Salta al contenuto principale

TI2013 by Acronis 6514 bootable disc does not detect hard drives

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Messaggi: 23
Commenti: 16

I clean installed True Image 2013 build 6514 and then created a new bootable disc but when I boot from the disc and then try to create a disc backup it shows no drives or partitions in the source list. I also tried Acronis Disk Cleanser and it also shows no drives or partitions either. I have Windows 8 installed with UEFI on a GPT disk. I also noticed that during booting of the True Image recovery disc there are three error messages no volume groups found. I tried booting the Acronis recovery disc in BIOS mode and also UEFI mode and have the same issue. This is a new issue in build 6514 of the Acronis bootable disc as the original build 5551 did not have this issue.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Messaggi: 60
Commenti: 2001

Hi Keith,

I'm seeing the same thing with build 6,514. The problem seems to be limited to GPT disks. I have a Windows 8 computer with UEFI and two internal hard disks. The boot disk with Windows is a GPT disk and the backup disk is a MBR disk. When I boot the Linux recovery CD the source for disk backups only shows the MBR disk. The interesting thing is that it is listed as disk 2. There is no disk 1 in the list. If I select the recovery option and browse for a backup, all the partitions on both the GPT and MBR disks are shown. The same is true if I select the option to backup Files and Folders and browse.

Another interesting point is that three "no volume groups found" message appears on all the computers I tested with the recovery CD. All the disks on these computers were listed in the source for disk backup as they were all MBR disks. So, these messages may not have anything to do with the problem.

I'm using the Plus Pack with TIHome 2013 so there should be GPT support in the recovery media. I think this is a big problem and Acronis needs to address it fast.

The same problem is happening with the WinPE version of build 6,514. The good news was that build 6,514 was able to build a WinPE 4.0 CD with only the ADK installed. The bad news was that it has the same GPT problem as the Linux CD. I was able to substitute TrueImage.exe from build 5,551 in the WinPE Files folder to solve the problem. 

EDIT:

I also tried the ISO Linux version of the recovery CD downloaded from my account under the Plus Pack section of TIHome 2013.  It has the same problem.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello all,

Thank you for taking time to contact us.

Could you please obtain Acronis system report from Acronis Boot Media and send it to me via  Private Message?

We will investigate the issue and provide you with a possible solution. 

Thank you.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello,

I was able to reproduce the issue, additional  diagnostic files are not required.

Thank you.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 60
Commenti: 2001

Oleg wrote:

 Hello all,

Thank you for taking time to contact us.

Could you please obtain Acronis system report from Acronis Boot Media and send it to me via  Private Message?

We will investigate the issue and provide you with a possible solution. 

Thank you.

Hi Oleg,

Thanks for responding. The System Report from the boot media has been sent to you by PM.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello all,

Thank you for your help.

We have found the root cause of the issue and have already created a fix. 

This fix will be available at the beginning of the next week (I can't tell now the exact way on how it will be delivered). 

Thank you.

Beginner
Messaggi: 9
Commenti: 13

Will the hot-fix be known ?
We it get posted in the forums ?

Thanks
Chris

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Acronis:

Any idea when we will have the fix and how it will be delivered?

Thanks,

Zakir

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello all,

Thank you for taking time to contact us.

We are working with Acronis support and Web Team on delivering the fix, we will get back to you with an update.

Please accept our apologies for inconvenience.

Thank you.

Beginner
Messaggi: 4
Commenti: 8

Same issue here. Just adding a comment so I can be auto-notified on this thread...

Beginner
Messaggi: 3
Commenti: 11

Craig Shields wrote:

Same issue here. Just adding a comment so I can be auto-notified on this thread...

ditto!

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Yep same issue here.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Same with me as well

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Here to...

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Have now received the fix and already tried it. It solved the problem with seeing the SDD, but has not resolved the problem with booting from Secure boot. My notebook simply shows a blank screen, if told to boot from DVD. It ignores the DVD during a normal boot

This is no different now than using the ATIH2013 Win PE bootable ISO received last December. I still have to disable Secure boot and use legacy bios. The notebook is a Sony Vaio SVS1512Z9EB

Forum Member
Messaggi: 11
Commenti: 31

Exactly where can I find the new hot fix relative to the SSD's?

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Same with me, where find I the fix ?

I tray update but nothing !

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

I received a PM from Oleg. Not sure if I am allowed to post the link

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 613
Commenti: 8747

I don't think the hotfix has been made publicly available as yet. I imagine once Acronis believe they have solved the problem across a number of PC manufacturers, they'll make an announcement in the forum.

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 3

>We have found the root cause of the issue and have already created a fix.

Also interested in the fix, maybe the preliminary version by PM:

- booted from recovery medium (6514)
- gpt disk (windows 8) not seen by backup drive assistent
- but gpt disk seen when browsing folders (e.g. restore opening tib-file)

Thank you.

Edit: Even worse: with rescue medium (6514) partition backup of external disks broken

  • boot with rescue medium on machine with internal gpt disk and external mbr disk
  • create a partition backup of a partiion of the external harddisk and read the summary
  • additionally to the selected external partition EFI and Windows partition of the internal gpt disk get autoselected
  • they cannot be unselected because the internal gpt disk is invisible in the partition backup assistent
  • result: to backup 1 partition you would need to backup 2 other additional partitions
  • if you happen to store your tib files on a ext3 formatted harddisk (which did work with rescue media of former versions of trueimage) trueimage 2013 build 6514 is unusable.
Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 3

Is it necessary to make a new bootable disc every time a new version of TI2013 is installed won't a bootable disc made with the previous version still work?

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 613
Commenti: 8747

@Sincero,

In most cases it is advisable to make a new recovery media for each new build, however again in most cases the previous builds recovery media can still be used to recover images made with the new build.

As I boot from ISOs as far as the recovery media is concerned, I always have a copy of each builds ISO on my PC and just copy the current one over.

If a user has thrown out the previous builds CD the only remedy is to reinstall that build and remake the CD.

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 3

@Sincero, @Colin B:
Agreed, usually the previous build would be the solution. In my case I switched to new hardware these days, And because of this I upgraded from a previous version of trueimage some days ago. So I am stuck, I do not have access to the previous build of trueimage 2013.

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 8

I also having the problem, hope the fix released asap, thx.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Please write to Oleg

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 3

Or contact acronis support by email. They gave me a link to rescue media of the previous built of trueimage 2013. And this version (5551) works with gpt hard disks.

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 3

Anyone know if this issue has been fixed yet? If so where can I find it? If I'd known about all theses problems I wouldn't have...

Beginner
Messaggi: 1
Commenti: 8

Use back old build which is 5551 and wait for the update comes.

Sincero wrote:

Anyone know if this issue has been fixed yet? If so where can I find it? If I'd known about all theses problems I wouldn't have...

CMN
Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Ummmm . . . build 5551 will not boot with Win 8 secure boot, so unless you have an older OS or non-GPT drives, you are out of luck. If you are really lucky, you won't need to use a backup image before 6514 is patched (or there is a work-around).

Forum Star
Messaggi: 46
Commenti: 2759

CMN,

Patched 2013 build 5551 Rescue Media WILL boot on Secure Boot enabled systems.

There is a patch for Secure boot for version 5551 located here: http://dl.acronis.com/u/ATIH2013/Hotfix/ATIHSOHO_HOTFIX_437_en-US.exe

Be sure to re-create your Rescue Media and disable and re-enable the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager if you are using it.

This patch is ONLY for 2013 build 5551.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi James,

I can say that this patch does not work, as mentioned in a previous post. Received the EU patch, which brought my system to build 6514, 16,0,0,6682

All I get is a dark blank screen

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello all,

Thank you for your posts.

Erich,

It looks like the issue is not related to Secure boot or to GPT disks recognition. 

Try to boot the CD using the acpi=off noapic parameters and see what happens.

Thank you.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Oleg,

burnt yet another DVD with the "acpi=off noapic" parameters. This time got a blank screen with Secure Boot enabled, but booted to Acronis with Secure Boot disabled and Legacy enabled

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Erich,

Thank you for your response.

Just to be sure, have you burned the CD using build #6514?

Thank you.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Oleg,

yes, I got the build numbers from the opened Acronis

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 1

Hi Oleg,

I am having the same problem as many. I boot from USB media in the hopes of creating a backup image of my new tablet and there are no drives / partitions listed. I am using version 6514.

Do you have any information as to where we can get this fix that has been created?

Thanks,
Rob

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello all,

Erich,

Actually, it is rather strange that the system refused to recognize the loader that has been signed by MS. Could you please do the following?

Please create WinPE media with True Image plugin (the description on how to do it is available in Help) and try to boot the system from this WinPE disk. Secure Boot should be enabled. 

This will help to localize the issue and to understand, whether the system refuses to recognize Windows disk (i.e. the WinPE disk), or the issue is related to Acroloader only.

Rob,

I will respond to you via PMs.

Thank you.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Oleg,

this sounds too complicated to me. I would have to install too many programs on my Windows 8 notebook, that I don't really want to.

I do already have a WinPE media disk, that was kindly provided by Acronis in December 2012. However, this disk will only boot with Secure Boot disabled and Legacy enabled.

Perhaps it would be easier for Acronis to create such a disk for me.

Thanks

Forum Star
Messaggi: 17
Commenti: 2991

 Hello Erich,

Thank you for your response.

Could you please make sure that the BIOS version is up-to-date? If not, please update the BIOS aтв see if the issue remains.

If the issue still persists, please browse Acronis  Boot media for the file \efi\boot\bootx64.efi, copy the file to your desktop and send it to me via PMs.

Thank you. 

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Oleg,

reading your last post, requesting the file \efi\boot\bootx64.efi, I realised that I may have been doing something wrong. Have been creating the Boot disk from my Windows 7 PC, as I uninstalled Acronis from the notebook. Have been doing the backups using the WinPE disk.

I could see no sense in having Acronis installed, when the restore wouldn't work as expected

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Oleg,

just realised that my edit of the last post has not taken.

I did install Acronis on my notebook now and created the Boot Disk. Trying to boot with the disk was, as previous, unsuccessful. Pressing F2, to tell the system to boot from DVD resulted in the blank screen. Booting with the DVD in the slot resulted with the system to boot to Windows after a short delay.

There is no such file, or directory \efi\boot\bootx64.efi on the DVD. In fact both, the W7 and W8 Boot Disks appear to be identical

Beginner
Messaggi: 2
Commenti: 12

I have a Win7, 64 Asus A55V notebook and the DVD with Acronis 2013/PlusPack build update will show only the USB backup drive and not the internal Hard drive when I select Backup disks option but if I chose backup files option it will show partitions on internal drive. I used backup DVD created from original 2013/PlusPack build and it backed up normally so if this is the same problem as with WIN8 machines I would like to get info too. Thank You.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 46
Commenti: 2759

Joseph,

The problem with build 6514 of True Image (bootable media) with GPT disks in disk mode is well known, and should be addressed by Acronis either with a Hotfix or in the next release.

You can use the 2013 build 5551 Rescue Media to perform restores/recoveries while waiting for this issue to be corrected.

It does not matter what version of Windows is installed. The problem relates to GPT style disks (MBR disks are not affected).

64 bit Operating Systems can use GPT partitioning on their boot drives.

It is just more common to see this configuration on Windows 8 systems, but many Windows 7 64 bit systems are also set up to use GPT partitioning (if the OS hard disk is greater than 2TB it must be GPT).

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi James,

does this mean that I can forget trying to build a WinPE based rescue disk?

Forum Star
Messaggi: 46
Commenti: 2759

The WinPE based (Plus Pack required) Rescue Disk (2013 build 6514) has the same problem with GPT disks.

I personally prefer the WinPE bootable Media that can be created using the 2013 Plus Pack and Windows ADK for Windows 8 (can be installed on Windows 7 also).

Beginner
Messaggi: 3
Commenti: 15

Hi Oleg, I am having the same problem here with Disk-Clone operation with Acronis True Image 2013 build 6514 over a Windows 8 GPT HD.

Please put me on the waiting list of repair / fix update or patch.

TIA

Marcos Nobre

Beginner
Messaggi: 0
Commenti: 2

Add me to the list of disappointed TI2013 users confronted with UEFI and Win8 GPT drives.

I recently bought 2 MSI GT70 laptops that I added Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD's too. Now before I blow away the OS (pre-installed on the original GPT HD) and reinstall the OS the way I'd like on the SSD first, I want to backup the default "factory" drive and store the image in case I needed to reload it for warranty purposes. A typically simple task to perform... but not anymore.

I didn't realize when I bought these Win8 laptops the fun and joys I would learn about UEFI. It took me a bit of trial and error before I discovered setting the laptop to legacy mode would even allow the TI2013 media to boot. Once I got TI2013 loaded, I was dumbfounded by the fact that the default HD (Drive 1) was not listed in the "Source" drive list. Similarly to Mustang's post, I could enter "file mode" and see both drives, but wanting to create an image in disk mode was nothing short of disappointing.

How long is it going to take Acronis to deliver the truly Win8 compatible piece of software that's been touted for months? If I can't use the product as advertised, it doesn't make me feel good about my Acronis purchase. And since I am past my 30 day purchase window, it looks like I can't call in for support without PPI... sorry, I'm feeling inclined to keep my money... Once bitten, twice shy.

Forum Star
Messaggi: 46
Commenti: 2759

You can contact Acronis support with the pretense that this is a recovery issue (It in fact IS), and there is no charge for restore/recovery support.

You can then request a link to the 2013 build 5551 Rescue Media ISO and burn it to a CD/DVD and back up (image) your Windows 8 system with it.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

the 2013 build 5551 Rescue Media ISO doesn't work with UEFI enabled. At least not on my Sony Vaio SVS1512Z9EB. The Acronis WinPE based rescue disk also doesn't work. Have now spent considerable time and effort to create a boot disk, without any results.

I think the main problem is that the Acronis Rescue Disk builder doesn't accept the amd64 part of the development tool. Without that a GPT based system will not start

Forum Hero
Messaggi: 613
Commenti: 8747

Erich,

With the 5551 build the W8 patch needs to be applied. However, I think there might still be a problem that is unique to some Sony and Samsung notebooks as far as booting from an external Windows or Linux based media is concerned.

Forum Member
Messaggi: 7
Commenti: 28

Hi Colin,

the patch was applied to the Win7 install - before creating rescue disks. However, on the Win 8 notebook, the patch was rejected. I had installed build 6514