Salta al contenuto principale

TI 2018 issues when configuring backup settings

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Messaggi: 2
Commenti: 2

Hi!

I have been using Acronis True Image since version approx. 2011, but mainly TI 2013 for most of the time until last year when I started to use the TI 2018 version I upgraded to some years ago.

I have never had any issues with TI 2013, it has worked flawlessly even on Win 10, but I primarily perform basic full partition backups and don't need any extra bells and whistles.
 

Now after using TI 2018 for some time I have run into some issues and am sad to say that it seems that Acronis has succeded in ruining a perfectly good backup solution over the years.

After having performed some backups sucessfully with TI 2018 I can no longer open up settings for my defined backups to verify selected partition(s) or destination, I get an error message saying; “Failed to open information about backup ….The backup may be incomplete or corrupt.” 
 

They have earlier been backed up successfully and now suddenly I cannot even open up Source and Destination settings windows! Si how will I be able to change or correct any settings?

image 586

I always create full backups and keep 2 or 3 generations on my NAS, and the NAS is only turned on when doing backups or recoveries. So I want to be able to open up Backup settings and verify selected Source partitions and Destinations even when NAS is not turned on.
That was possible in ATI 2013 even if the NAS was turned off, you only got a warning that the destinations was currently unaccessible. No problem!

Quite often partition settings in ATI change if/when you do changes in disk hardware on the computer, and sometimes you need to make changes in destination folders on the NAS. So there must be a way of verifying correct source partitions and destinations without TI getting stuck and impossible to reconfigure. 
It should even be possible to manually remove or move backups without TI getting stuck.

For me there is no logical explanation why TI needs to check or lock with existing full backups at this stage. Give me a warning that the destination is currenlty not accessible as in ATI 2013 so I can change what’s needed. And maybe start all over if something is corrupted.

Later when performing the backups I understand that TI needs to check and verify existing backups in order to remove older versions of full backups, if they still exist. But all these dependencies to exisiting sequence of exisiting full backups has made it more complicated and not so simple and flexible as before.

Anyway....

- Anyone having the same issues?

- Is there a simple solution for this, except going back to TI 2013 again?

- Or clone backup settings and start all over again? 

 

Regards
/Hackej

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Messaggi: 109
Commenti: 28256

Hackej, this is a known limitation in all recent versions of ATI, including the successor ACPHO application (aka ATI 2022).

You can only access, check or modify settings for backups to or from NAS when it is connected and available!

Please submit Feedback directly to Acronis (use the tool provided in the GUI Help section) and ask for your vote to be added to the Acronis internal feature request: TI-170272 Allow changing the plan settings when the target location is not available.

Beginner
Messaggi: 2
Commenti: 2

Hi!

Thanks for the reply....and yes, I will definetely do that!

It's such a pity it has become so complicated...
I have tried trial version of all latest versions and always been amazed at how intricate the solution has become and how hard it is to make it work!

/Hackej

Legend
Messaggi: 109
Commenti: 28256

Acronis has moved away from the core Backup & Recovery focus of ATI in earlier versions to that of entering the crowded Cyber Protection arena and competing with antivirus vendors etc, all of which means that the application is now bloated with too many extra background services and processes that impact on overall performance at the cost of now being subscription only!

Beginner
Messaggi: 2
Commenti: 2

Hi!

For anyone else experiencing this issue, a workaround is to:

- clone the backup (all settings are retained)

- edit/verify settings

- rename/remove old backup

- rename the new backup as the old one.

Now you can use it as before!

I added my vote to the feature request above, and also added a proposal for automating this workaround by: 
- Adding a Backup option for "Reset dependecies" as an alternative to the "Clone backup" workaround!

This will make it much more easier..........

/Hackej

Forum Moderator
Messaggi: 238
Commenti: 6961

Hackej wrote:

Hi!

I added my vote to the feature request above, and also added a proposal for automating this workaround by: 
- Adding a Backup option for "Reset dependecies" as an alternative to the "Clone backup" workaround!

This will make it much more easier..........

/Hackej

Thank you, Hackej! I've registered your feedback in our system 🙂