Salta al contenuto principale

Backups failing after Win 10 upgrade to 1803

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

I upgraded to Win 10 1803 on 30th Apr.. and yesterday was first time my backup run. 2 of my 3 backups ran fine - the third failed. saying "Failed to back up file or folder 'E:\'. It may be blocked by another application." which is strange, my E drive hold nothing active, it just holds personal  files (e.g. pictures, old save games, word docs etc.. i.e. no active progs running from it)  and nothing was open.. and I was doing it from a clean boot.

It SHOULD backup about 138GB, but when it fails it gives option to ignore/ignore all - so to try and skip an individual issue I said ignore.. and it now "succeeded" .. but only backed up 11GB.. so clearly its not done its job.

I deleted the whole backup (i.e. in Acronis and the historical backup files) and started from scratch - but had same issue.

So I downloaded the MVP log viewer and the bit of interest seems to be

07/05/2018 09:40:53: 00 4476 I000B03F0: Create Backup Archive From: E:\
To file: MyBackup_full_b1_s1_v1.tib Compression: Normal
07/05/2018 09:40:53: 00 4476 E0004000C: Failed to back up file or folder 'E:\'. It may be blocked by another application.
The file is read-only. (0x4000C)
function = "OpenFileW",
path = "\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\OneDrive",
$module = "ti_demon_vs_11530"
winnt_dir::iterator::GetInodeInfo:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\core\file\windows\winnt_dir.cpp(1,474)
The media is write protected (0xFFF0)
code = 80070013),
$module = "ti_demon_vs_11530"
Common::Error::AddWindowsError:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\core\common\error.cpp(307) : None
07/05/2018 09:45:15: 00 14052 I00640000: Writing full version to file: MyBackup_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
07/05/2018 09:49:45: 00 4476 I00640000: The following backups have been successfully created: nas://READYNAS/Backup/Justin/MyBackup_full_b1_s1_v1.tib
 

Which is interesting - as I had specified it should backup all the files in the drive EXCEPT the onedrive folder. and even if it just skips that.. it should still backup  the 138GB.. and not the 11GB it has done. So its skipped other stuff I cant see from the log?

I would go on to say how BAD Acronis is in handling this..in terms of how badly the prompts and alerts around the error are handled.. but this post long enough already.. so if anyone can  give me a pointer to whats going wrong here and how to fix - would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

P.S. I am WIn 10 prof 1803.. and I am Acronis TI 2018 11530, also OneDrive is not running (I only run it when I want it to sync).

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Yoji, there have been a number of reports of issues with backing up OneDrive folder contents after the Windows 10 Spring 1803 update - some of this can be associated with the Files on Demand option for OneDrive which leaves zero length symbolic links on the drive.

I would recommend opening a Support Case directly with Acronis Support to register this problem and have them investigate it further, along with those cases raised by other users in the same area.

One other suggestion, try reselecting both the Source and Destination data for this backup in the ATI GUI - these Windows Upgrades can result in changes to the drive UID which can cause other issues.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

Thanks Steve,

But you seem to have missed a couple of the points I was careful to make

  1. I did say I had completely deleted the historical copy and recreated the backup from scratch.
  2. I did say that I had excluded the OneDrive folder.

Cheers

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Yoji, sorry I did miss the point that you had recreated the task, however the log message clearly shows involvement with OneDrive as below:

E0004000C: Failed to back up file or folder 'E:\'. It may be blocked by another application.
The file is read-only. (0x4000C)
function = "OpenFileW",
path = "\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\OneDrive",

I have only seen this blocked issue with OneDrive folders regardless of it being excluded in your backup.  It may be an issue with Microsoft VSS used to create snapshot data given the reference to the ShadowCopy path - if so, try running the free Acronis VSS Doctor tool (link in my signature) to see what that reports?

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

Thanks..

I did use the VSS Doctor as suggested.. and this is what it reported.

VSS.JPG

Which seems suggest a problem with C drive.. but E/ is green - but is mentioned (none of my other drives even mentioned).. I don't really understand what this is telling me.. but would you recommend I just press the "fix issues"? and would you think/hope it might fix my issue?

Thanks again and best regards

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

I would certainly suggest trying the Fix option as any VSS issue can have an impact and it is always better to have a clean bill of health across all your drives.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

Considering the whole thing we talking about in this thread - your confidence in quality of Acronis software is maybe a tad misplaced..  ;)

But I took the plunge - and pressed the fix button.. all it said it was going to fix was to increase the C Drive Max VSs to 21GB.. no change to E drive settings.. so I was not hopeful.

it went through OK - I rebooted - rechecked and it VSS doctor said all was OK. So I deleted the problematic backup again - rebooted - and started again from scratch... but as feared - I got the same problem.

So I moved my OneDrive folder off of the E drive.. and then redid the backup and it all went through fine, backing up the expected/normal 138GB

So I have a workaround to my problem - but I go back to being very unhappy with the quality of Acronis software.. check through my prev posts.. I have had WAY to many problems .. it seems that EVERY new version of Acronis.. or every ver update to Win 10 seems to bring problems, and I don't think I am a sophisticated user.. I just want the basics (i.e. totally reliable backup to/from a NAS), I shudder to think what it would be like if I tried use the more esoteric features.

Anyway - Thanks for your help.. may be they will fix in an future update (but they really need get ahead of these problems.. and fix BEFORE win 10 updates released to production).

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Yoji, glad that you have got a work-around by moving your OneDrive folder but Acronis will only consider investigating this type of problem if users like yourself are willing to raise a Support Case and provide them with the diagnostic information from an Acronis System Report to work with.

This particular problem looks to be triggered by the latest Windows 10 #1803 update in conjunction with OneDrive but it is not impacting all users of ATI 2018.  Is this a problem that Acronis can or should fix, or is it one that Microsoft needs to fix - only the developers would be able to tell us?

In risposta a di Yoji

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 2

Yogi,

I have been having the same problems you discuss.

I removed the offending folder/file from the Acronis backup; copied the offending folder to another hard drive; deleted the offending folder/file from the original location; restarted my PC; copied the offending folder/file back to the original location from the hard drive I had copied it to; added the file/folder back to Acronis backup; and the backup now runs without error.

As for OneDrive, I have reported it to Tech Support in a case file. They are looking into it. If you run an image backup of your drive, OneDrive will be included.

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Philip, welcome to these User Forums and thank you for sharing your experience with seeing the same problem and that you have opened a Support Case - please let us know as you get any feedback from support.

In risposta a di Philip Laird

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

Thanks Philip.

When you say "offending folder/file" - I presume you do mean its the OneDrive folder?

But your comment  - that putting it back did not cause the issue to reappear, is interesting. Just for clarity, when you put it back, you did make it the OneDrive folder again? so when you put it back it was a working OneDrive folder, synching with OneDrive cloud etc?

That would be interesting - though not sure I can be bothered to go through hassle of checking it in my case. Having moved my oneDrive folder and its 103GB contents.. I am inclined to leave it be now ;)

Hopefully my post helped you get to solution and we didn't have to solve it independently.

Thanks again for posting. Cheers 

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 2

Hi! Same trouble, but diagnostics different:

2018-05-07T23:23:22:602+03:00 8972 E000B0428: Error 0xb0428: Storage of backup copies not found on the target disk. Check correct disk connected (translate to EN).
| trace level: error
| line: 0x4d3f22948e29f39f
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\products\imager\archive\impl\utils.cpp:712
| function: TrueImage::Archive::CheckVolumeDeviceIdMatch
| line: 0x4d3f22948e29f39f, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\products\imager\archive\impl\utils.cpp:712, TrueImage::Archive::CheckVolumeDeviceIdMatch
| Path: Y:
| ExpectedId: STORAGE\VOLUME\{FC4C815C-CBBB-11E7-9C54-1CC63C81E0F5}#0000000000800000
| ActualId: STORAGE\VOLUME\{7D5D4CC7-5069-11E8-9C84-1CC63C81E0F5}#0000000000800000
| $module: ti_demon_vs_11530
2018-05-07T23:23:22:704+03:00 8972 E013C0005: Error 0x13c0005: Operation finished with errors.
| trace level: error
| line: 0x9f2c53c72e8bce5f
| file: c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\products\imager\demon\main.cpp:617
| function: main
| line: 0x9f2c53c72e8bce5f, c:\bs_hudson\workspace\332\products\imager\demon\main.cpp:617, main
| $module: ti_demon_vs_11530

And for smile - on the both laptops (Toshiba and Lenovo Win10 Home updated to 1809 - 17134.1).

Last ATIH 2018 (11530) Family Pack.

But I'm keep calm... I try.

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Saul, welcome to these User Forums.

Please try reselecting your Source and Destination data for your backup - the error suggests that the drive or partition unique identifier has changed as a result of your Windows Update (CheckVolumeDeviceIdMatch).  This has been seen by other users / reported in these forums.

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 2

Yogi,

No, I do not mean the OneDrive folder. This was a random folder on my C: drive that caused the error.

As I said in my post, "As for OneDrive, I have reported it to Tech Support in a case file. They are looking into it. If you run an image backup of your drive, OneDrive will be included."

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

Thanks Saul - but yes - your issue looks very different..

You look to have fallen foul of the other issue - where MS changes the drive ID when they do the update..Steve eludes to this when he says (see above)

 One other suggestion, try reselecting both the Source and Destination data for this backup in the ATI GUI - these Windows Upgrades can result in changes to the drive UID which can cause other issues

I think I had a related issue as part of my Win 10 update to 1803 (I presume that your version - 1809 not out yet!!!) when what shoul dhave been my hidden system recovery drive became visible all of a sudden (so I had to rehide it again). But that a Win 10 issue - not Acronis (though you would hope they handle it better, or even code to cover such things if they know it can happen).

Cheers

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 2

Gentlmen, its work! Reselecting target drive solve my problem.

Thanks a lot Steve and Yoji (yea, my mistaping, 1803 of course)!

Good luck!

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

I have found that rescheduling appears to solve the problem for local backups. I have not yet found a solution for the problem with cloud backups. I am one-eyed at the moment (cataract operation) so I am a bit off centre. Decided to de-schedule my cloud backup and create a new one. Before doing so I also did a disk cleanup deleting the old Windows installation. (I have slow internet upload so will not know if this combination of actions solved the problem until tomorrow.

Ian

Update: the backup failed to complete, so there is something very wrong introduced by the latest Windows 10 build. Will now definitely contact tech support. I wonder why it seems to be more prevalent with backups to the cloud?

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Hi folks,

I'm seeing this same issue, and I believe I've managed to narrow it down (in my instance). I am also on W10Pro 1803 and this is a OneDrive subfolder.

Anyway, I checked attributes on affected vs non-affected files, and I am seeing the 'hidden' (as in attrib.exe can't set/unset it) Attribute "L" indicating a Reparse Point as being the culprit. As I said, you can't remove this Attribute with attrib.exe, but I found a way around by copying the affected files to and back from a FAT32 volume which does not support Reparse Points and strips the Attribute. After this operation my backup completes successfully.

I hope this helps you folks!

 

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Welcome to these User Forum and thank you for sharing your findings on this new issue since the Win 10 1803 Update.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 27

I am having the same issue as the original poster, I have my backups on a 4TB hard drive and since I upgraded to Windows 10 1803. 

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Pedro, have you read through the other posts in this topic and tried some of the suggestions already offered here? 

Can you post the log for your failing backup task so that we can see what the actual error details are?

You should also open a Support Case with Acronis and reference this topic in the forums so that the developers get an idea of how many users are being affected by this issue.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

Hi All,

Below is an extract from the log file for cloud backup:

9/05/2018 11:08:47 :524 Operation [cloud backup] started by schedule.
9/05/2018 11:08:53 :424 Operation: Backup
9/05/2018 11:08:53 :424 Backup type: hybrid (disk level)
9/05/2018 11:08:53 :428 Operation: Consolidation
9/05/2018 11:08:53 :429 Priority changed to Low.
9/05/2018 11:11:01 :632 Error 0x170810: Failed to enumerate directory 'C:/Users/ianla/OneDrive/'. It may be corrupted or does not exist. Please check the disk for errors.
9/05/2018 11:15:25 :686 Error 0x170810: Failed to enumerate directory 'C:/Users/ianla/OneDrive/'. It may be corrupted or does not exist. Please check the disk for errors.
9/05/2018 11:15:28 :053 Error 0x170803: Operation has been aborted.
9/05/2018 11:15:28 :062 Error 0x170810: Failed to enumerate directory 'C:/Users/ianla/OneDrive/'. It may be corrupted or does not exist. Please check the disk for errors.
9/05/2018 11:15:28 :740 Error 0x13c0005: Operation has completed with errors.

I ran disck check but no errors were found.

Ian

PS I have created a support request - ticket number 03348785; in the request I included a link to this thread.

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Thanks for raising the support case Ian.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

I contacted the ATI product manager Renata Gubaydullina and she replied that they are aware of these issues and have been working on them for some time.

Ian

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 4

We have this problem on a lot of customer PCs.

All with Windows 10 1803 and True Image 2017 and 2018 newest build 11530.

All of them is using cloud for backup repository.

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Henrik, please also see Forum topic:Windows 10 Build 1803 - Backup fiails due to problem with OneDrive folder - KB61362 Workaround - this looks (to me at least) to me a much more widespread issue than just affecting Acronis backup products!

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

The solution suggested in the KB did not work for me - will have to exclude the OneDrive folders from the backup.

Ian

In risposta a di IanL-S

Forum Member
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 38

@IanL-S.. but check my situation (I started this thread).. My OneDrive folder WAS excluded from the backup - but the backup still failed. So there some extra complexity in there. To get my backup to work - I had to move my OneDrive folder off of the drive. Though interestingly - another contributor was convinced it was an attribute of that folder causing the problem.. and I could have moved it back if I had cleared that problem attribute by copying to a FAT32 drive first - and then copying back. 

Cheers

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 66
Commenti: 7732

FYI - 1803 has a fair share of problems, some that were known last month and prevented the release then, some that are creeping up now.  Those of us who move to the bleeding edge updates as soon as they come out, are prone to have issues as we're the real guinea pigs.  Once the dust has settled on the update, we should see some fixes from Microsoft and Acronis to deal with the new changes. 

https://myitforum.com/microsoft-working-to-block-windows-10-april-2018-update-upgrades-from-devices-running-with-toshiba-components/

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-hardware/devices-with-toshiba-xg4-series-toshiba-xg5-series/2839ef1c-145a-400e-a7ae-f887339b1ea8

https://www.ghacks.net/2018/04/17/microsoft-explains-why-it-delayed-windows-10-version-1803-release/

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 2

For me, the problem was also connected to reparsepoint information in the onedrive files.

Using powershell, you can quickly check whether your OneDrive files have reparsepoint information by running

`Get-ChildItem`

in the OneDrive folder.

 

I personally believe that with the 1803 update, at least for some of us, OneDrive was updated and the option "Files on Demand" was automatically activated. Further I believe that for this feature to work, OneDrive added this reparsepoint information to the files and that it not deleted when turning the feature off (I'm not saying that it should be).

For some reason this reparsepoint info breaks Acronis and given that reparsepoints are a rather old NTFS feature, I think that this may actually be a bug in Acronis that has only been "triggered" by the recent Windows/OneDrive update. Regardless, I'm sure that the devs will soon find a workaround.

Getting rid of the reparsepoint info indeed allowed me to backup again. Rather than copying everything to FAT32 and back, I used this script, which removes the reparsepoint info from all files recursively.
 

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK, I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT THE LONG TERM EFFECTS MAY BE!

$files = Get-ChildItem -Recurse
foreach ($file in $files) {
   fsutil reparsepoint delete $file.FullName
}

Note that some errors may occur, which is usually fine.

Hope this helps in some way.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

Thanks for this information. May I suggest you pass this on to Acronis Technical Support (if you have not already done so you will need to create a case - there are several cases already and you could a cross-reference to the one I created - 03348785. The last I have heard back is that the problem is being experience by many users and has been escalated. No hint of there being a solution.

Ian

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 2

 I am experiencing problems trying to backup after upgrade to Windows build 1803. Previously scheduled backups will not run. If I attempt to change the destination by clicking on "Browse", ATI will freeze. 

I have tried deleting the existing backup profile and recreating a new one. Same result, ATI will freeze when attempting to locate a location. 

I have an old,  complete system backup, and can restore selected files but if I attempt to change this profile destination, same result.

I have uninstalled ATI 2016 and reinstalled and the same problem exists. FRUSTRATING

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

If you have already uninstalled / reinstalled ATI 2016 for this issue, then the only other options would be to perform a totally 'clean' install of the product, or else to try an upgrade to a later version of ATI such as a 30-day trial copy of ATI 2018.

When you say that ATI 'freezes' when trying to change or set the Destination location - is this for all tasks, new and old, or is it for certain specific tasks?  How long have you waited for the freeze to clear?

I have used ATI 2017, 2018 and the 2019 Beta products on Windows 10 Spring Creators Update #1803 all without any similar issues.

Note: to perform a clean install, do the following:

Uninstall ATI 2016 normally via the Windows Control Panel.

Download the Acronis Cleanup tool (link in my signature) and run this as Administrator.
Note: this will also remove Acronis Disk Director if installed plus will remove all backup tasks & task history etc.

Restart the computer to complete the cleanup action.

Download the final full installer program for ATI 2016 from your Acronis account and install this from an Administrator account (to ensure correct / required authority and privileges are given).

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 2

Thanks Steve

FIrst to answer your questions, ATI 2016 would freeze anytime I attempted to Change Destination - "Browse" on both a new or old profile.

As you suggested I uninstalled ATI 2016 from the Control Panel and rebooted. Then I ran the cleanup IAW  https://kb.acronis.com/content/48668 . I then reinstalled, and after logging into my account, all appears to be working now.

Program also found my previous backups on my external hard drive. It allowed me to reconfigure each of my two previous profiles (Full System, Selected folders).

Thanks for the help.

 

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Glad to hear that all went well with the clean reinstall. Thanks for the feedback. 

Beginner
Messaggi: 4
Commenti: 11

Is the problem presented above still a problem in Acronis 2019?  I have been running Acronis backups for several years with no problems.  I opened Acronis just today and found the error mentioned above.

I am running Windows 10 Pro version 1809.  Also using One Drive.  I do see VSS as "running" in Task Manager list of services.

This is all the further I've gotten in researching this...

Thank you,

kristin

Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Kristin, are you including OneDrive in your source list of folders to be backed up?  If so, then check that you do not have 'Files on Demand' enabled for OneDrive because this will cause Acronis to have problems due to the way that the links to the files in the OneDrive Cloud are created.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 125
Commenti: 2719

With ATI 2019 the problem is not solved for cloud backups (one drive folder is excluded by default) but is apparently fixed for local backups (I could be mistaken about this - I only use OneDrive for business which did not exhibit this problem). I you use cloud backup there is an option to backup OneDrive remotely; ATI Cloud server directly updates from the Microsoft OneDrive server which eliminates the problem.

Ian

Beginner
Messaggi: 4
Commenti: 11

Steve Smith,

 

Yes, One of my backups is dedicated to the local OneDrive folder.  However, Files On Demand is not selected in settings.

Not sure if this makes a difference but the backups that don't include local OneDrive files are affected by this same error message.

kristin

Beginner
Messaggi: 4
Commenti: 11

Hi Ian,

I have various Acronis backups.  They are all local source files backed up to local destinations.  The first error I noticed (yesterday just after updating the Acronis program) referenced my local OneDrive folder.

Before anything further, today I deleted all of my tib files.

After further looking, I noticed that two other backups (unrelated to OneDrive) referenced three specific files in the same type of error message. Two of the files were recently added image files (I was still able to open them in Photoshop).  I renamed the files but Acronis found and "rejected" them again. I chose ignore and the backup completed successfully. Strangely, after opening these files, I was not able to move them, even after restarting the computer (however, I was able to delete them).

The third file that was referenced was a Quicken backup file.  I deleted the file and that backup completed successfully.  Attached screenshot.

I don't know enough about Acronis to know if the image files and the Quicken backup file may have been damaged by some type of conflict? At this time, all of my backups seem to be functioning.

Thank you,

kristin

 

 

Allegato Dimensione
497659-167141.JPG 30.92 KB
Legend
Messaggi: 79
Commenti: 16748

Kristin, without seeing the logs for the various backup tasks to see whether the same Quicken backup file features in each case, we can only go with the information from your image.

When I have seen this type of error previously, this can be caused by either a security application such as antivirus blocking access or else because the application which created / owns the file has locked it, i.e. this has been seen for QuickBooks database files where the recommendation is to use the applications own backup tools to capture such files.

The screen image shows that the error is happening after Acronis has tried to include the Quicken backup file in the snapshot data captured by the Microsoft VSS (Volume Shadow copy Service), rather than the original file (C:\2XXX.Documents.Program\2XXX.Quicken\BACKUP\CHRYSALIS PRIME-2019-05-05.PM04.03.QDF-backup).

If Quicken provide their own backup tools, then this should be used and if including the backup file created by those tools, you should ensure that the file is not still locked by the tools or make a copy of the file into another location.