Salta al contenuto principale

Failed Backup

Thread solved
Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

Hi. Since Monday, Acronis True Image started to fail backup without apparent reason. It never happened before. Been using True Image for 3 years and never got any issue until now.

First, it returned errors such as:

Failed to back up file or folder '\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy10\CRM\vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz'. It may be blocked by another application.

Then another one: Error 0x101fe: Impossibile leggere i dati dal disco. (it's italian for unable to read data on disk)

Can anyone give me any hint about this?

Thanks in advance

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Messaggi: 102
Commenti: 22835

#1

Wolf, welcome to these public User Forums.

Just with the minimal information provided above, I would suspect one of two things might be at play here!

  1. Your antivirus software is blocking access to the file (vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz) which in turn prevents ATI from accessing it.  I have seen this behaviour myself when Comodo believed a file was malware and quarantined it.
     
  2. You may have a bad block / sector on the source disk drive.  Failed to read data from disk is normally caused by this type of issue (unless this also relates directly to 1.)  Run CHKDSK /F on the source drive to see what it shows.
Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#2

Hi Steve, and thanks for your reply.

I have AVG but when I perform any backup, it's disabled. Is it possible that it still can interfere?

I have performed CHKDSK /F and it doesnt return any error

Legend
Messaggi: 102
Commenti: 22835

#3

Wolf, it would be unusual for AVG to be fully disabled if it is providing any realtime protection and would say that it could still be involved.

The next step would be to look at the backup log for this task.

Please download the MVP Log Viewer tool (link in my signature below) and use this to review the log file for your backup operation. This should provide more information on why you are seeing any errors messages?

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#4

Ok, this is an example:

25/08/2020 18:30:31: 00 9912 I00000000: -----
25/08/2020 18:30:31: 00 9912 I00000000: ATI Demon started. Version: 23.5.1.17750.
25/08/2020 18:30:31: 00 9912 I00640000: Attributi della copia di riserva del backup: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
25/08/2020 18:30:31: 00 9912 I00640002: Operazione 2020-08-23 ARCHIVIO avviata manualmente.
25/08/2020 18:30:33: 00 9912 I00640000: Attributi della copia di riserva del backup: format tib; need_reserve_backup_copy false;
25/08/2020 18:30:33: 00 9912 I013C0000: Operazione: Backup
25/08/2020 18:30:33: 00 9912 I0064000B: Priorità modificata in Alto
25/08/2020 20:52:22: 00 9912 E00170027: Failed to back up file or folder '\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy10\vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz'. It may be blocked by another application.
Impossibile eseguire il backup del file. (0x170027)
Path = "\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy10\vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz",
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
Archive::BackupOperationContext::OnError:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\archive\backuper.cpp(850)
Errore durante la lettura del file. (0x40001)
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
ChunkNTBackupStream:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\ntstream_chunker.cpp(273)
Errore durante la lettura del file. (0x40001)
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
`anonymous-namespace'::ReadStreamData:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\ntstream_chunker.cpp(193)
Impossibile eseguire il backup del file (della cartella). (0x40019)
Path = "\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy10\vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz",
Hints = 1),
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
`anonymous-namespace'::NTBackupStream::Read:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\windows\winnt_backup.cpp(817)
Errore nei dati (controllo di ridondanza ciclico) (0xFFF0)
code = 80070017),
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
Common::Error::AddWindowsError:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp(307) : Nessuna
25/08/2020 20:57:31: 00 9912 E00040019: Failed to back up file or folder 'vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz'. It may be blocked by another application.
Errore durante il backup. (0x40019)
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
`anonymous-namespace'::BackuperHelper::WriteNodeData:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\archive\backuper.cpp(788)
Errore durante la lettura del file. (0x40001)
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
ChunkNTBackupStream:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\ntstream_chunker.cpp(273)
Errore durante la lettura del file. (0x40001)
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
`anonymous-namespace'::ReadStreamData:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\ntstream_chunker.cpp(193)
Impossibile eseguire il backup del file (della cartella). (0x40019)
Path = "\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy10\vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz",
Hints = 1),
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
`anonymous-namespace'::NTBackupStream::Read:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\file\windows\winnt_backup.cpp(817)
Errore nei dati (controllo di ridondanza ciclico) (0xFFF0)
code = 80070017),
$module = "ti_demon_vs_17750"
Common::Error::AddWindowsError:
c:\bs_hudson\workspace\790\core\common\error.cpp(307) : Nessuna
25/08/2020 20:57:33: 00 9912 E00040019: Error 0x40019: Errore durante il backup.

Start: 25/08/2020 18:30:31
Stop: 25/08/2020 20:57:56
Total Time: 02:27:25

Legend
Messaggi: 102
Commenti: 22835

#5

Wolf, the log looks to confirm that the file vtigercrm-5.2.0.tar.gz is being blocked by your AVG security application.  Please check the AVG logs to see if this mentions the same file.

Try setting an Exclusion in your ATI backup task for the same file and see if the task runs to completion successfully?

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#6

Ok. But what can I do to stop AVG from blocking files and then backup. Because this is happening with many files. If I exclude one file, then there's another one that gets blocked.

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#7

It's so weird that it never happened in the last years. This is the first time.

Legend
Messaggi: 102
Commenti: 22835

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#9

Thanks, Steve. I'll try your suggestion and let you know.

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 6

#10

Hi Steve, I just wanted you to know that it was probably a hard drive problem that caused Acronis to work improperly. So nothing to do with the anti-virus.

Thanks for your help anyway

Cheers!

Legend
Messaggi: 102
Commenti: 22835

#11

Thanks for the update and glad that you have found a solution here!