago using their service in the past for a product that didn't work as advertised. It would have been nice if I was informed to call customer service to clear up immediately rather than sending me through the whole process several times and responding a day later. Its not clear at this point if they will allow me to process the order which I authorized just 1 via email. Per the rep they do this as a protective measure for the consumer to make sure charges don't get repeatedly posted to a card once an issue has been reported. Hopefully they will iron this out and allow the order to process normally. Looks like my case was unique.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#16

I had the exact same experience with cleverbridge. They never charged my credit card that I attempted to pay with, and when attempting to pay with Paypal it never prompted for my logon information to complete the payment. What to do next in my case?Do you have any resellers with other payment methods available?In case you can help me,my cleverbridge order number is 51624246.Thx a million!Gudrun

Forum Star
Posts: 124
Comments: 2672

#17

Hello Gudrun,

sorry for the delay with answer!

We found you order and it is really in declined status.

I've sent you a private message with additional information and further instructions.

Thank you.