Salta al contenuto principale

Opening/Mounting tib-files without TrueImage

Thread needs solution
fst
Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 0

Hello,

is there a way to open/mount a tib-file (either password protected or not) on a PC (Windows 7 or Windows 10) where TrueImage is not installed?

Read-Only would be sufficient.

I have a single license and would like to synchronize the files backed up on laptop 1 with a certain directory on laptop 2 where I have no authorization to install software (and therefore not the possiblity to transfer my license temporarily to this laptop via uninstall laptop 1 - install laptop 2 - uninstall laptop 2 - install laptop 1).

Kind regards,

Franz

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Messaggi: 110
Commenti: 28569

Franz, welcome to these user forums.

Sorry but you can only open or mount .TIB files by using Acronis True Image - there are no other programs that will open these as far as I am aware.  The only way to do this on a machine without ATIH installed would be to boot that machine from the Acronis bootable Rescue Media.

The alternative solutions to the requirement to synchronise files between the two laptops would either require the installation of one of the various free file synchronisation programs and having shared folders on the second laptop that can be accessed with write permission by the first one.  See SyncFolders as one such free utility.

You could also use a file sharing service such as Dropbox, Google Drive,  etc but this would need this to be installed on both laptops too.

 

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 70
Commenti: 8346

You may not be able to mount in Windows, but you can always use your offline recovery (bootable) media to do a restore as well.  Boot the recovery media on the second pc, navigate to the backup .tib and then do a file/folder recovery.  Recover the content you need to a NEW or TEMP directory on the 2nd system or an external drive.  Once recovered, then copy or cut and paste the content where you want it to go.

Beginner
Messaggi: 3
Commenti: 7

I have the same problem, but I haven't had True Image for many years. I desperately need to recover files from a hard drive TIB file. Is there a way to just open the drive and extract the files I need? I don't care if I have to buy something, I just need to do it once and copy them to a backup drive.

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 207
Commenti: 5018

If you registered your TrueImage you should be able to download the recovery media. However the recovery media may not work on your current system if it does not have the necessary drivers. Just a matter of testing and see what happens. You could always download a trial version of ATI 2018, install it and then you will be able to either mount the image or open it using file explorer. ATI may not be able to open the *.tib file - it will probably work with versions as far back as ATI 2013, but earlier versions may be problematic. See the full discussion here.

backups of Windows computers created with:
Acronis True Image 2017, Acronis True Image Subscription
Acronis True Image 2016, Acronis True Image Cloud (Release 2016)
Acronis True Image 2015
Acronis True Image 2014*
True Image 2013 by Acronis*
Acronis True Image Home 2012*
Acronis True Image Home 2011*
Acronis True Image Home 2010*
Acronis True Image Home 2009*
Acronis True Image Home 11*

* Backups can only be restored. Other operations can be limited. It is necessary to create a new backup plan / archive.

Legend
Messaggi: 110
Commenti: 28569

Tim, please edit your post and remove your full email address unless you are happy to invite spam mail to that address, as this is a public forum open to anyone.

Beginner
Messaggi: 3
Commenti: 7

Thanks man, it worked like a charm. Unfortunately the backup was made a week before the files I lost. That's crazy insane lol.

Legend
Messaggi: 110
Commenti: 28569

Sorry to hear that the backup .tib file didn't have your lost files.

Beginner
Messaggi: 3
Commenti: 7

I filled an SDHC card with photos from the Vancouver 2010 winter olympics. Somewhere along the line I deleted the folder thinking I had the SD card safely put away. Turns out that was the movie camera, the card from my DSLR is missing :( I did a full backup onto an external drive the day before we left in case the house was broken into, of course the next one was after I deleted the folder. Now I back up nightly to an earthquake water and fire proof SSD.

Legend
Messaggi: 110
Commenti: 28569

Hope the nightly backup is successful for you but would recommend having more than one backup of any important data, and have these stored in different places.  SSD's are good but even these drives can 'die' with very little warning, as can older spinning drives (HDD's) and even Optical media (CD/DVD) etc.  'Belt & Braces' is still a good strategy.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 60
Commenti: 2001

I'm not sure where you say the folder was deleted from, but there is a good chance it can be saved. You should look at Acronis Revive 2017. I've tried many file recovery programs in the past and never found one I liked until I tried Acronis Revive 2017. I love that program.

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 1

How does the boot manager get corrupt when my hard drives purpose in life was to only keep the backups of Acronis. I wound up putting a couple folders of stuff on that drive because i knew my computer was going down. But the backups were corrupt. after a fresh install I could pull the folders that i put on that drive but cannot open the tibx file. why have they not created some sort of repair for this problem yet. since i see these posts are from 4 years ago. 

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 207
Commenti: 5018

This thread is discussing problems that predate ATI 2020, and are concerned with *.tib files, not *.tibx files which were introduced by ATI 2020.

It is not clear to me exactly what happened. A lot more information is needed before we can be of any assistance.

Please advise what version (ATI 2020, ATI 2021, or ACPHO) and build you are using. Is the small 12kb file present, if it is not the backup cannot be used (this is the first file created by the backup; ultimately the first file is reduced to this size due to automatic cleanup rules for the backup task. 

Not sure what there should be a boot-manager on a drive other than the boot drive; you clearly would not be backing up to the drive that was failing. If there is a problem with the disk on which the backups are located, it it highly unlikely that is was caused by ATI. Have you run the disk manufacturers utility on the disk?

Ian